We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different in The Rocks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #36 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Something different in The Rocks.”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Quaint and Quirky. The Russell is an old refurbished hotel and is very clean and the location is perfect if you are visiting The Rocks in Sydney. Breakfast was very good. Staff were friendly.
Minor complaints were:
(1) Our room did not have a bar fridge (not sure if other rooms were without a fridge).
(2) The water in the shower (which was over the bath) was difficult to adjust to the required temperature, but when achieved was good.
(3) The shower leaked continuously but could not be heard from the bed so did not interrupt sleep.
(4) Room 26 (where we stayed) was directly under the rooftop "garden" area and the footsteps of the people could be heard and sounded very loud. (this area was closed off at 10 pm so it didn't go on late into the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DenisWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    389
    110
    31
    21
See reviews for
133
437
98
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

The Russell is in an old building located in the Rocks area of Sydney. The rooms are modern and the size depends on how much you pay. The decor is simple and tasteful. The location is one of the best in Sydney. It is next to the harbor within easy walking distance of most of what is going on in Sydney, including the opera house. Did I mention I love this city.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I found th Russell quite by accident, and what a find it was a an old building refurbed to a quaint hotel, very friendly staff, clean rooms, tiny beds!!! lovely breakfast room and location right in The Rocks, so easy walking to all the sights, great cafes, pubs and restaurants abound, as well as galleries

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
237 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights.
Its ideally located for exploring the old part of Sydney.
Of course, it is on George Street. the oldest street in Australia.

Room Tip: Use the Russel to see the many historic sights in the Rocks, plus the Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We chose this hotel as we were on a budget, and we're so pleased with our choice. A very short stroll from the ferry, and would only be a five-minute walk from Wynyard train station. The hotel staff were very efficient, the place is very clean and everything is on your doorstep. Our budget choice involved a shared bathroom, but that actually wasn't a problem at all, as it was just across the landing. I would say the only negative thing was the bed, as it was sticking to the traditional theme of the place, it was old and uncomfortable. The breakfast was 'continental', but not just the basic white toast and rice bubbles. An assortment of breads, cereals, boiled eggs and lovely filtered coffee. I'm already looking forward to our next trip to Sydney. Next time I think I might go for a slightly more expensive option and get a larger room - it will still be cheaper than most other options in this area.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more to get a lot more room and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fyziojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 174 in Sydney
2,271 reviews
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,967 - ₹ 19,368
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Russell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing