We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and top service ”
Review of Billy Kwong

Billy Kwong
Ranked #142 of 6,916 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Visited with friends. Food and service was great. The crispy duck was really tasty.

Ambiance was ideal and nice able to hear one another.

My criticisms would be that it was very hard to read the specials menus. Fancy hand written text. Also we shared dishes and it would be much more helpful if the serving cutlery was much bigger. Was very messy otherwise. Bigger plates would be helpful too, instead of small side plates.

Must visit of you like more modern Chinese food.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Cahill45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Apparently a star amongst restaurants in Potts Point, I found it quite difficult to rate.

We only wanted a light dinner, so all we wanted was a couple of dishes. What we had was excellent, but what was an issue for us was that the limited range of dishes on offer made it difficult to create a meal.

The specific problem was that there were few protein dishes on offer, and most of them were deep fried chicken. These were not only unappealing to us at the time but were very expensive ($52), and the only chicken dishes I have ever seen that cost more than a duck dish on offer (on the specials menu).

The majority of the mains were vegetables, and while we have nothing against vegetarian dishes, trying to work our way through (for example) a large dish of roasted eggplant on its own, just did not appeal.

So, we dithered for a while trying to construct dinner, and eventually came up with crispy prawn wantons (an entrée) and a cuttlefish and pork belly main, with some rice.

The dishes themselves were excellent, and I have no doubt that the deep fried chicken, however pricy it might be, would also be excellent, so next time I will ensure that I take a healthy appetite with me, and try one of them.

Apart from the very expensive chicken dishes, prices were actually quite reasonable. The dining area is quite packed and therefore very noisy. Staff were helpful, but were generally rushed off their feet, and it was hard to get their attention.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Went to the restaurant as part of business trip in Sydney. It came highly recommended.
Food was delicious. The servings are big enough for 3 to share. We ordered 3 different main course and all had plenty to eat/share.
They serve wine and has a pretty good list
For those looking to taste kangaroo, the serve a Wallaby dish (smaller Kangaroo size).
It is not too loud inside so good for conversation.
You can definitely try it

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 807reinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Had an early dinner before a show which was just as well as it was the only booking available. The place was packed when we left. Good professional service but not a lot of warmth from the staff who are flat out busy. There are a lot of dried or semi-dried bunches of gum leaves and other native plants near the ceiling and in the rest rooms. This gave the whole place a musty smell that I found less than pleasant and set off my hay fever.
The food was very tasty and used interesting combinations of Australian ‘bush tucker’ (traditional Indigenous foods such as native plums and rosella fruit) in Asian foods (with duck for example). The flavours were truly Asian but with a twist. Was the food stellar? No, but it was very good and we enjoyed the experience.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank DRLD1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Bizzare, bizzare had waiter breathing directly in my mouth where I casually sat at there bar... Then the duck came out cold Look liked a masterpiece had to return it!! Which had to go through the waiter chef & other concerned people..... Billy kwong just walks around .... All on all wasnt worth it.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank HOWwilliknow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy Kwong also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Billy Kwong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing