We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great set up roomy apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astral Tower and Residences
Ranked #56 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We booked our 2 bedroom apartment through a special and as a result it was a fabulous bargain. Rooms are wonderful. Everything you need and much more. Kitchens are huge, too big in fact, who needs a FULL kitchen on holidays? We had a Pyrmont view room and it was great. No real need to book the city view and pay extra. Balcony was a good size, with space to take out chairs from room. If you are a gambler or going to a show at Lyric these are great rooms. If not , then feel you can get great rooms closer to restaurants and Darling Harbour for less money. Breakfast remained a mystery as no information given at check in and agree with previous reviews, room information , really told you nothing. 5 minute walk to Darling Harbour and endless cheap places to get great meals. Wonderful meals at Pyrmont Bridge Hotel, just around the corner. I had the best rump steak and mash I have ever had for just $8!!!!! It was delicious. Hubbie had fish and chips and salad and he said it was great. Eating in casino area was not as good as it used to be. We used to enjoy just sitting and eating and drinking and watching all that goes on. But nowhere to do that now. We wanted a nice cup of coffee later in the evening and no staff could tell us where we could get one. We wrongly directed 3 times, and eventually found coffee shop in walk through restaurant area down stairs, and it CLOSED at 10.30!!! This is too early.
You can get a ferry from wharf a couple of minutes walk away, and they will take you anywhere on the water, up the river and all over the harbour. If you are a senior, remember to use your $2.50 day pass for all trains , buses and ferries. We went everywhere, over to Manly, up to Parramatta, out to Bondi and all over the city. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: Pyrmont view rooms on higher floors are great.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,069)
There are newer reviews for Astral Tower and Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 780 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012

We experienced a nice clean room, well fit-out and comfortable. Customer service on check-in wasn't the greatest, as we were not informed about our breakfast options and the in-room material was somewhat ambiguous. The pool was also closed for renovation during our stay which wasn't made known when booked via Wot-if which was a shame.

The room however served the purpose and was a comfotable and enjoyable stay despite these small moot points.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blow_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

On check in we were bumped up to a junior suite. Sweet it was! Amazing views. Such a comfy, large bed! Beautiful bathroom with huge spa! Sooo roomy! All the staff were extremely polite! It was so nice to be able to be in the same building as the Lyric theatre and the casino and all those delicious restaurants! We loved it!

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We have just returned from another fantastic stay. From check in, room service,valet ect service was fantastic all round. Room service meal of pork belly and Asian green s was delicious and the creme brûlée heavenly. Room was purchased on wot if for $309 per night for a 2 br pyrmont view room, great value for a thursday night. The new food court area downstairs is soo much better, with an Adriano zumbo cake store, soooo yummy. The pool area is not complete, and won't be until next year which is a shame as it was a great area to relax with a cocktail, otherwise a faultless stay, we will be back, and would not hesitate to recommend to others.

Room Tip: Apartments are great value.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

As a repeat customer of The Star..and Astral Residences I was certainly impressed with my recent stay. The valet parking is great and very well priced for the Sydney Darling Harbour/CBD area. Check in was efficient, fast and friendly. Our two bedroom apartment was roomy and very comfortable..with the added bonus of a balcony..always a plus for me. The service was as you would expect..extremely good. Room service was the fastest I have ever experienced in all of my travels...domestic and international. I must say the room service meals we had we're simply sublime..the Star chef should be commended on this..way exceeded our expectations. Overall a great stay and we will be back ASAP.

Room Tip: Pyrmont View is ok...but if you like "wow" a harbour view cannot bet passed up.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leethomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#5 of 178 in Sydney
893 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Tower and Residences? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences

Address: 80 Pyrmont St | 80 Pyrmont St, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 13,932 - ₹ 41,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a weekend escape, a short stay or a place to call home for a Sydney holiday, Astral Tower provides contemporary five-star accommodation like no other with stunning views. If you're looking for something a little more spacious, Astral Residences offer everything you need if you're looking for apartment style living for business or leisure. We have one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments at our residences, each with their own private balcony and in-room media centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing