We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Parrots A Number 1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Ranked #7 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Really nice place and great location. I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it, except for two douchey Swiss room mates. The receptionists are friendly and the rates for 4 bed rooms are very reasonable. It is a short walk from the Blue Parrots to the Royal Botanical Garden and only a 1/2 mile from Central Station. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainAmazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 254 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

I seriously love this place....I've travelled many places and stayed in a lot of accommo but 'Blue Parrot Backpackers' is the best&most comfortable place for me ! the staffs are very friendly and kind....! If I visit Sydney again, I'll definitely stay here again :) lovely place!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimin.Ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I booked to stay for 1 week initially and ended up living there on and off for 8 months! What makes the Blue Parrot so special is the people and the atmosphere. It's a small, homely hostel with chilled, comfortable living spaces so you get to know people really quickly which is so important when you're travelling alone. The location is superb- there's a different awesome night out every day of the week in vibrant Kings Cross and the hostel managers make sure everyone feels welcome, gets involved and has a great time. It's not a totally crazy, party hostel so you can def get some sleep before early morning trips or work. It is a hostel though, so sure sometimes drunk people come in late or snore but if you're a single traveller arriving in Sydney you won't find a better place to get connected and get immersed in the Sydney lifestyle. Plus the internet is free which is a massive bonus. I loved it, had an amazing Aussie experience and would absolutely stay there again.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
Thank HMoorePortD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Like alot of people who've written a review I booked 2 weeks ended up stayin a whole month! Just a fantastic place to start and during your journeys in oz, great staff, great people, great location bars food supermarkets and the city in walking distance. Blue parrot is the home from home you dreamed of. YOUTH!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamyouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The Blue Parrot hostel is the best hostel that I have ever stayed in on my travels. After roaming around for nearly a year, arriving at the Blue Parrot was like coming home. The atmosphere is apparent on entering the building, the Blue Parrot family are there waiting with open arms (and a lovely cup of tea!)

As a single female traveler, the first night in a new place is always daunting, but I immediately felt so comfortable here.
There is everything you need.
- Hot power showers (they actually get the soap out of your hair - girls you all know how important that is!)
- A fully equipped kitchen. With hobs, grills and even 2 ovens! (By the end of my stay I was baking cakes and lots of us would cook shared dinners for each other)
- The nicest and cosiest living/common room I had ever come across in a hostel! There is cable TV, DVD's and even a Nintendo Wii!
- Dorms big enough to keep your stuff yet small enough to have a new group of friends within 10 minutes of arriving!

The security here is great and the location in Sydney is unbeatable, you can walk into the city in about 15 minutes and Bondi Beach is only 2 stops away!
There is always something going on and you WILL have a good night out with new friends, but the real joy of the Blue Parrot is that you will get a good nights sleep. Everyone goes out together around 11pm and if you're feeling tired or you have an early flight, you can settle down for a good night.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hostel to any of my friends. If you go to Sydney, you must stay at the BP!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkliedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#1 of 149 in Sydney
1,104 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 149 in Sydney
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 149 in Sydney
1,450 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 149 in Sydney
422 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#11 of 149 in Sydney
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Backpackers

Address: 87 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 1,787 - ₹ 4,786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Parrot Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Parrot Backpackers is located in the most cosmopolitan part of inner Sydney City (akin to Soho in London and East Village in NYC) and is only minutes walk from the heart of the city, offering vibrant nightlife, clubbing, trendy cafes, bars, restaurants and all the tourist attractions. A friendly hostel run by sisters Effie and Sasha, known for its social atmosphere and warm welcoming staff where you can easily meet other travellers, especially if you're travelling solo. Guests can relax in the large outdoor courtyard or the indoor lounge area, the perfect places to socialise. Blue Parrot is 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross train station. The City Centre, Royal Botanic Gardens, the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge are less than 20 minutes walk away. To make your travels easier reception can organise exciting day trips to the Blue Mountains, Surfing lessons, Skydiving, Whale watching, Wine tasting and more .... AGE RESTRICTION: Adults only 18-35 years old in dormitory rooms. ___________________________________________________________ PROPERTY FACILITIES: FREE Wi-Fi ! Available in all areas and is free of charge. Close to Train Station - Courtyard - BBQ - Tour desk - Luggage storage - Lounge/TV - DVD - In-house movies - Playstation - Wii - Photocopying/Scan - Computers - Kitchen - Laundry - Non-smoking rooms - Designated smoking area - Airport Shuttle bus (surcharge) Popular with solo travellers! Best price guaranteed! No booking fees! No deposit! Additional Information about Blue Parrot Backpackers Price Range: $39 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Bed) Number of rooms: 8 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Blue Parrot Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing