We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vulcan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vulcan Hotel
Ranked #75 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband & I stayed 1 night (Scoopon voucher Thursday 3rd Nov) When I booked I asked a young man if there was a balcony room & was told there was only 1 balcony room & he would write a request on my booking for this room. I phoned a couple of weeks later to check if my booking was marked for the balcony room & was told it wasn't but she (Christine) would mark my booking for the balcony room. I phoned the night before to check again & was told by another lady that the owners were occupying the balcony room as they were doing renovations?? She then put me through to Christine who confirmed I was booked into the balcony room????? Total confusion! On arrival (early) I was greeted by Christine who was very pleasant & advised my room was ready, nice room 2 double/queen beds, good size room & ensuite, large screen TV & a balcony. Downside is the parking (a block away) but Christine suggested we leave our luggage in the foyer & then park the car which we did. Breakfast the next morning was very confusing, staff didn't advise if we helped ourselves to the buffet or to take a seat & they would give us a menu, so I had to ask if we ordered at the kitchen window or at the counter & was told I COULD give my order to the person behind counter.....OR WHAT?? We both ordered bacon & eggs, over easy & they came out sunny side up VERY runny we had to send them back. All in all I would not stay here again I am glad I didn't pay full freight. It wasn't horrible as the room was nice & comfortable but in need of a dusting on TV remote, side tables etc. Christine was the only saving grace. Great German Restaurant & Beer Cafe just around the corner in Broadway (turn right off Wattle)

Room Tip: Our balcony room was at the back of hotel, so no traffic noise, room 314.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    165
    49
    26
    21
See reviews for
39
112
44
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

I can honestly sum up this hotel in one word - disappointing!!

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElleSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

This boutique hotel is a great find, close to central station. Also has a nice cafe which can cater for gluten free. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. Good value for Sydney. Only minor point is that rooms are not that big.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gin_boon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I booked this hotel on a special deal. I wasn't expecting too much but the 'original facade' of this boutique hotel was hiding a modern, clean and quite upmarket secret. Renovations are still happening but not at times that would impact on your stay. The hotel is in an older area of Sydney but is close to Sydney Uni, CBD, RPA Hospital, restaurants and public transport. If you are looking for panoramic views, this is not the hotel to chose but it certainly ticks all the other boxes for a great stay. Staff are lovely and a modern cafe is next to reception. Parking is also available a short walking distance away. I would highly recommend the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enneiviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

this is a lovley little hotel, with great breakfast options, very central to the City and a few mins from Darling Harbour, lovely helpful staff and plesant rooms. Nicley decorated, showers need an upgrade and the parking is a bit of a walk but in generla great find!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from Wattle street - quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cartay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#72 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#49 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#88 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vulcan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcan Hotel

Property: Vulcan Hotel
Address: 500 Wattle St | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,729 - ₹ 16,210
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vulcan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is a stylishly renovated heritage listed hotel; the ultimate city retreat. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney features 46 well appointed ensuite rooms that cater for travellers who not only appreciate its quality accommodation but also its personal service and charm. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is centrally located a few minutes walk away from the heart of Sydney's famous Darling Harbour and within short walking distance to Chinatown, Broadway, and the Universities. A quick walk to the monorail or train station and you are in the heart of Sydney City within 10 minutes. The property is also a completely non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vulcan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing