We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Baccomatto Osteria

Baccomatto Osteria
Ranked #33 of 7,083 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Surry Hills
Description: An Italian Osteria offering a selection of antipasto, spuntini and home made pasta. Weekly specials include - Monday's pasta e vino $20, Tuesday's braise e barbera $25, Wednesday's spit roast e sangiovese $25 and weekend lunch special of pasta e vino $20
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Obliging staff, pleasant environment and great food.
Just off Oxford Street in Surry Hills, parking is reasonable

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2018

We were staying in Surry Hills - this was an easy walk from our Little Albion Guest House hotel. Wanted a nice meal but it was Monday night and everything around was closed but somehow we found this place. Gnoochi was amazing - they have evening specials were are very well priced. I believe it was $20 per person for their three course (with one glass of wine) meal. They have lots of options. Decor a bit stark - they need some art on the walls, but food amazing and upscale, wait staff lovely and attentive, great date night and pretty bar.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Navigator760044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Baccomatto a modern Italian restaurant has the key ingredients of warm hospitality with delicious food. The service is so warm, accommodating and professional. You really felt you were being superbly looked after. The food is not fussy, but they know their food, and using quality fresh ingredients, they don’t go wrong. The antipasto & our salads were yum. All five meals in our group were very much enjoyed. My lamb dish was simple, flavoursone, and cooked perfectly. I recommend this restaurant wholeheartedly.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank aaw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Can only agree with other reviewers that few restaurants can match the food and friendly service that Baccomatto offers
Relaxed atmosphere that befits this hatted restaurant serving its take on modern Italian cuisine.
Shared several entrees before opting to share a snapper dish that was a special for the night, and the veal wrapped in proscuitto, served with asparagus.
Everything we ordered was simply sublime!
Tucked away in Riley St Surrey Hills, a few blocks from Oxford St this restaurant is a true gem and worth a visit.
Will definitely be back...

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Tucked away in the back of Surry Hills is the Baccomatto Osteria. A fair hike from Central but well worth the walk. Felt welcome the moment we walked in the door. Great decor. Loved the centre bar. The party of four had veal, duck, fish and lamb dish for mains. Everyone was delighted with their meal. The service was very attentive and helpful. Wine selection was a bit of problem but readily solved with the waiter's help. Would recommend the Baccomotto Osteria for anyone wanting more than an average dining experience.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2ofusluvatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baccomatto Osteria also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Baccomatto Osteria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing