We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 223
US$ 180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 295
US$ 227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 163
US$ 129
AdinaHotels.com.au
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 221
US$ 201
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 133
US$ 121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
US$ 114
US$ 90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 129
US$ 123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 257
US$ 208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
308
210
47
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
210
47
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric puboldest hotelno liftmeat piepale alecircular quayflights of stairsrocks areatop floorfirst flooropera housecorner rooman easy walkvisiting sydneyfantastic locationaustralianoise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The Lord Nelson is a microbrewery thats serves proper pints of beer (normally schooners). They have about a dozen rooms above the bar and brewery that are simple in style, but clean and functional.

The staff were really helpful and can give you plenty of advice about what to do and where to go.

The location is perfect if you want to check out the historic Rocks area or Harbour Bridge. At weekends there is also a fair in the Rocks that was fun

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My husband and I were leaving out of Sydney in mid-January on a cruise. We were leaving on a Saturday, and we got in on Friday, so we only stayed one night, but we would recommend this place, and would stay again for sure. We arrived before check-in, but they were very accomodating. We left our luggage in the office, and came back later for check-in. The room was nice. We booked an "en-suite" bathroom. There were no issues with noise at any point during the stay. It was very close (walking-distance) to dowtown Sydney (aka the bridge and opera house, oversease passenger terminal, etc). Breakfast was good, altho it is continental, so don't expect more than that. As others have mentioned, we did have to go get the girl from the restaurant to check us out, but it was not an issue at all. She did it very happily. Across the street there is a convenience store. We were able to buy some umbrellas there, since it was raining and we didn't pack any. The only downfall I would say were the stairs. We were leaving on a 2-week cruise, so we had a lot of luggage, and there were no elevators, AND we stayed on the 4th floor. So there was a lot of lugging up and down stairs. Other than that, I wish our stay was longer...It was a unique place to stay, close to everything, and you can't beat having fresh-brewed beer a couple flights of stairs below you!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LydiaStabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

A good experience overall but we did have some misgivings about this place. The way it is run seems to make it obvious that it is a pub / brasserie which offers accommodation as a sideline, which means that as a "hotel" guest you do feel like an inconvenience at times. The 2nd floor reception seemed to be closed much of the time so you need to find someone from the bar to help you need anything - which isn't always easy when they're busy - and breakfast in the bistro was a particularly unrelaxed affair (but more about that later).

The rooms themselves are perfectly nice but some are better than others - we had to move rooms during our stay so we did stay in rooms on both floors 2 and 3, which are quite different. The 2nd floor rooms are really lovely, large and with exposed stone walls and bags of character; the 3rd floor rooms are plainer, smaller & hotter, and the 3rd floor landing always seemed to have drying bedding draped over the stair rail, which was a bit offputting.

It was breakfast that stuck in our minds the most though. Apart from the fact that it ends at 9.30 prompt (and you will be reminded if you dally), which is early if you're on holiday and that the coffee is limited to one small cup, the service was so hilariously inept and erratic that my husband and I started to take bets on when the waitress would turn up and what items she would offer and then forget to bring on any given day!

Day 1 started out not too badly. The waitress didn't give us a menu or tell us what was available but asked us if we wanted fruit and toast so we said yes and sat down. Then she returned about 5 minutes later and asked if we wanted drinks so we asked for tea and coffee. The food arrived and was very nice indeed, but as she served she informed us that we'd have to leave soon because breakfast finished at 9.30 (this was only 9.15 and a fair number of people were still arriving).

On day 2 she asked us did we want breakfast (well, we were in the dining room at breakfast-time so this was a bit of a no-brainer) so we said yes and she suggested toast so we said yes and she immediately ran off to get it - so my husband ran after her to ask if we could also have fruit. As she scampered off after bringing the food we asked if we could have drinks and she looked surprised by the request but kindly agreed that we could. The peanut butter then needed 3 reminders before it finally arrived. She did bring us someone else's toast just as we were leaving though.

On day 3 she offered drinks just as we were sitting down so we said yes, expecting her to come back and take our breakfast order but she didn't. When she brought the drinks we asked if we could have some food and she looked around as if surprised that we didn't have any but nicely asked what we would like and brought it. Except she forgot the fruit. And the peanut butter.

On day 4 she ignored us for 15 minutes until we asked her if we could have breakfast, which seemed to surprise her a bit. We ordered one portion of toast and 2 of fruit, at which point she again dashed off before we had a chance to ask about drinks. When she brought our 2(?) portions of toast we leapt in to ask about drinks and she kindly agreed we could have some. After about 10 minutes we ate our toast (and peanut butter) because it was cold but the drinks still hadn't arrived so we got up to find her to remind her. Eventually they came but to be honest we'd gone off the idea by then and it was nearly half past nine anyway so we had a quick sip and left.

I think a pad and pencil might have helped her a bit - or even just a short script to follow - or maybe a menu she could hand out??? The young lady was very pleasant but a waitress she was not. And it wasn't only us, all of the other guests seemed to have the same experience - everyone spent the entire time with confused and frustrated expressions on their faces. Maybe they were trying to get a complete breakfast on the table before the 9.30 curfew!!

Joking aside, this is a nice place to stay. The location is excellent and the staff (when you can find them) are very friendly and helpful. The food in the bar is very good and although it did get extremely busy and noisy downstairs on Friday & Saturday evenings the noise didn't seem to reach the bedrooms. The management just need to pay a bit more attention to the accommodation side of things so that paying guests feel more welcome in their pub.

And someone needs to get that poor girl a pad and pencil....................

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandra_wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed here for two nights prior to flying home following a cruise. The rooms are located at the two top levels of this historic building and there is no lift/elevator. However, they will carry you luggage for you. As we were on the top floor (four flights up) that was appreciated.

Although it is a historic building it is air-conditioned which functioned fine. The bath was clean and modern.

As for location it is in the Rocks area and walking distance to Circular Quay and the Opera House. Parking can be a problem as don't know if they have the facillities for such. Parking on the streets is available at a price of $4.40 per hour. We didn't have a car so no problem for us.

To add to the charm of this place is the bar on the ground floor. which also serves bar food and they brew their own beer. The place seems to be very popular with locals.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

authentic historic pub on first floor with good food and even better food in the restaurant on second floor. Rooms were quite nice, as long as you can share a bath without heartache. Staff courteous but not effusive as are most people in Aust. Great location for Circ. Quay and Tourist info HQ a mere 2 blocks away. Very quiet in room in spite of bar below.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews