We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tour is excellent”
Review of Great Synagogue

Great Synagogue
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Was here as part of the Sydney Open Event. As a group we were seated for an abbreviated 20min tour of the Synagogue. Security was tight as that is the world we live in now!

Guides were passionate and knowledgable. All questions were well handled.

Very fancy and elaborate interior with lots of history and anecdotes attached. Ritual is a key part of being a practising Jew and their pride is evident.

I walked away feeling more informed however will be back again. I am intregued.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank The_4_Bears2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"jewish community"
in 4 reviews
"congregation"
in 3 reviews
"lecture"
in 2 reviews
"video"
in 4 reviews
"treasure"
in 2 reviews
"architecture"
in 4 reviews
"australia"
in 7 reviews
"history"
in 7 reviews
"tour"
in 11 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2016

Only viewed again from the outside and looked like a fabulous older building of Sydney. More time required in this great city to see everything1

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The Great Synagogue of Sydney, Australia is said by its website to be the most beautiful in Australia and one of the finest in the world. It is an Australian treasure, but also has a "vibrant congregation" with activities and services. "It welcomes all Jews," regardless of their various differences, and visitors are welcome for both tours and services.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank gabykouchacji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Built in 1878, the Great Synagogue is a beautiful edifice, still very actively used by the Sydney Jewish community, and representative of the evolution of Judaism through synagogue design. As explained by our tour leader, the bimah (pulpit) was originally located in the center of the large sanctuary, but was moved to the front to allow the large congregation to utilize the space more effectively. Men and women are still separated into floor and balcony seating. Tours are limited, so check their website to avoid disappointment. There is a nominal fee.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank GPBurdell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

I wanted to see this synagogue and waited most of my trip to go on the tour. I have been to many in many different countries and have always been allowed to photograph before ... It's kind of why I go! The tour was short and the video I could have seen online. The tour guide seemed disinterested. It's a beautiful building. I wish we could have seen more than the main sanctuary and 1 room museum:(

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank anchor70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Synagogue also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Great Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing