We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden Room ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arts Hotel
Ranked #92 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Garden Room ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

The room a was very clean but basic the view is of a rather run down courtyard not really a garden. Good Bathroom and shower would have expected shampoo etc for the priceThe free wifi was excellent. Staff on desk friendly and helpful.The hotel well located with good bookshops nearby and bars and cafes within walking distance and a bus stop outside The bar next door was good and felt safe for female travellers The only real negatives are the musty damp smell in the hallways and it would have been nice to have help with my bags as there are some steps up from the lift. I would stay again if I could get a better price it was more like a motel than a hotel and I thought expensive

Room Tip: Garden rooms are facing away from the busy road outside .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZINNIA21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    173
    76
    18
    7
See reviews for
50
140
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I'm in agreement with previous.. Location for Paddington is great, but i wouldn't stay again. Rooms and hotel in need of a renovation. Room was small and blandly older with a cleaning chemical smell that was off putting. There are other hotels for under $100 with a much cleaner and tidier feel although they are in the cbd - and at this price I would expect some toiletries, a hair drier that works, reception on the tv, a less budget vibe and a coat of paint.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovesgoodfood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I wouldn't stay here again. The staff are friendly enough and the location is great for shopping and Paddingdon markets. However my 'standard' room for $307 for two nights was below my expectations. Only a tiny blanket in the cupboard for the double mattress and no shampoo, bar of soap etc for the shower. If you're expecting something really basic - this is it. There is only 13 spaces in the car park (which we were lucky enough to get one!) ...So expect to pay for parking ;) I recommend bringing your own blanket and ALL your toiletries.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were in Sydney for a 3 day conference at Hordern Pavillion in Moore Park (where Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney Football Stadium and Fox Studios also are) and we wanted a hotel that was in walking distance and that wasn't really expensive like most of the hotels in Sydney. This one was perfect for us. It took us 15-20 minutes to walk to Hordern Pavillion in the morning and there was a taxi rank just outside so we could take a taxi back at night (as it was dark by the time we left at the end of the day) (cost approx $11 to get back to the hotel). Moore Park also has a Hoyts Cinema (with IMAX), Strike Bowling and a number of fast-food and slow-food restaurants and cafes, and a pub so we didn't have to go far at the end of day to get fed and entertained.
The hotel itself was quite nice; simple but adequate. The rooms contained an ironing board, tea and coffee-making facilities, a desk, a bar fridge, a flat-screen TV, and a air-conditioner/heater. The bed is a queen bed and was comfortable. Our room faced onto the pool and garden area (very nice looking area) and therefore was quite quiet. I'm not sure how noisy the rooms facing Oxford Street would have been. For those not wanting to carry their luggage up the stairs - there is a elevator! Very useful. Depending upon which room you have, there may still be 4-5 stairs still to carry luggage up but better that than carrying everything up 2 floors of stairs.
The hotel offers a buffet breakfast for $15 per person - we didn't eat there though as we preferred to sleep in and just get breakfast during the morning break of the conference.
Other details: there are lots of little cafes, restaurants and pubs/clubs on Oxford Street (not right next to the hotel so it's not noisy on a Saturday night but some were only a few minutes walk away); it's about a 15 minute walk to Paddington market form the hotel; we found it quite easy to hail a taxi when needed; it cost us $15-20 to get into the CBD, depending upon where you want to go and upon traffic; it is very important to tell the taxi driver that the hotel is near Greens Road as Oxford Street is very long and goes through a couple of suburbs and one taxi driver tried to tell us that the hotel was in Darlinghurst even though the hotel (and Google maps) says it's in Paddington.
I would stay again wiothout hesitation if I had to go anywhere in Moore Park or the Paddington/Darlinghurst area.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing Oxford Street.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at thew Arts Hotel for the second time in 6 months. The first stay was in a side room and the second was in a room facing Oxford St with ranch sliders onto a very small balcony. We really liked this room and would pick it again. There is more traffic noise on this side, but being able to open large doors to the sun was great. The room was a good size, with good storage, tea and coffee facilities. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean and in good repair. The staff are knowlegeable and very helpful. There is great shopping and cafes all around the hotel, including a book cafe on one side and a pub serving meals on the other. We will be staying here next time we are in Sydney.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the building or overlooking the garden courtyard are quieter, but the view of O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Vulcan Hotel
#81 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,923 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#115 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Hotel

Property: Arts Hotel
Address: 21 Oxford St | Paddington, Sydney, New South Wales 2021, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Paddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,131 - ₹ 9,894
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arts Hotel is a charming 3 star hotel offering personal service and a unique location in Paddington, Sydney's arts and fashion precinct. All rooms have ensuite, air conditioning, free Foxtel, safe, ironing facilities, bar fridge, hairdryer and clock radio. Garden rooms face onto the central courtyard and have complimentary wi-fi. Interconnecting rooms are available for families with children. There is free wi-fi in all public areas of the hotel, free guest bicycles and free car parking (NB space is limited and cannot be reserved).Set amongst fashion boutiques, specialty shops, cinemas, late night bookshops, art galleries, pubs, cafes and restaurants, the hotel is also within walking distance of the city. Buses run directly to City shops, Circular Quay, Central Station, Bondi Beach and Watsons Bay. Paddington is a heritage conservation area with a village atmosphere. It is a delight to explore on foot with its narrow winding streets and restored Victorian terraces houses. There are over 280 boutiques in Paddington and on Saturdays you can visit Sydney's most popular street market.The Arts Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Sydney. We invite you to experience the charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Sullivans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing