We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #6 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have been lucky enough to have stayed in this great hotel on a good few occasions over the last few years, both for work & pleasure.
The rooms are quite large for inner Sydney standards and it is everything you would expect from a five star hotel. Admittedly we've paid for their cheaper rooms (& you always get what you pay for) & are always one floor up facing the tennis courts opposite. The next time we will pay the extra for a west facing harbour view room.
Its very classy olde world charm, so for us its refreshing to see they've not given it the standard "noughties" makeover like most other hotels! But I can see that some folk will think it may be a little frayed around the edges.
There are a few restaurants nearby including a good "boutique" fish n chip place & a good Indian restaurant on the same street. The cafe in the Observatory, just up the stairs opposite the hotel do good salads.
Our only gripe in the many times we have stayed there ...last year we stayed for 2 nights which ended up being the hottest days of the year & the aircon was just not strong enough ...it was easily about 30C in our room on the coldest setting. We rang reception who said the aircon was working to the max but the outside temperature was too hot. Unfortunately they didn't have any fans & Kmart was a little far away, but a few backup fans (even from Kmart) would have been great!!
However we will still be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Warmest greeting from The Observatory Hotel

Thank you so much for your patronage of The Observatory Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our associates.

Noted is your feedback relating to air-conditioning during hot Sydney nights and absolutely purchasing fans is an option that I have flagged with our Director of Operations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Observatory Hotel.

Kindest of regards

Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,401 - 1,405 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

We couldn't get into our usual hotel and chooses this instead. We were not disappointed. It was small, very personal and very stylish. The rom overlooked the harbour and was huge, with all the services we could possibly want. My partner thought it was a little noisy, possibly because our room was very close to the central staircase. I was not bothered. We stayed for three nights and the fact it was a little walk away from the main Rocks area was wonderful as it was off the main tourist track. We will definitely be back! The only sour note? In this day and age, I think a charge of $50 for three days internet usage for an iPad that could only be used in the lobby was extortionate (the rooms only had wired access).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryneithinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Warmest greeting from The Observatory Hotel

I am delighted chance led you to The Observatory Hotel and you enjoyed your experience.

We are currently reviewing our internet service and are confident Wireless may be an option in the near future.

Please do come and stay again at The Observatory Hotel - it would be our privilege to host you.

Kindest of regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I have stayed here many times and never failed to enjoy the experience (including one stellar 4-day stay over NYE 2000). We usually stay in a room on the top floor on the southwest corner, with a great view over the western harbour down to Parramatta and the Blue Mountains. Staff are absolutely top notch, friendly and helpful as only Australians can be. The restaurant is much better than the usual hotel fare, and the Globe Bar is a great spot to relax. But the pool takes the cake. The ceiling is dark blue and painted with stars with small lights, a brilliant effect. The hotel is tucked away in Sydney's historic Rocks, but just a short walk over Observatory Hill (thus the name) to Circular Quay. All in all, always a treat to come back to.

Room Tip: The top floor corner rooms have a great outdoor dck and the west facing rooms, great viewsvas well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fell0w_Traveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Warmest greeting from The Observatory Hotel

Thank you for your patronage of The Observatory Hotel, you are a great ambassador and for this I sincerely thank you.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our associates.

We look forward to hosting again at The Observatory Hotel.

Kindest of regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Having stayed in Sydney a few times now, I think the Rocks area is my prefered location to stay. The hotel was beautiful, the staff very attentive. As we were only staying two nights ( a follow on stay after Canberra) I chose a standard city view room, which was very well appointed and spacious, and of great importance impeccably clean, as was the whole hotel. Any road noise was very minimal.
A couple minuses were the $40 charge for breakfast, I don't think so, and $17 for a glass of wine.
Walking to either the Rocks area, or Darling harbour is 5 - 10 mins, but easy going and not like the madness of the city centre.

Room Tip: We were on floor 2, opposite the lifts, and above the front entrance ,didn't hear a thing really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ammark57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Warmest greetings from The Observatory Hotel

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our associates.

I am glad you enjoyed our historic Rocks location; that provides an ideal base to explore many of Sydney’s attractions.

It would be a privilege to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Although The Observatory is not in the best location in Sydney, it's not too far to walk to The Rocks or the city. The room we had was very large by Sydney standards, it was facing the road but the double glazed window we heard very little.

The service was the outstanding point for me. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff I encountered were very pleasant. The hotel is looking a little tired (worn furniture, stains on carpet) but still has that luxurious old world charm that you expect from Orient-Express.

We also had afternoon tea there. It was fabulous. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Warmest greetings from The Observatory Hotel

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our associates.

I am so pleased you had an opportunity to experience an Afternoon Tea, served in grand British tradition and a popular choice amongst discerning Sydneysiders.

It would be a privilege to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 181 in Sydney
1,421 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#5 of 181 in Sydney
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#36 of 181 in Sydney
6,638 reviews
The Darling
#4 of 181 in Sydney
916 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#28 of 181 in Sydney
4,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 17,143 - ₹ 38,670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. From stunning Western Harbour facing views to our Historic Rocks district location, The Langham, Sydney is truly Sydney’s most exclusive address. Voted one of the Top 100 Hotels in the World; this luxurious property features a Sotheby’s artwork collection and the largest rooms in the city. Every room is a haven of plush, bespoke furnishings amidst soft panelled walls and high ceilings. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city outlook across Sydney. Nestled in the quaint cobble stoned streets hidden in the city, we are located amongst a tranquil yet convenient proximity to some of the city’s most quintessential experiences. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Our iconic Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood features hand-curated gateaux, macarons and savoury delights designed by our in-house Patissier. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Bistro Remy" led by classically French-trained Executive Chef, Dave Whitting. The upscale, neighbourhood bistro contrasts classic technique with modern interpretation, serving reinvented bistro classics. Expect signature dishes such as Twice Cooked Soufflé, Black Ash Tortellini, Pink Snapper Cerviche right through Grainge Angus Beef with Béarnaise Sauce and Frites, Roast Pork with Apple and Duck Confit, all created with love, for a neighbourhood feel. For an indulgent experience into relaxation, join our award winning day spa with rejuvenating treatments & techno-gym facilities. Of course, this includes a few laps on our star-dappled underground pool amongst sandstone pavements for the ultimate spa stay. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney offers relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Featuring facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing