We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sydney Wattle Hotel
Ranked #165 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My husband and I stayed in this boutique hotel couple of times on our recent visit to Sydney. We found this hotel to be in an excellent location. It's easy to walk to the major attractions from here (half an hour to the opera house by walk). The reception staff were friendly and accomodating.

The room was warm when we arrived first time and had to spend a few minutes looking for the remote for the air con. We later found it on the wall behind the curtain. Except this, room was comfortable and airy.

Overall, we found this an excellent choice of accommodation. I would recommend the place to anyone, and we'll certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose the King room with Balcony - Superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

My room was not serviced once during my four day hotel stay though they advertise daily serviced room. When I asked they said I had to ask them if I wanted the room serviced. One of the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in though they advertise "quiet". Didn't feel safe / secure (glass front entry door which also counts on guests making extra effort to latch shut and frot desk not manned after 10pm). Deadbolt on room door nonfunctional. No phone in room. Family room has no table or desk to work or eat.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sas-review22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I stayed here recently.

First off, its a great location, right on Oxford Street itself, so thats a plus there.

Now, i had read some of these reviews before going and had it not been for their cancellation policy, i too would've cancelled. Anyway, it wasnt THAT bad. They have redone the entrance section and, i can only assume, laid new carpets on the stairs and the hallways.

The foyer of our room stunk like smoke and in our room there were cigarette burns on the walls/furniture/bed. The beds themselves were hard, but sleepable. The double glazed windows made the sound of the street bareable and had aircon.

The bathroom was a bit of a shamble. Toilet was cracked, the taps did not turn on/off, one handle even coming off. It was very old and needs replacing. The shower 'squeeled' when running.

Now ALL of these would be forgivable had this been at a budget price, however, at $200/night, for 4 people, it really isnt that good a value. We could've stayed at a slightly more expensive place which would've been value for money.

Plus there is no parking around that area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Warris2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Second time we stayed here and staff have been great to us!
Geat little organic market with Best Coffee on wknds one block away
This hotel is close to Oxford Art Factory for gigs, next to grog shop and pie face down the road for munch attacks.
Walk out door to pubs, restaurants and awesome shopping. Short walk down to St Marys Cathedral, heritage buildings, statues, museum and parks make this a magnificent walk. Had so much fun both times Thanx Guys!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Austraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed here with some friends over the past weekend. We decided we needed a place to stay after the night out and stumbled across the Wattle - relatively cheap and right in the heart of Oxford street.

I've read all of the reviews here and yes, while there are some major issues with the place, it is in the middle of renovations. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the lobby - nice and clean with a simplistic modern design. The staircase leading to the rooms are another story, I too smelt the urine and cigarettes smell but I don't doubt this will be fixed during their renovations.

Expecting a dump of a room I was actually very surprised when I first walked in. We stayed in room 105... nothing more than you would expect from a budget hotel, but (surprisingly) it was clean. No sign of cockroaches, clean sheets, walls and bathroom were clean etc. Not too keen on the theme they've gone for with the rooms though - golden curtains and golden framed mirrors but it's clear that they're aiming for a boutique budget hotel with some charm.

I had no issues with the staff. I was served by a kind Asian lady - I really think some people must assume they're rude because they can't get past the language barrier. Sure sometimes she was difficult to understand, but she meant well.

This hotel has a bright future after what apparently was a very dark past. Hopefully this positive review is the first of many to come after the renovations are complete.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThirteenThirtySeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#114 of 180 in Sydney
671 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#130 of 180 in Sydney
45 reviews
Surry Hills
Abey Hotel
Abey Hotel
#115 of 180 in Sydney
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#98 of 180 in Sydney
52 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#139 of 180 in Sydney
188 reviews
DeVere Hotel
#152 of 180 in Sydney
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Wattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Wattle Hotel

Address: 108a Oxford St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 5,824 - ₹ 10,677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Wattle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a charming boutique hotel in the heart of the historical Oxford Street, Darlinghurst, Sydney Wattle Hotel is famous for its perfect location for annual Mardi Gras and its Bohemian culture & cafe society. Period features such as high ceilings and ornate mouldings are complemented by plush furnishings to create a quiet oasis; just a few steps from Sydney's most vibrant entertainment and dining precincts - Oxford Street, Taylor Square, Paddington Market, Surry Hills & East Sydney. Totally 11 rooms are available, some with the view of the Sydney skyline and world famous Sydney Tower. Exquisitely appointed with contemporary furnishings, rooms feature double-glazed windows, plus modern queen-size bed, en-suite and air conditioning. These spacious rooms offer a comfortable environment for business & leisure travellers. Our friendly staff are equipped to handle virtually every conceivable scenario and always strive to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sydney Wattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wattle Private

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing