We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a city hostel.”
Review of Big Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Hostel
Ranked #10 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Loved my three night stay in this hostel! Im usually quite critical of hostels in big cities but I loved this one. The free breakfast is excellent, a good choice of cereals and toast. The kitchen is very well equipped and the common area is really well set out with a big TV. Its fantastic that wifi is free and the connection is pretty fast too. The beds in the dorms are very comfortable and the staff are super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Big Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 232 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

the best selling pt of this hostel is location. 5 minds away from the Central Station which is well connected to all types of transportation. next, it provides free wifi in common room. Staff is friendly n helpful. Room is small yet tidy n clean. the price is reasonable in Sydney. if you are on budget, it's a choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngrowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is my first holiday trip to Australia together with my cousin brothers and sisters. There were seven of us. As we know that we will be out all day, we just wanted a place that is cheap and convenient to sleep and take bath.

After reading on some of the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided on Big Hostel. We know that we cannot expect much from this place but surprisingly not all are bad.

We checked into two rooms with attached bathroom. One of the rooms comes with two double decker beds to accomodate four persons and the other room with a double bed and a foldable single bed to accomodate three persons.

Both the rooms are small and very basic with lockers as well. We are able to open and layout out all our luggage in the room that accomodate four persons but in the other room, it is impossible to do so unless we do it on the bed. As for the cleaniness of the room and bathroom, it is liveable.

We are happy that Big Hostel provide free breakfast consist of bread with butter and jam, milk and cereal. It really help us to save money and time to look for breakfast every morning. The kitchen and dining area is small and cramped.

We are also so glad that there is free WIFI on the ground floor dining and tv area as compare to the other two places that we stay in while in Australia. It really makes a different when all you want to do is to check your mail and sent out some urgent mail.

Big hostel is not near to any major attraction but within walking distant to Central Station. Everyday we out from morning until late evening. By taking a walk of less than 10 minutes to the Central Station, we are able to catch the public transport to anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Good hostel in a central location for a good price. Rooms were spacious, bathrooms were clean. Free breakfast had a good selection and the free Internet was a major plus. The kitchen was quite cramped and there was a shortage of cups and bowls. The hostel would benefit from more helpful staff, none of the staff seemed to have seen anything touristy in the city and were very poor with recommending anything to do but otherwise was a very good place to stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I was only there for 3 days, so I may not have run into the issues that long-term hostel residents could run into.

I has a ensuite double, it was room enough for a couple to stay in, although I wouldn't recommend staying in one if you're not really close to your travel companion. The room was not much larger than the beds. The windows were frosted and barred, don't know if the AC or heat worked, as I had no need for either.

The room was dingy, the television had fallen/been torn off the bracket by former resident, but I wasn't there to watch TV.The bed was alright, bedding and linens were clean, and the bathroom was actually quite clean. Not much in the way of storage, I ended up using the top bunk for by luggage and clothing.

Kitchen seemed nice, but didn't use it. Roof was nice for a smoke break, a bit messy and cluttered. Lift was in good shape, reliable. Common area was okay, unfortunately the only area where you could get internet at the time. Staff was friendly, seemed like they knew what they were doing. Nice and quiet floors, too.

All in all, it was a little more expensive than I would've liked for what it was, however it was about the best deal I could find for what I personally was looking for - a bed to crash in and a private shower.

The location is okay, not the nicest area and not particularly close to many of the sights you'll want to see, but convenient to public transport and right smack in between a pizza shop and convenience store on one side, and a Thai restaurant and bar/pokie/wagering den on the other, in case the weather takes a bad turn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drewcifer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 178 in Sydney
2,464 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 143 in Sydney
1,382 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 143 in Sydney
763 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#11 of 143 in Sydney
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Hostel

Address: 212 Elizabeth St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 1,754 - ₹ 10,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
boutique hostel in a great location.clean,budget and open age friendlywifi is only FREE in our communal areasplease remember we are a hostel and not a hotel- no turndown services or beds made daily sorry.happy to assist with job hunting, apartment hunting,tours and all information needed for exploring Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Big Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing