We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovley people, delicious food, great value”
Review of Ahgora

Ahgora
Ranked #207 of 6,896 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Glebe
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Went with a group of 9 friends on a rainy Saturday night. The food was delicious, we had the $65 banquet and there was far more than we could eat - and it was all really good. Would go back for sure. Nice, affordable quality wine list

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suezzerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Small restaurant with a modern take on Greek food. They encourage shares food. Reasonably priced wine list. Food fresh and ready. Service very good. Enjoyed the grilled octopus with lentils.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank manunited45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I was looking forward to really tasty Greek flavours.
We arrived for Tuesday dinner with no booking, though we were not greeted for nearly 10 minutes! We decided to chose our own seats and waited until offered water or menus.
The decor was modern, soft evening lighting and stylish, though hard surfaces made noise reverberate, thankfully music is soft.
Our hostess suggested we had share dishes and graze - yet dishes were presented slowly, one at a time, depite the restaurant being almost 1/2 empty.
To be fair, a single large group of almost 20, (seemed to pre-occupy staff), and only 4 other tables of couples or 4 people max, (one a birthday party).

I have loved Greece and travelled there many times and spied this lovely looking restaurant, so was keen to try their take on Greek food.

I ordered the house Moussaka, (only to be told they had run out), and so elected the Mezze plate, recalling wonderful arrays of delights from travels past- their house taramasalata was great- no complaints , but the tzatziki was thin and apart from a few olives that was it!

Following the direction of our server we tried Haloumi ravioli, spanakopita and I was interested to try their home cooked slow roasted lamb with eggplant puree, chick pea crumb.

This house- made Haloumi ravioli was truly a sensation....loved it every bite. There was a butter and citrus reduction that lifted this dish to memorable. I was delighted something was going right.
We drank a glass of "Hapuku" Savignon Blanc from Marlborough and I was almost taken back to Greece.
Sadly the Spanakopita had no home twist nor excitement which the Ravioli had promised.
Our slow cooked Lamb arrived, beautifully tender, falling apart but sadly was so salty we both left 90% on the plate - which was completely un -noticed by the staff.?!?!?!?

The staff told me their restaurant has been running for 8 years, the owners are not greek. Staff seemed unaware why I'd be asking about what dishes were home cooked/ specialities; home delivery options, guest/ disabled access and options for functions even while I was writing down the answers?!
The restaurant has great level access,(suitable for disabled diners), toilet facilities are very clean and the kitchen is spotless.
Overall, it's a pity this pleasant eatery didn't have someone guiding the team up to the level they belong.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This is a great place to indulge in modern Greek food. Everything was fresh and full of flavour. It's the perfect place to go and share plates so you get to experience a bit of everything. The staff also get it right with service and bring the dishes one at a time so you can enjoy each dish without feeling rushed. The fit out of the restaurant is beautiful, the only downfall was, we were the only ones in there for lunch and it lacked in atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AliciaIson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We went on a Friday night and a big group was there but the waitress made sure to sit us on the other end of the group so we don't have to shout at each other. The atmosphere was nice and it feels very intimate.
We had the MEZZE PLATE with a great tzatziki, it tasted so fresh if that makes sense :)
as mains we chose the HOME MADE RICOTTA GNOCCHI & SLOW ROASTED LAMB.
the food was just incredible!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Franzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ahgora also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Leichhardt, Sydney
 
Enmore, Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Ahgora? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing