We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Medusa
Ranked #81 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is an outstanding hotel. This review is a little late. I stayed in July 2010.

Take notice, if you are looking for a standard hotel experience, this is not it. The Medusa has character and plenty of it. If you have strong views on the LBGT lifestyle, this is not for you.

First, the property itself. The Medusa is bright pink building located in Darlinghurst. I loved the location. It was in a little semi-residential area just outside downtown Sydney. It was within walking distance from King's Cross but far away enough to avoid the noise of the area. There were loads and loads of good restaurants around the area to explore.

Next, the rooms. The room I stayed in was a little small. But it made up for the size with good design. The cupboards and room in general were well thought out. The room was clean and well maintained.

Finally, the staff. Excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave my wife and I loads of helpful information about where to go, what to see and which restaurants to try. The were the real reason why this place stands out.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RissieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWillox, Public Relations Manager at Medusa, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Rissie D,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, it makes us so proud of our team to read of your experience at the Medusa! We hope you can come back and stay with us again soon - there are even more great restaurants and bars in the area to try now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    49
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
76
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

An amazing hotel. Hotel staff were really helpful and pleasant. Rooms were clean.
Thanks to Luke for taking our Huge bags upto the room!!
Would definately recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beardo2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This place is great - the rooms are modern and clean, the staff are friendly and the location is one of the best in Sydney.

My gripe is that, at least in the rooms I have had, there is no place for storing clothes (if you're there for more than 2 days) and no power points. I was there for business and needed somewhere to plug in my lap top and phone but there wasn't anywhere to do so. Not a singe spare power point.

That aside though, this is a great and funky hotel and I'd return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickSydney95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Fantastic location. Near a wonderful restaurant area. Also close to Oxford Street and the happenings there. A longer walk to CBD, Opera House, etc. but we did it several times. Staff is very accommodating and knowledgeable of the city and sites, restaurants and venues. Hotel is very clean, very quiet, nicely appointed. We had a room on the second floor in the back. Super quiet and private, though small. But we chose not to spring for a grander room. No complaints other than there is very little closet space and no drawers for clothing or anything. On the plus side there is an economical kitchenette with mini fridge, sink, microwave and bowls, plates, cutlery etc. For a longer stay it's nice to have some foods in the room so you're not only dependent on eating out... even for snacks. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sea98102traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed here during New Years which is always a very busy period in Sydney. Very warm welcome from Luke and a very nice room. Perfect for a couple. All was very clean, nice bath room, Aveda products and perfect wifi in the room. No facilities at the hotel but you are in Darlinghurst so cafe, restaurants all within minutes walk serving all day breakfast. Location is great. Would definitely return. Staff are all very helpful and friendly. A must go when in Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#137 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
The Old Clare Hotel
#31 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#92 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#126 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa

Property: Medusa
Address: 267 Darlinghurst Road | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,124 - ₹ 14,266
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medusa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Medusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing