We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)
US$ 203
US$ 171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 215
US$ 173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$ 139
US$ 132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 276
US$ 184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 321
US$ 226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 197
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 110
US$ 91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 230
US$ 208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
759
166
25
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
759
166
25
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbotanical gardensdrawing roomdormer roomchallis avenuecloud roomopera housekings crossquiet neighborhoodbed and breakfastboiled eggscircular quaysmall hotelhome from homeboutique hotelwithin walking distanceshort walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Staying at The Simpson was like a home away from home! The house its self is just beautiful and the rooms clean and comfortable with everything you need! The staff go over and above to help you and make you feel very welcomed. Breakfast in the morning in the conservatory is a real treat. My stay here was very enjoybale and i'd choose to stay here again! :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thankyou, "Jess from Canberra"

We appreciate your kind comments, and for taking the time to review us.

Especially glad that you enjoyed our complimentary, healthy little breakfast buffet.

Marie's home-made rhubarb compote is very popular, and is especially tasty with a little muesli and our delicious Greek-style yoghurt!

Hope to see you again!

Cheers....keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had a wonderful stay of four nights at Simpsons. The house has been beautifully restored and our room was very spacious with a balcony where we could sit and relax whilst watching the cockatoos and parrots. The continental style breakfasts were served in the conservatory and everything was delicious.
Ree our hostess was marvellous in helping us to plan our time in Sydney by providing maps and information to ensure that we got the most out of our short stay. We are sure that without Ree's imput we would have missed many of the delights we enjoyed as they were from her local knowledge and not the guide books. This information was all given with enthusiasm and a smile.
We would definitely recommend Simpsons of Potts Point and should we return to Sydney it is definitely the place we would choose to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thankyou for that pleasant Review.

Ree is also pleased that her travel advice was helpful to you.

We do enjoy giving our guests a few suggestions on things to do in Sydney that may not be in the standard guidebooks.

It is a beautiful city, blessed by the Harbour, and we are also fortunate in being situated in a very interesting and convenient neighbourhood, just sufficiently away from the hustle and bustle of the C.B.D., but close enough to conveniently stroll into town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had a wonderful stay here for a week in February 2012. It's a beautifully restored Victorian with exquisite architectural detailing. Our room (#5) was spacious, clean and comfortable. There was a large sitting room for afternoon drinks or just relaxing. Breakfast was served in the conservatory which was bright and sunny. Breakfasts were very good (for continental style) - fruits, toast, cereals, eggs, sliced meats & cheeses, fresh juices, and great coffee (we're picky when it comes to coffee and it was very good!).
Perhaps the best part of our stay was the hospitality from our hosts. They asked each morning, "So, what are you doing today" and then helped us figure out how to get there, the best time to go, good sights to visit along the way, etc. If we didn't know what to do that day, they had plenty of suggestions, too.
Potts Point is a lovely and vibrant area - great restaurants, cafes, delis, as well as shopping and some convenient gyms.
Approximately 10 minutes walk to the subway station. It's a little too far if you have luggage (anything more than a backpack) but it's worth taking a shuttle or taxi here from the airport which you can do for about $40-$45 (per couple).
I'd highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Room #5 was beautiful and has a small balcony and sitting area. It is right next to the breakfast room, though, so if you're not an early riser, you might hear the clanking of dishes and chatting of other guests earlier than you'd prefer.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runningjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thankyou for that cheerful and informative review.

Ree and I are glad that you found our information helpful, as we do both enjoy assisting our guests to see the best parts of our beautiful city and its harbour.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed our healthy, complimentary, continental breakfast buffet. Marie's home-made rhubarb compote is especially popular, and is particualrly tasty with our Greek-style yoghurt and Swiss-blend muesli ! Yummy ! (even I sneak some when the guests aren't looking!)

Thanks again for your positive Review!

Keith and the rest of the "Simpsons" team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We arrived late but were invited to help ourselves to some port or sherry in the lounge. This was most welcome. Keith introduced himself at breakfast and talked us through the important sights and other attractions. Our bedroom was very comfortable and nothing seemed to be too much. It rained a lot while we were in Sydney and Simpsons lent us umbrellas and beach towels when we visited Bondi Beach. It was like being a personal guest in a friend's house. For a quiet haven after the hectic schedule of exploring Sydney each day Simpsons is the perfect hotel. Ree was also very helpful and friendly and organised a taxi to take us to the airport.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms were as comfortable as ours - it is a small boutique hotel with just 12 rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestSussexCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thankyou Carol!

Yes, "Simpsons" is a "quiet haven", a peaceful place to return to after a day's sightseeing, or business meetings.

We are pleased that you that you found Ree and myself friendly and helpful, as we do try to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay, and see the best that Sydney has to offer.

And we do like it when we see the Port and Sherry decanters lower in the morning, as it means that our guests are enjoying themselves!

Thanks again your taking the time to review us. It does make all the difference!

Cheers.....Keith and the "Simpsons" team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

the potts point crew was absolutely lovely. we arrived to kick off our australian adventure and from the moment we walked through their door they were gracious, knowledgeable, generous and all around wonderful. they pointed us in the direction of the nearby playground (we arrived after a month in bali with 3 children under 5 y/o) and provided us with a map, great food suggestions, local attractions and helpful tips. we spent many hours wandering the nearby gardens, waterfront and city. they graciously allowed us to use the sunroom to give the kids an early supper and we were able to curl up in front of the warm fire and enjoy a glass of wine at then end of our day. the people we met were also great and everything contributed to the perfect stay. i hope that we are able to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekreismann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

What a wonderful Review. Thankyou.

We are all "chuffed" with the compliments you paid us. We do try to help, and to give the personal touch that the large chain hotels aren't always able to.

Whilst we do not have all the facilities of the larger chains, swimming pools , gyms, etc., we hope to compensate for this by our more personal approach, and our much loved 120-year old mansion, and the wonderful Potts Point location!

And thinking of swimming pools, we are only a 10-minutes pleasant stroll along the foreshore to the wonderful "Boy Charlton" Olympic Pool, with its spectacular views over Sydney Harbour, and the Royal Australian Naval vessels at Garden Island.

We also have several excellent gyms, only a few minutes away for our "keep-fit" guests!

Once again, thankyou for your kind words. They were much appreciated.

Keith and the "Simpsons" team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews