We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short notice ”

Prime Steak Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 6,916 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 90
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Sydney and Australia's Best Steak Fine Dining Restaurant offering a first-class dining experience. Prime is the world’s most innovative grill room and steakhouse. This steak restaurant is known for serving the best steaks in Sydney CBD. Prime Steak Restaurant has pioneered many changes for the steak restaurants industry since opening in 1999. • Prime Restaurant - The first steak restaurant in Sydney to introduce dry-aged beef to its menu in 1999 • Prime Restaurant - The first steak restaurant in Sydney to offer wagyu in 2002 • Prime Restaurant - The first steakhouse to only offer the “centre” and most consistent part of our selected premium cuts in 2004 • Prime Restaurant - The first steak restaurant to expand its menu and offer over 18 different steak options in 2006 • Prime Restaurant - The first steakhouse restaurant to offer “Graded” grass-fed steaks in 2009 • Prime Restaurant - The first steakhouse to introduce a premium Meat degustation in 2016
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Great place for spontaneous business dinner mid week. Great quality food, amazing wine list, lovely ambiance.

The service on the beverage side was quite slow at times. When we had finished a bottle of wine there was no suggestion of another so we didn’t.

I would definitely return.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank kellydoohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2018

Small group of co workers from WA following a long flight. Comfortable surroundings and attentive service made us feel welcome. Extensive wine list and menu required careful study as we enjoyed our bread & olives to start. Entrees were scallops with Vietnamese verges and a broth and salmon tartare, both of which were delicious and enjoyable. My companions chose trademark steaks for mains which were well received but the wild boar canneloni caught my eye, apparently to the delight of the kitchen! The canneloni was very good and cooked in true Tuscan style. The steaks were cooked to perfection and accompanied by small servings of sauce. Prices are high and this is a high end restaurant but service didn't quite match the prices. The wine selection is vast but also expensive. All in all a very enjoyable evening meal.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank stephendV1832WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Great ambience, very nice service but a little slow in the beginning. The food was very good as well as the wine selection. Would definitely return.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank renatomG9904SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

This is a high end steak restaurant and the prices are high - we thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service was exceptional.

We were given a short tutorial on Black Angus versus Waygu - They patiently answered all of our questions on the different cuts of meat. we ordered 2 Black Angus and on Waygu - I preferred the Black Angus - my daughter and wife thought the Waygu was better - there is a big price difference so it was good to know before ordering what to expect.
One of my daughters is pescatarian and she lived the risotto - the bread was very good the appetizers were a bit unusual and didn't capture our interest
The complimentary gazpacho was excellent the sorbet sampler and chocolate dessert were excellent. The wine that was suggested was a bit ordinary for the price.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Lovely evening, impeccable service, staff went above & beyond, beautiful setting. Starters of bread, olives & oysters were amazing. My main of angus fillet was a bit red in centre (I ordered medium). My partners ordered same, but, rare was perfect, brown pepper sauce was a bit thin but, nice. Accompaniments were hand cut chunky chips that were lovely, but you only got 6-8, which I was slightly disappointed by. The sommelier helped us the choose wines & we were delighted w help & choices!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank janellh328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prime Steak Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Prime Steak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing