We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Surprise Trip Away - Clean, Comfy,Very Convenient.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Sydney, Phillip Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney, Phillip Street
Ranked #70 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprise Trip Away - Clean, Comfy,Very Convenient.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband booked this hotel for a surprise trip away for my birthday. We only needed a room for sleeping as he knew we would be out and about a lot. We stayed in 815, very quiet ( I am a light sleeper) the bed was so comfortable. We had everything we needed and the shower was hot and great pressure. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is in 10 minute walk to all the shops, circular quay, monorail and transport. The room was tidied everyday and stocks replenished for tea coffee and milk. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for convenience to all the sites. It is an older style hotel but this did not detract from the stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHuttleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    703
    258
    70
    35
See reviews for
236
493
167
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Reception was helpful, room was quite big. Bed was firm and fine. We just dislike the traditional way of tucking in layers of sheets and blankets. Why can´t modern hotels use comforter and duvet cover like those in Europe?
Room was clean but the air filter was not. The clogged filter negated the climate control function of the thermostat.
Location is great for short walks to the Gallery and Museum, and to the free 555 circular bus between Train station and Circular quay. The monorail will not be missed.
The Bistro offers free wifi, I brought my tablet at breakfast time and it down-loaded all my messages to be dealt with later.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bofoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great location, you'll only need the room for sleeping. you'll spend most of your time outside visiting the Opera House, botanic gardens, the bridge. The hotel is within 10 minutes of walking distance to the major sites. I highly recommend this hotel.

If you would like to spend time at Bondi beach, ask the concierge and he will give you instructions to get there by bus. You could also have a nice dinner while enjoying the views of the bridge and the opera house.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We booked online & read reviews & definitely not disappointed. Hotel met our expectations. Great location. Walk to waterfront & Circular Quay, central city, trains & buses. Room comfortable with kitchenette for preparing own breakfast. Reception very helpful & responded immediately to our requests. Used the Bistro after busy day & good,, simple food & inexpensive. Would recommend to anyone who wants great value for money.

Room Tip: I requested room overlooking street but got one overlooking courtyard but it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Location is great, just around the corner from Martin Place metro station. A 15 minute walk to the Opera House and 20 to Chinatown. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel occupies the top four floors in the building and although one of the elevators was broken during our stay (4 days) there were no problems in accessing the room. Coffee at the restaurant was good and you can access the internet for free while having a meal. Breakfast was adequate at around $15. Good overall experience and value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucasFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
#96 of 178 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,274 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#66 of 178 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney, Phillip Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney, Phillip Street

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney, Phillip Street
Address: 165 Phillip Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,577 - ₹ 15,155
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney, Phillip Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney, Phillip Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing