We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Oaks Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #112 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed for 4 nights recently and it was the worst oaks I have ever stayed in.

The staff on reception we rude and spent all their time looking down on their mobile phones on Facebook chatting.

The studio room I was given had a bed that was just a frame with no padding.

One of the numbers on the room door had fallen off.

The swip key never worked in the lifts. I had to have it replaced 4 times.

They moved me to another room, out of the veranda there was window framing on the ground that you had to step over to go outside.

They took 8 days to then return my $150 security deposit after I left.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank MAP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We apologise for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we would like the opportunity to discuss them with you further. You can contact our Customer Feedback Department on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au. In regards to the security bond , the bank places a hold on your funds and depending on the card issuer, can take up to 10 working days to be released. Every attempt is made to ensure this information is explained by our reservations team and we apologise this was not communicated with you correctly. We do hope to welcome you back again soon so you can experience the best Oaks Hotels and Resorts has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,055 - 2,059 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a studio apartment which was very well fitted out. The main room was quite spacious with a kitchen area at one end including a large fridge freezer, microwave and dishwasher. A small balcony looked onto an open-air courtyard which was quite noisy from nearby traffic. There is a laundry area in the bathroom which was useful. Clean teatowels and dishcloths as well as washing up liquid, washing powder, diswasher powder supplied.

Had a problem trying to understand the television controls, but a member of staff came to our aid very promptly (even though I never quite got the hang of it, and behind the tv unit was a huge tangle of wires which looked a bit scary).

The building is a converted wool warehouse and has been sympathetically designed, although the ulitarian style public areas on the floors reminded me of the layout of a prison with its metal railings and visibility up and down to other floors. I was quite impressed with the swimming pool and its surroundings, the pool is long and thin so good for doing lengths. There is a gym which looks onto the pool which I didn't use, but looked okay.

The hotel is a short walk from Darling Harbour which can be reached by a walkway. There is a Coles supermarket in the Harbour so easy to buy provisions. We found it particularly useful having an apartment rather than hotel room since Sydney is now very expensive for UK visitors and we could organise our own breakfasts/snacks without hammering the spending money too badly.

Staff were helpful and pleasant. All in all a very good place to stay for a city visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porcupineWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

We appreciate your review. It is wonderful to read that we were able to play a part in making your holiday to Australia a memorable and enjoyable one. It is pleasing to hear that you were happy with your Studio and found the facilities of the hotel enjoyable. Please do stay again next time you are in the area – we look forward to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment.Two levels,lower level is 2 bedrooms -2 bathrooms.Well equiped kitchen,though with Darling Harbour so close, we did not use the kitchen.
Easy walk to Darling Harbour and a monorail and tram stop are at the door.The closest ferry stop is Pyrmont behind the Maritime Museum.
Apartment was serviced each day ,front desk staff were friendly and helpful.
Wireless internet is available at an extra charge,we have a pre paid dongle so did not use it.
Parking is in nearby Harbourside parking station and the best level to park is 4 as it joins a walkway to the hotel.Parking is an extra charge and the cost for our 3 days was discounted by the hotel to $59.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor,the better the view,we were floor 11,facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandHBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hotel to be convenient and close to everything you needed.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I'm a bit disappointed by this hotel. I think it's days are gone. Here is my summary:
- The price is competitive due to the age and management of the hotel unfortunately.
- The location is great.
- the apartments could be great, but could do with an overhaul.
- the cleaning is average at best.
- the pool and spa were once lovely but I suppose it doesn't help that the gym is shut, it gives the place a general feel of being under construction.
- the Internet connection is a joke, it costs a fortune for something that should be free (hey if McDonalds can provide free Internet I'm sure Oaks can).
- the staff try their best apart from the snooty blond girl at reception, who is quite frankly lacking in any customer service.
- the appliances it he apartments need an overhaul. Our dishwasher would go on all day if I didn't switch it off.

I have left my review as a 3/5 in the hope that someone will sort it out as it has great potential, but please please train your staff, give free Internet and sort out your cleaners and upgrade the appliances. This place has potential to be lovely, it's very sad at the moment.

Room Tip: High room for the view I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flossup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit B, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Check in on 6th April for 3 nights stay in a 1 room apartment. Room is clean and spacious with full kitchen facilities. Grocery shop is 200 meters and we save a lot cooking our own meals. Sydney wildlife and aquarium and other tourist attraction is within walking distance and very convenience. The monorail and LRT station is just across the road . The only negative on this premise is that our room is facing the main road and very noisy but you get some cheap thrill watching and listening to the siren of traffic police catching speeding vehicles all day. No house keeping service for our entire stay as it was during the easter holidays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the mainroad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles82001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Many thanks for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough over the Easter Long Weekend.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be in a good location. It is great to hear that you found your apartment to be clean and spacious and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Oaks on Castlereagh
#69 of 179 in Sydney
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 9,626 - ₹ 26,407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing