We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a grand hotel”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Have been here many times and still love it.
The location is perfect in the centre of the CBD with close access to major businesses, the retail hub and some of Sydney's better restaurants.
The challenge often is which room to have - on one hand I like the more historic rooms and high ceilings of the Historic Wing (it is also closer to the pool).
On the other hand, the highlight for me at this Westin is the lounge with the canopies at night, breakfast in the morning and coffee during the day in between meetings.
These rooms are spacious and have a wonderful modern contemporary style.
My major interaction with staff is in the lounge and I have always found them professional and courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,250 - 2,254 of 3,261 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

The old Sydney GPO is a magnificent building and a significant part of Sydney's history. Some of the spaces are dramatically wonderful. My room was spacious, very comfortable and very quiet. The Westin clearly aims at the top of the market and almost pulls it of. Some of the staff are very inexperienced and this takes away just slightly from service which should be assured at the levels the hotel is aiming for.
Prices at the various bars and cafes are high. The ambience and architecture are what I liked and the location is first rate. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garybMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here for work. It was a great hotel. Rooms are very spacious and quiet, you couldn't even tell that you were in the middle of the city.
The only thing that let it down was that I found some of the staff not as friendly as you would expect from such a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carinee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

in July i Went to sydney for 3 days with my cousin, from overseas, my parents, my sister and my husband. absolutely amazing! very clean! great breakfast! awesome location!
a little bit pricey, but i suppose you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank love2travel300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Beautiful building in a central locale. Rooms are lovely and ours on the fourth floor was whisper quiet. We stayed three nights in a suite --- lovely views. The first suite had a dirty bathroom which I noticed immediately

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 179 in Sydney
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 10,081 - ₹ 37,659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing