We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Variable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Village Surry Hills
Ranked #82 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Variable”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I've stayed here a few times - sometimes it's good, other times not so much.

Pro's - it's good value but, unlike the other cheaper hostels, not located in Kings Cross!
- easy walking distance to the Belvoir Theatre and a lot of good restaurants near by
- a very quiet location so you'll get a good night's sleep
Con's - not always as clean as it could be
- limited areas for socialising.
- the kitchen and dining area is sort-of outside under verandahs. Nice in summer, but not
terribly inviting in winter.

There are 2 supermarkets within about 10 minutes' walk, and it's less than 10 minutes' walk to either Central Station or Redfern. Buses along Cleveland Street stop nearly at the door, or buses into the CBD leave on Elizabeth Street which is only a few minutes' walk.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    41
    38
    21
    21
See reviews for
10
32
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2012

i stayed for 3 weeks in a large group of students. of course money was an issue for us but this budget accommodation served us good! a budget accommodation at its best. facilities just fine, small kitchen & dining, overcrowded during dinner time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed in the 4 bed dorm in january 2012 for around a week and found this a decent little hostel. The room was clean, comfortable and had a fridge to keep out bits and pieces in as well as a sink with mirror, there was a rubbish TV which no one used and also the AC which I'm pretty sure didn't work. The fan did work but made an almighty racket, so we tended to keep the window open for fresh air.

The hostel is in an old house it seems and the kitchen isn't the biggest and can get crowded at peak times. However there is a park across the road for BBQ's on the public grills as well as a BBQ at the back of the hostel, however as its in a hostel and people are lazy & messy it was a bit greasy. Communal areas were all ok, the balcony out front was a nice spot but people were a bit loud on one of the nights we were trying to sleep. The covered seating area near the kitchen is ok but not the nicest place to chill out.

The bathrooms were all ok, sperate shower and toilets kept reasonably clean although obviusly later in the day it could get a bit grimy round the edges.

Staff were all friendly and knowlegable and very helpful. There was also a decent wifi package which is rare for australia, can't remember what it was now. I mentioned the location which was in a nice area of Surry hills, the park right on the doorstep and just a few minutes walk from central station. Theres a Coles supermarket about ten mins walk away and several restaurants, bottle shops and corner shops nearby.

Overall, Reccomended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itchii_feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I've been in the 12 bed dorm and I was very disappointed.
There is one shower, one toilet and one sink for 12 people! There's not space enough between the bed and there's only one small window.
The common area is very basic, just a few tables outdoor under a roof, the kitchen is small and really overcrowded, with just one (one!!) sink for all the guests, so every time you want to wash the dishes or just wash your hands you have to wait.
Around 10pm the turn off the lights in the eating area, they clean and close the kitchen, so the only place you can go is your bed!
Free internet is just for the first day then you have to pay a lot.
At least i can say that the staff is kind and helpful and the hostel is clean!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ote81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I took an extended stay at Alfred Park Accommodation in March, staying in one of their Single Ensuite Rooms. The accommodation is located about 10 minutes walk from Central Station, and is relatively close to cafes and restaurants in Surry Hills, or Broadway. The location is along a main road (though it's pretty quiet at night, and early in the morning).

The room itself was very spacious for a single bedroom, and clearly recently renovated and painted. The room came surprisingly well-equipped for rooms of that price range: plenty of hanging space for clothes, but pleasantly, also a desk, a fridge, and air conditioning. Top marks for these -- I was able to work comfortably from the desk for a few hours each day, which I was quite pleased with. A free day's worth of wireless internet access was also hugely appreciated. The bed was also very comfortable. Kitchen and related facilities are communal, and whilst I didn't use them, they seemed pretty good.

The bad: the ensuite bathroom, although clean, was rather small and poorly arranged. It also suffered from a lack of climate control in comparison with the rest of the room, so it was bitterly cold during a storm, and unusually hot on an unusually hot day. The shower head is an annoying water-saving model, and coupled with stiff taps, this made it very difficult to have a warm, comfortable shower.

My ensuite room was also at the top of two flights of stairs, so I wouldn't recommend it if you have difficulty carrying lots of luggage.

Now, given that all this costed me $72, the good far outweighed the bad, and I'd be more than happy to stay at Alfred Park Accommodation again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Newtown
Billabong Gardens
Billabong Gardens
#1 of 2 in Newtown
142 reviews
Surry Hills
Hyde Park Backpackers
Hyde Park Backpackers
#15 of 137 in Sydney
132 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 137 in Sydney
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jackaroo Hostel
#23 of 137 in Sydney
279 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 137 in Sydney
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Surry Hills? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Surry Hills

Property: The Village Surry Hills
Address: 207 Cleveland St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2016, Australia (Formerly Alfred Park Accommodation)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,555 - ₹ 6,478
Hotel Class:2 star — The Village Surry Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Surry Hills is located smack-bang in vibrant Surry Hills. We're just a 5 minute walk to the city and Central Station, and a quick train or bus ride to the beach. Experience living like a local in a popular and trendy neighbourhood, while having Sydney's most iconic sights at your fingertips! Our quality accommodation is in a heritage building with modern renovations and a touch of industrial style. We've got a range of dorm and private rooms to suit every guest and budget, and a friendly vibe that will have you feeling right at home! Our modern and comfortable communal areas are the perfect place to meet fellow travelers. Cook up a storm with new friends in our communal kitchen and eat alfresco in our dining area. Sit in the courtyard and soak up the sunshine, or chill out and watch a movie in our comfy TV lounge while you plan your next adventure! We offer weekly hostel events including BBQ's, Movie Nights and more, as well as a free breakfast provided daily to start your day the right way. Our friendly staff will ensure that you enjoy your stay, and will happily their local knowledge and tips about the best places to see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Village Surry Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfred Park Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing