We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go back .”

Flying Fish Restaurant & Bar
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 01/03
20:00
Ranked #125 of 6,339 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City West
Description: Introducing a fresh approach to Sydney’s finest seafood. At Flying Fish at The Star, you’ll discover the very best from Australian and New Zealand waters, served with sublime simplicity. Delicately prepared with a tempered hand, each dish puts taste ahead of technique with an emphasis on minimal waste and maximum flavour. Take your seat, admire the view and soak up the welcoming ambience that invites you to sit, relax and savour.
Reviewed 23 January 2021

We had dinner last night , seafood platter $220
Scallops and bay bug we chewy , fish and prawns had some strange smell , chips were reheated ,would not recommend this restaurant .

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Food
Thank 876jannag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying Fish, Other at Flying Fish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi jannag,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry your experience at Flying Fish did not match your expectations. The service you experienced is an uncommon instance and we'll ensure we do better in the future.

Please feel free to reach out to flyingfish@star.com.au as we would like to know more about your experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2021

Merwyn was very helpful, recommended the seafood platter for two.... amazing! ... and recommended cocktails! Best dining experience.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank janelleo848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying Fish, General Manager at Flying Fish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2021

Hi There ,

Thank you for taking some time and reviewing us . We are glad you enjoyed everything with us. Meryn is indeed an asset to our team . We hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

Best seafood platter I’ve had in Australia!
Also wait staff was incredibly thoughtful, Anna in particular even remembered it was our anniversary

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank awow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying Fish, General Manager at Flying Fish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2021

Hi Aaron ,

Thank you for taking some time and reviewing us . We are glad you enjoyed everything with us. Anna is indeed an asset to our team . We hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

By far the best seafood platter we’ve had in Australia and our waitress Ana was absolutely amazing! This was the best way to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Adventurer776502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying Fish, General Manager at Flying Fish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2021

Hi There ,

Thank you for taking some time and reviewing us on . We are glad you enjoyed everything with us. Anna is indeed an asset to our team . We hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021

Celebrated another anniversary at this restaurant and the service was agai excellent.Tried the fixed menu which was very filling.Stayed at the Star, saw the show Pippin and ate at Flying Fish,all during Covid restrictions.Had great time and will be back again next year.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank georgm741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying Fish, General Manager at Flying Fish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2021

Hi Georgm ,

Thank you for taking some time and reviewing us on . We are glad you enjoyed everything with us . We hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Fish Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Flying Fish Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.