We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arts Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Sydney Central(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
US$ 143
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 186
US$ 168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 195
US$ 171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 165
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 172
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Westin Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 229
US$ 177
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 214
US$ 145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 238
US$ 195
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
92
205
84
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
205
84
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxford streetgarden roomst vincents hospitalpub next doorbondi beachgreat locationa short bus ridecentennial parksmall poolfree wifiunderground parkingtea and coffee making facilitiesthree nightspublic transporthotel is situateddouble bedcircular quay
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I'm in agreement with previous.. Location for Paddington is great, but i wouldn't stay again. Rooms and hotel in need of a renovation. Room was small and blandly older with a cleaning chemical smell that was off putting. There are other hotels for under $100 with a much cleaner and tidier feel although they are in the cbd - and at this price I would expect some toiletries, a hair drier that works, reception on the tv, a less budget vibe and a coat of paint.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovesgoodfood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I wouldn't stay here again. The staff are friendly enough and the location is great for shopping and Paddingdon markets. However my 'standard' room for $307 for two nights was below my expectations. Only a tiny blanket in the cupboard for the double mattress and no shampoo, bar of soap etc for the shower. If you're expecting something really basic - this is it. There is only 13 spaces in the car park (which we were lucky enough to get one!) ...So expect to pay for parking ;) I recommend bringing your own blanket and ALL your toiletries.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bec K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were in Sydney for a 3 day conference at Hordern Pavillion in Moore Park (where Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney Football Stadium and Fox Studios also are) and we wanted a hotel that was in walking distance and that wasn't really expensive like most of the hotels in Sydney. This one was perfect for us. It took us 15-20 minutes to walk to Hordern Pavillion in the morning and there was a taxi rank just outside so we could take a taxi back at night (as it was dark by the time we left at the end of the day) (cost approx $11 to get back to the hotel). Moore Park also has a Hoyts Cinema (with IMAX), Strike Bowling and a number of fast-food and slow-food restaurants and cafes, and a pub so we didn't have to go far at the end of day to get fed and entertained.
The hotel itself was quite nice; simple but adequate. The rooms contained an ironing board, tea and coffee-making facilities, a desk, a bar fridge, a flat-screen TV, and a air-conditioner/heater. The bed is a queen bed and was comfortable. Our room faced onto the pool and garden area (very nice looking area) and therefore was quite quiet. I'm not sure how noisy the rooms facing Oxford Street would have been. For those not wanting to carry their luggage up the stairs - there is a elevator! Very useful. Depending upon which room you have, there may still be 4-5 stairs still to carry luggage up but better that than carrying everything up 2 floors of stairs.
The hotel offers a buffet breakfast for $15 per person - we didn't eat there though as we preferred to sleep in and just get breakfast during the morning break of the conference.
Other details: there are lots of little cafes, restaurants and pubs/clubs on Oxford Street (not right next to the hotel so it's not noisy on a Saturday night but some were only a few minutes walk away); it's about a 15 minute walk to Paddington market form the hotel; we found it quite easy to hail a taxi when needed; it cost us $15-20 to get into the CBD, depending upon where you want to go and upon traffic; it is very important to tell the taxi driver that the hotel is near Greens Road as Oxford Street is very long and goes through a couple of suburbs and one taxi driver tried to tell us that the hotel was in Darlinghurst even though the hotel (and Google maps) says it's in Paddington.
I would stay again wiothout hesitation if I had to go anywhere in Moore Park or the Paddington/Darlinghurst area.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing Oxford Street.
Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at thew Arts Hotel for the second time in 6 months. The first stay was in a side room and the second was in a room facing Oxford St with ranch sliders onto a very small balcony. We really liked this room and would pick it again. There is more traffic noise on this side, but being able to open large doors to the sun was great. The room was a good size, with good storage, tea and coffee facilities. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean and in good repair. The staff are knowlegeable and very helpful. There is great shopping and cafes all around the hotel, including a book cafe on one side and a pub serving meals on the other. We will be staying here next time we are in Sydney.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the building or overlooking the garden courtyard are quieter, but the view of Oxford St is so interesting.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Top spot in the heart of paddington, this renovated old style hotel had small but functional rooms with comfy beds. Only stayed 1 night but will come again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank ShelbeRutherford_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews