We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect way to spend a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wine Country Tours

Wine Country Tours
Ranked #3 of 89 Food & Drink in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your host is Richard Everett, the only Oenologist (or winemaker) conducting a small group or private wine tour of the Hunter Valley Wine Country. His guests get a unique behind the scenes insight into how the best wines of the Hunter Valley are made, with private guided tastings of the top wines at the best & most interesting of the 140+ wineries. Richard conducts the wine tastings, not the sales staff at the wineries, so you are spared the heavy sales pitch of their commercial wines & get to experience many wines not offered to the general public. Morning tea is at the famous Peppers Guesthouse & lunch is at the award winning Muse Cafe. Tours are available ex Sydney or from within the Hunter Valley.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect way to spend a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Going up to the Hunter Valley and touring with Richard was the absolute best way to spend a Sunday with friends. Right from when he picked us up, Richard was friendly and knowledgeable - learning about us, our likes and dislikes and our prior experience with wine. From that, it felt like he really tailored the experience to us, giving all the information we were interested in without ever feeling like it was an overload.

Being given a private tour around the wineries made it feel like we were VIPs - and that's before the tasting even got started! We were led into a private room and given a variety of top shelf wines to taste. Throughout the whole experience Richard gave us details for each wine, by the end making us all feel like experts (although I think I'd need to go a few more times for that!)

Richard obviously knows his stuff when it comes to wine, plus he's a fantastic guy to chat to... combine that with the amazing backdrop of the Hunter Valley and the beautiful wines we tasted - this is a tour not to be missed!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteveJWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, Owner at Wine Country Tours, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thanks Steve for your feedback. As regards you becoming a 'wine expert', remember that like most things in life, practice is the way to go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    26
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
“If you like wine, you'd prefer this - more than just a day out at Hunter Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

It's my second trip to the Hunter Valley. Last time I drove and stayed overnight, did a round of wine tasting at various cellar doors. This time my wife and I decided to get someone to get us there from Sydney so we can drink, relax and enjoy ourselves.

We found Wine Country Tours on the internet, dropped a couple of questions and was pleased that they are very professional in answering them, so we decided to book Richard for a private tour.

On top of what many others have praised on how Richard is very knowledgeable in wine (wine tasting, wine making etc), as a private investor I would like to thank Richard for sharing his insight into the wine business on a global prospective. We are from Asia and have travelled to France and Napa for similar wine trips, but none of those were able to get deep into this topic.

I would not hesitate to recommend Richard for both private and corporate visits to the Hunter Valley.

V Chan

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank VChanMKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, Owner at Wine Country Tours, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thanks Victor for your positive feedback. Glad that you & Deborah enjoyed the intimacy of a private tour with me, as well as the 'insider's' perspective of the business aspect to the wine trade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding wine experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I booked a trip with Richard for the Hunter Valley last september while we were visiting australia. We were at our honeymoon and this experience couldn't be better.
Richard is a nice guy with a great wine knowledge.
The morning coffe was spetacular. And later the wine tasting was our best ever lesson!
Nice talking, nice wines, nice lunch, great day! This is the description of our experience with wine country tours!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank riaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, Owner at Wine Country Tours, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thanks Ricardo, glad that my wine tour was a memorable part of your honeymoon in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“"Great host & personalised tour guide"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We wanted to do something different for our NZ relatives. Though we were frequent visitors to the Hunter ourselves we decided we would share the experience; though a little unsure as our visitors were well versed in wine and what to look for when tasting.

We made the assumption it would be the usual wine tasting of running us around to a number of vineyards tasting a few wines then hopping back into the van to do it all over again, with Richard driving us home and pouring us out at our home. But to our delight this was not the case.

We were off to an early start with Richard picking the four of us up at our door. We had an enjoyable journey up there with Richard highlighting points of interest along the way and he was well versed in current affairs not only in Australia but world-wide as well as an in-depth discussion on the NZ wine industry. The morning tea and lunch were superb and of course Richard’s suggestion for the choice of wine to compliment the food was exemplary.

We were totally entertained and our knowledge of wine and what to look for when tasting was expanded exponentially. There was no fumbling around at random vineyards but we were able to sit down and become engrossed in the process of tasting. We were able to experience scenes behind the ‘cellar door’ and find out so much information on the entire process of wine production from the vine to the store; to follow the history of wine not only in Australia but on all continents; even answering the question “Why do most of the vineyards grow roses around the vines?”.

Our day finished with the drive home……all quiet from those in the back…..knowing we were in good hands for a safe trip home with Richard at the helm ….no one had to be designated driver….we were able to just enjoy the scenery….doze if we felt like it…..a great day and very relaxing.

Would definitely recommend this tour, not only for overseas visitors, but also for Australians…I wonder if Richard does a full weekend tour…..must follow that one up for next time

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Forjoyforjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, Owner at Wine Country Tours, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thanks Joyce for your kind feedback & that your relatives from New Zealand enjoyed the opportunity to get to better understand quality Aussie wines. I do in fact host multi day tours, so perhaps next time stay overnight in the vineyards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
2 reviews
“Fun wine tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I ,and my 6 months old son Kyle were visiting Hunter Valley in Mar 2012. We were so glad that we picked Richard as our host. He knows about all the wines, and was very fun to talk to. He made our two hours long car ride seemed like a site seeing tour. Also, he was very baby friendly.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, Owner at Wine Country Tours, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Nice to hear that you & Katharine enjoyed the wine tour with me during the 2012 harvest. Your young son Kyle was a great hit with the other guests Jenna & Adam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine Country Tours also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Wine Country Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing