We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
34
44
15
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
44
15
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light rail hour reception parking underneath broadway shopping centre the usual amenities shampoo and conditioner restaurants and cafes higher level sliding door air con an overnight stay comfortable stay public transport bus stop other guests bed was comfortable top floor
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Nice accomadation for short stay. Good room service and very central in Sydney easy access via good transport links.
Staff very helpful but after requesting to check in early following a 24 hour flight and arriving in Sydney at 11.00 we still had to wait till 14.00. Otherwise no other issue.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank ShirleyDCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haven H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Haven Glebe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Hello Shirley, Thank you for your review. I'm very happy to hear that the our location was convenient, and that you liked the service. We regret that we couldn't provide you with an early check in when you arrived, as there were no available rooms at 11AM, because check out is at 10AM and some guests had checked out late. We do try to provide early check-in for guests that request it, but it is subject to availability. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Good location close to bus and walking everywhere (which also means some traffic noise). Affordable parking at $15/night was handy. Rooms are small but very clean. Bathrooms small but nicely refurbed and L'Occitane amenities. Nowhere to put toiletry bag though - hang only. Friendly staff at front desk and water in foyer. No commune space or facilities (apart from a gym) but it's a great alternative to a city stay and very affordable. Good cafes and restaurants and pubs in area too. Wifi was intermittent.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, not on main street side if possible
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lifeoftravel08914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haven H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Haven Glebe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear guest, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm glad to hear that your stay with us was a good one. I'm glad you liked you L'Occitane amenities, and that our staff made you feel welcome. We regret that the street noise bothered you. Next time we'll make sure you get a quiet room. Glebe is a great suburb and walking distance to the CBD. We appreciate your feedback on the rooms, it has been passed on to management. We hope to see you again at your Haven soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Great position with many eateries, pubs and retailers within close walking distance. Light rail and busses to everywhere. Some city views and a short trip to airport. Looking forward to staying again at this quiet location.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank janetteg595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Haven Glebe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Hi Janett, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and found our location convenient. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Sydney was the last destination of my honeymoon in Australia. Planned it in a way that I spend New Year’s Eve in Sydney. Stayed here for 5 nights booked almost 6 months in advance prepaid USD 250/ night - not cheap by any standards.
The hotel is located in a tiny vibrant suburb Glebe, dotted with small Cafes and pretty houses. Located approximately 3 km from Darling Harbour and the city centre with well connected transport.
The check in was smooth. We were checked in by a cheerful executive Anne who gave us the room immediately and a complementary coffee voucher.Anne was helpful and gave us an orientation on getting around the city and the best way to catch the fireworks. Barring the check in and check out the interaction with the staff was quite difficult.
The room was small but workable. Interiors were tired and fittings poor. Apart from the bed nothing worth mentioning.
The cleanliness is absolutely dismal. Despite repeatedly requesting the front desk to clean our rooms. Bits of paper remained in the corners through our stay. Bed sheets and even cups were not replaced.The wall had a strand of hair right from check in to check out. Noisy corridors. A Chinese group of guests were having an unofficial new year after party unto he wee hours making a chaos in the common area. The soaps and shampoos were poor quality.
This is not a hotel but a lodge. There is no cafe in house and you have to go across to an average cafe for breakfast. Surprisingly no complementary water! 3 dollars per litre. What’s worse is the staff apart from Anne and the guy who checked us out have issues understanding English.

I have stayed at other best western properties and this property is definitely below Best Western standards.

Don’t recommend. Better to stay at a hotel at the Harbour or Central

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sudeep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Manager at Best Western Haven Glebe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear Sudeep,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am pleased that you found our reception staff helpful and liked the suburb of Glebe.

I am extremely disappointed to read about your negative experience. This is not the usual high levels of service we normally offer and please accept my sincere apologies.
Your feedback has been taken on board and we will certainly re-train our staff to improve our service quality and keep eyes on the common area to minimise noise.
We are also currently looking to improve interiors.
We are proudly using L'Occitane for our shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and handsoap, which normally guests like. I am not sure what made you feel quality of the shampoo and soap were poor. If possible, please email me at fosglebe@havenhotel.com.au to discuss further.
Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay. I hope you may choose us in the future to give us the opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards,
Taka Kitade
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Nice small room with little balcony over street. The only issue was cleaning was not done until quite late in the day, or not at all. Great central location in Sydney. Handy to cafes and shops of glebe. Friendly staff on the desk.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank B3375NIsarahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Haven Glebe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear guest, thank you for feedback. We regret any inconvenience due to cleaning times, but I must take this opportunity to explain. Housekeeping clean the departure rooms first, in order to prepare them for the arrivals in the afternoon. They then focus on in house guest room service. We appreciate your kind words regarding front desk staff. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews