We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sydney Wattle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sydney Wattle Hotel
Ranked #161 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

For $100 a night this place is fine! Our room was clean and spacious, and we had tea and coffee making facilities.

The bathroom was very small, badly painted and a bit musty smelling, but fine.

Great location, short walk to everywhere decent in the city. Nice bars nearby too.

For $100 a night in the city centre you can't complain. The week before we stayed here my boyfriend and I stayed in a backpackers for $65 a night where we had no private bathroom and we slept on bunkbeds in a room no bigger than my closet at home!

Wattle is cheap, but fine! And the staff are friendly too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    11
    14
    9
    45
See reviews for
16
23
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Very nice stay in Sydney Wattle Hotel, check in was very professional, the person who showed us to our room explained everything that was available in detail. Room was lovely as you’d expect, bathroom pristine with bath and shower.

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday night after being given the night by our daughter as our birthday presents. It was wonderful. Fantastic service and a great room very well equiped. We wish we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffery77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

My husband and I stayed in this boutique hotel couple of times on our recent visit to Sydney. We found this hotel to be in an excellent location. It's easy to walk to the major attractions from here (half an hour to the opera house by walk). The reception staff were friendly and accomodating.

The room was warm when we arrived first time and had to spend a few minutes looking for the remote for the air con. We later found it on the wall behind the curtain. Except this, room was comfortable and airy.

Overall, we found this an excellent choice of accommodation. I would recommend the place to anyone, and we'll certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose the King room with Balcony - Superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

My room was not serviced once during my four day hotel stay though they advertise daily serviced room. When I asked they said I had to ask them if I wanted the room serviced. One of the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in though they advertise "quiet". Didn't feel safe / secure (glass front entry door which also counts on guests making extra effort to latch shut and frot desk not manned after 10pm). Deadbolt on room door nonfunctional. No phone in room. Family room has no table or desk to work or eat.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sas-review22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

I stayed here recently.

First off, its a great location, right on Oxford Street itself, so thats a plus there.

Now, i had read some of these reviews before going and had it not been for their cancellation policy, i too would've cancelled. Anyway, it wasnt THAT bad. They have redone the entrance section and, i can only assume, laid new carpets on the stairs and the hallways.

The foyer of our room stunk like smoke and in our room there were cigarette burns on the walls/furniture/bed. The beds themselves were hard, but sleepable. The double glazed windows made the sound of the street bareable and had aircon.

The bathroom was a bit of a shamble. Toilet was cracked, the taps did not turn on/off, one handle even coming off. It was very old and needs replacing. The shower 'squeeled' when running.

Now ALL of these would be forgivable had this been at a budget price, however, at $200/night, for 4 people, it really isnt that good a value. We could've stayed at a slightly more expensive place which would've been value for money.

Plus there is no parking around that area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warris2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#121 of 179 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#123 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Y Hotel City South
#117 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Wattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Wattle Hotel

Property: Sydney Wattle Hotel
Address: 108a Oxford St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,388 - ₹ 11,324
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Wattle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a charming boutique hotel in the heart of the historical Oxford Street, Darlinghurst, Sydney Wattle Hotel is famous for its perfect location for annual Mardi Gras and its Bohemian culture & cafe society. Period features such as high ceilings and ornate mouldings are complemented by plush furnishings to create a quiet oasis; just a few steps from Sydney's most vibrant entertainment and dining precincts - Oxford Street, Taylor Square, Paddington Market, Surry Hills & East Sydney. Totally 11 rooms are available, some with the view of the Sydney skyline and world famous Sydney Tower. Exquisitely appointed with contemporary furnishings, rooms feature double-glazed windows, plus modern queen-size bed, en-suite and air conditioning. These spacious rooms offer a comfortable environment for business & leisure travellers. Our friendly staff are equipped to handle virtually every conceivable scenario and always strive to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sydney Wattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wattle Private

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing