We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a wet weekend in Sydney......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“On a wet weekend in Sydney......”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

From the moment I walked in the front door I felt relaxed. Staff were friendly and it really was service with a smile. Our room was a waterside king which was perfectly adequate and comfortable. Didn't find the high tech toilet a bother like some other reviewers. Loved the comfortable bathroom flooring though! The weather was miserable so I did spend most of my stay reading near the window and watching the amazing amount of boats and ferries pass by! I did not investigate the gym - thought about it but not this weekend!

The proximity to the Rocks and the markets is fantastic and an easy walk uphill (and an even easier walk back!)

We ate in the Front Restaurant on the Saturday night and the food and service was excellent. Servings were a good size and I was impressed. We weren't hurried and enjoyed our experience.

The only downside was the appalling coffee from the self serve coffee machine at breakfast. Given the cost of the breakfast I should not have had to pay an extra $4 to get a very good cup of coffee from the bar.

Overall, however, I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor had timberwork outside the windows so it was awkward unless you slumped in your chair to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poloka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    720
    285
    120
    64
See reviews for
347
1,185
97
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Here we were in the heart of throbbing Sydney and we sat almost under the Harbour Bridge looking out over the water. Wonderful views. No noise. No traffic (none of us recall hearing any Bridge traffic noise either). Sitting on the Pier sipping a wine was not only peaceful and calming but also nourishment for the soul.

Service was attentive and friendly when approached. The hotel is very close to all that is interesting and just a pretty stroll away. But there are some difficulties if you are oldish and ricketty: To get to the Rocks area in 5 mins, one has to climb what seems like a hundred steps. To get to the Circular Quay area in 10 mins, one has a gentle walk around under the Bridge with stunning views - but don't do it in high heat and towing luggage. Darling Harbour is about 35 mins away and all on level ground. However, if you've expended your energy for the day, a taxi is the only way to arrive and depart. There is no shuttle service, which is a bit of a pity for us oldies. But there is the tourist Hop On/Hop Off bus which stops at the front door quite regularly at a cost of about $35 per 24 hours.

There are some lovely restaurants (especially Ventuno Italian restaurant) nearby but to spot them you must walk the pier side and not the road side of Hickson St.

Our room (#147) was most pleasant, large and very comfortable, separate shower and bathtub, with a lounge and a view of a Bridge portion. Our friend's room (#137) was a little smaller, no lounge, and shower over the tub.

All in all, we had a wonderful 3 night stay, and would not hesitate to recommend it to those who are looking for something with character.

Room Tip: Next time I'll go for the Harbourside on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This place was great. Very nice rooms with great views even if you are not on the harbor side. Very short walk to anything you want to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownHaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I organised a surprise stay here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary.

We arrived at 10.30am after arriving in at 8.30am. We were not able to check in until 2.00pm. We were going to ask if we could leave our luggage at the hotel so we could do some shopping. They were very kind and let us check in early as our room was ready. We were very thankful. We found the staff to be very helpful and obliging. The restaurant food was just superb.

The toilets have been mentioned alot in other reviews. They sound like a toilet on an airplane. The are loud but they didnt bother us. We didnt hear other patrons using theirs. We were told the hotel has a particular type of system installed because they are over water.

We loved our room, a Waterside King. There was no road noise. It was quiet and peaceful and very relaxing. The sliding door opens up to a rail with a very small concrete slab...not a deck but it was very nice to be able to open the door and look out to the water.

We will certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: I highly recommend Waterside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mum06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Decided on Sebel Pier One as we were meeting family arriving home from a cruise.
We drove right to the front door, the car was whisked away to parking and luggage carried to reception. One of the most prompt check-in's we've ever experienced. We chose a heritage room which was superb, snug, cosy with a view of the harbour bridge and harbour. Spent the evening wining and dining on the wharf overlooking Walsh Bay. Our stay was one of the most relaxing overnight stays in Sydney for a long time. Thanks to Sebel Pier One.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAJAYtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 177 in Sydney
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 177 in Sydney
6,278 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,106 - ₹ 25,050
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing