We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“one of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tetsuya's

Tetsuya's
Reserve with
Tetsuya's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 5,776 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 169 - US$ 169
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Tetsuya's serves a ten course degustation menu. The degustation is unique, based on the Japanese philosophy of using natural seasonal flavours, enhanced by classic French technique and utilising the freshest possible ingredients. Tetsuya designed his own on-site "test kitchen" within the restaurant to enable him to create the constantly evolving and inspiring dishes on which he has built his esteemed international reputation. Tetsuya's offers one of Sydney's most comprehensive wine lists and our sommeliers will, upon request, match the dishes with wine available by the glass.
sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

still one of the best dining experiences in Australia. and the world.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank SydneyRossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    205
    94
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A complete experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Booked for a big birthday! A really original dining experience with first class service. I cannot recommend highly enough.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ramnastacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

World renowned uber chef Tetsuya Wakuda, is arguably Australia’s most famous chef. This is not an experience for the faint hearted. Don’t get me wrong, the food is exquisite, but, it is rich, and be warned the 10 course degustation menu is a lot of food, and if you take the matching wines – expect to be rolling out of there! (I’m not saying that’s a bad thing). Dining here is a once in a lifetime experience. This is refined elegance at it’s best.

Shannon
www.urbanchicguides.com

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Special birthday dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Food was fantastic, clean crisp taste, service was of the highest level, one downfall is the delay in trying to get a reservation

Helpful?
Thank We2Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“lovely anniversary dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

for our anniversary we booked a table and were very lucky to get in! enjoyed every moment of the evening! the signature dish of smoked ocean trout is unforgettably beautiful, as were the other dishes. the serves a generous and they served good matching wines, mostly from Victoria (but this was just a coincidence) Halfway the wine made me really drunk, but at the time we finished our second dessert I felt more than ok! At the end they hand over the menu to take home, and it mentioned our anniverary, which was lovely!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tetsuya's also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Tetsuya's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing