We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious quiet room with a bit of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #17 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Kew
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spacious quiet room with a bit of character”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I chose the Grace Hotel for a weekend in Sydney because it was close to everything and looked like it had a bit of character.

I was not disappointed - it is a lovely Deco hotel with rooms that had have a bit of character while the bathrooms are modern and a good size.

I had an internal room ie it faced the central core of the hotel so no real view. But it was lovely and quiet!

Good TV, usual amenities, with good restaurants attached to the place. VERY central being just a block from the Queen Victoria Building and George Street and a couple of blocks from Wynyard station.

Room Tip: In side rooms are quiet but try for a view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,876
    2,061
    463
    123
    71
See reviews for
788
2,252
362
1,465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Staying at the Grace for 3 nights was wonderful. Close to harbourside, Pitt street mall, queen vic building,the rocks and so many restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is very elegant and beautiful. Rooms are fresh and clean and the staff are always helpful.I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

What a great place to stay, from the time we checked in, until the time we checked out we were made to feel appreciated and welcomed guests. We arrived very early expecting to leave our luggage until our room was available later in the day, to our suprise the room was ready and we were given access to our room.

The location of the hotel is very convenient for visiting most of the sights in Sydney. The room was very clean and much larger than we expected. The only problem we experienced was noisy air conditioning, but this was a small price to pay for staying in such a lovely hotel.

The staff were excellent.

We certainly would stayy here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARL-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Location is very good. Staffs are helpful. I wasn't troubled by any noise during the stay.
Room was clean and very large, a bit bleak , but it didn't matter to me.

Bath room was provided with hair drier, and there were no problems
about the water temperature and drainage that are what I regard as important things in choosing a hotel.
I think it would be much better if more space was left between toilet and the wall.
I felt cramped while sitting on the toilet. (I'm a average sized woman)

Overall, I was satisfied with my choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkishou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

What a find the Grace Hotel is. The location is absolutely perfect for all the main attractions in Sydney. It's right in the CBD but still wonderfully quiet.
Just 5 minutes walk to Darling Harbour, just over 10 minutes down to the Rocks, Circular Quay, Opera House etc, and probably the same to the Botanic Gardens.
The service was exceptional, especially from the Concierge team - probably the best I've ever experienced. Nothing was too much trouble and Troy, in particular, gave us some top tips on where to go, where to eat and where to avoid!
Our room was spacious, tidy and more than comfortable (although watch out for the mini bar and snacks, quite pricey!)
Fantastic value, service and location overall. It was the perfect ending to a memorable trip.

Top tips aside from the obvious attractions
- Darling Harbour for restaurants, head there on a Saturday night for a wonderful Fireworks display
- Sydney Fish Market - amazing range of fish which you can buy and eat there. Get there early though, it's busy.
- Blue Mountains - worth the trip out of the city, spectacular
- Head to the revolving Summit/ Orbit Bar in Australia Square. It's a bit pricier than normal for a drink but the views are sensational (and it's cheaper than admission to the Sydney Tower).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsD_1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,655 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Property: The Grace Hotel Sydney
Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,397 - ₹ 18,408
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing