We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious mussamun”

Thai Foon Harbourside
Ranked #3,285 of 5,997 Restaurants in Sydney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed 20 July 2017

The food was good but we ordered several dishes to share and they didn't all come out at once and they forgot the roti bread which they brought out after we had finished. Reasonably priced and reasonable service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mcstread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Thai Foon Harbourside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Had dinner on our first night in Sydney and, after a big day of walking the tourist traps with the kids, wanted something close to our apartment. Expectations were low and we were pleasantly surprised that a restaurant in this location could deliver such tasty food. My fussy daughter absolutely adored the pineapple rice dish. If you're looking for a good Thai meal in the Darling Harbour area, look no further. Just ditch the gimmicky water glasses as they were a bit of a put off.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AdeleM69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

We visited during the Vivid Festival for dinner overlooking the Darling Harbour fireworks and water display....so as you can imagine veeeery busy. Despite such a huge pressure on the kitchen the food was amazingly good. Well done.
We had a selection of their handmade entrees, prawn cakes, crab rolls and duck spring rolls all very enticing and their dipping sauce was a delight. Mains we had Pad Seuw with chicken, and yellow curry soft shell crab which was so easy. I've had this dish in Thailand and I can't fault this version for spicy flavour, texture or size of the generous luscious crabs.
Great for groups as well.
I'd suggest if you do come in a group try on of the banquets as they are so versatile and everyone can share the fun and get eating quicker.

Thank marksmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time in submitting this awesome review! We are so happy to see that you enjoyed our great food and view of the Harbour. Crab cake, prawn cakes and crab spring rolls are a great choice for entrees. Pad Seuw with chick and yellow curry soft shell crab is also such a great choice for your mains! Overall we are so happy to see that you had such an amazing experience here with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

My husband and I went for dinner during Vivid, We ordered curry puffs and spring rolls thinking we would get the usual four on a plate. We received one very small curry puff for $4.00, then a tiny burnt spring roll for $4.00. Our mains arrived and looked more like entrees. Both our curries would be lucky to fill a coffee cup each. I had five small pieces of chicken in mine, gobsmacking.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank _rodandren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time in submitting a review. This feedback will definitely be taken into consideration and used constructively. We sincerely apologise for your horrible experience and we do hope that you choose to come back and give us another go where we will try our best to give you the best customer experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Visited for our date night on a Thursday evening. Live in the Inner West so Darling Harbour is easy to get too and there are done decent food places. Not overly busy on this night but it took 15 minutes for the waitress to take our order. I ordered a gin martini which they got wrong, and spilt down me. Spent another 10 minutes waiting for the right drink to come.

Ordered dumplings and they are probably the worst things I have ever eaten. Tough. Plastic. Microwaved. Gooey. Horrid.

Our mains were no better. Ordered the soft shell crab curry and it was so oily that the shell was soggy and it was too greasy to finish.

No one asked us how our meal was.

When we asked for the bill, the total due was extortionate for the quality of food.

If you're looking for a decent Thai place, go to Chat Thai in Haymarket. It's miles ahead.

Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2017

Thank you so much for submitting this constructive review. We sincerely apologise for your terrible experience here at Thai Foon. Although, we do hope that you choose to come back and dine with us, that way we are able to try our best to make it up to you with awesome customer service and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Foon Harbourside also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Thai Foon Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing