We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valentine On George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valentine On George
Ranked #113 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Central location (quick walk from Central station). Don't be put off by the need to ring a bell to get the door opened! The room was big and long and felt a bit like being in a New York apartment (in a good way!). It felt a bit like an IKEA showroom in parts and some of the veneers were coming off, but generally a good hotel (especially if you're not interested in a fancy TV or a fridge that really works). The restaurant downstairs sells great Asian food (Thai from memory) and is really cheap with friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerKRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    61
    34
    9
    18
See reviews for
11
70
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

The Valentine looks like a great hotel online but is not what it is made out to be!
To park your car ($20 per night) you have to drive down a road and park in a dodgy car park and carry your bags back to the hotel.
The service was very poor we had rude and unhelpful desk staff for the majority of our stay (the same person) when we asked if we could have some extra soap he was on his mobile phone and said that he would bring it up later which never happened. Also asking for a slightly longer checkout was denied as he said it was being used straight after us which seemed unlikely seeing as we were one of two in the whole hotel for three days.
Pillows and bathroom were great, bed was two singles pushed together which made it uncomfortable when sleeping in the middle also not adequate sleeping covers on bed.

Room Tip: I would stay somewhere else! We would never go back, you would get better service at a backpacker ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed at Valentine for my partner's birthday. Despite leaving instructions and calling through, there was no parking space guarenteed for our stay. After 15 minutes of fobbing around, I was finally provided with a parking token.
Although our room was not ready as yet, staff were happy to hold our bags while I waiting for my partner to come from Canberra (I'd previously come up a few days prior).
When we did go to check in however, nobody was at the service desk and we had to walk back into the City (which after a long day's drive was not overly ideal).
Room was okay however when on the Wotif website, Standard King, did not equate to Standard room thus a little bit of disapointment on my part.
Room was somewhat clean. Found someone else's lipgloss and random hair everywhere - a little weird. TV also kept malfunctioning and floors are very slippery when you get out of the shower. Also, King sized bed equates to 2 x King Single Beds pushed together which was a little strange for me. Unfortunate there was no choice of daily paper liken to other hotels.
Other than that, room was sensible for the price and the other half seemed pleased with everything. Staff were polite and room cleaned daily.
Would recommend this hotel to quick travellers who did not require a lot of "creature comforts"

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Moose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

I did manage to get a quiet room (my usual request) and the space was good, but it was a bit shabby, needed a bit of a pick-me-up. I arrived early from the airport... easy access from Central train station, just a very short walk. They were able to store my luggage until checkin time, and provide me with a room that was quiet. The TV is small and kept disconnecting from the wall, and a few of the gadgetty things are a bit tired about the place, definitely needs a spruce up, but the bed was good and although it was facing George St, I had no problem at all with noise!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Location was good, near shops and restaurants and China town, just opposite Korean buffet restaurant. I was hesitant to book this hotel because it had some bad reviews, but we went for it and enjoyed it. The room was very nice, although bathroom set up is funny and it does get wet, it's a hotel so we didn't mind that much, it was clean and very nice, the same with the bed and the room itself. Close to everything, a bit of a walk to Sydney Opera house and Circular Quay, but we don't mind that and there are free buses in Sydney. A bit expensive considering it doesn't offer breakfast but it's Sydney and all hotels are expensive there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#88 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#95 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#66 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentine On George? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentine On George

Property: Valentine On George
Address: 21 Valentine Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,215 - ₹ 15,711
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentine On George 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Valentine On George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentine On George Sydney
Valentine On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing