We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #15 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is a lovely boutique-like hotel close to Circular Quay. My husband and I stayed here one night for a special occasion, which was a really enjoyable experience.
We had booked a double room and were unexpectedly upgraded to a suite. Lovely!
The concierge greeted us by name each time he saw us and the staff was really helpful with any enquiries we made during our stay.
The breakfast was wonderful, with a range of fresh fruit etc and no complaints were made when we remained lingering over breakfast while waiting for our son to join us - right on the tail end of the stated breakfast hours!

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in didn't have windows that opened, so guests might like to check with the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear 500th reviewer!

Congratulations on being our 500th TripAdvisor Reviewer - we are thrilled it is 5 stars.

Being a boutique property having staff welcome our guests by name is a goal we aspire to - and we also don't like to hurry guests who are enjoying a relaxing meal. Thank you for highlighting this in your review. Sir Stamford at Circular Quay is definitely the perfect hotel for a special ocassion for all ages and for most events. Our collection of 4 small, beautfiully decorated meeting rooms are ideal for social groups of 10 to 100 and having a group High Tea is very much in fashion at present.

Thank you for you review and return again soon.
Kind regards
Heather idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,418 - 2,422 of 2,972 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

I found the Sir Stamford online by accident, the taxi driver didn't know it but I was prepared with the address. One could drive past without noticing. It doesn't have the usual opulent entrance of a grand hotel.

Inside it's rather like a boutique, family hotel. It once was the Ritz Carlton so that may give you some idea.

The sitting rooms are beautifully decorated and very relaxed. No one seems to stand on ceremony here like some expensive hotels I've stayed in around the world. And it was surprisingly affordable.

The lift felt like it was going to break down at any moment but that added to the fun. The rooms are large, well appointed and with windows that actually open. Our room had a view of circular quay which was great at night.

I could have stayed longer and I will no doubt return. It's my new home in Sydney when I visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barrye09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest

We are delighted you discovered us on the internet. Small boutique hotels like ours certainly do benefit from the ability of our future clients to compare both prices and services well before they travel. Every visitor has different needs and expectations and when travelling convenience and location are often worth that little bit extra. Pleased you found us affordable.

Yes Ritz Carlton did convert the historic 1897 Health Department into a hotel in 1990 and their legacy lives on in our Fine Art Collection - from the tiny Persian Rugs in the lifts to the outstanding chandeliers that adorn our ceilings. Over the past 12 years Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has won many awards and received many accolades from the industry for it's service and elegance.

However we are only as good as our last review and so we thank you for taking the time to record you experience - it seems we are soon to reach our 500th review - we trust it will be a 5 star report like yours.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

When I initially made contact with the SYDNEY Stamford I was not impressed. However, my husband was participating in the Sydney Running Festival and really wanted to stay due to the location. So I persevered! We booked through the Stamford's website. We were staying 2 nights and the website offer was to prepay. This was not a problem however to finalise the reservation was just ridiculous. We paid up front, however due to our credit card expiring during our stay it was not accepted! (months earlier I must add). The (gentle)man that I spoke to in the end was Con, and I am sorry - this guy just made the whole experience even more excruciating! Anyway, I was not looking forward to staying at all BUT I was pleasantly surprised!
I received a phone call prior to us leaving Victoria from Marty to inform us of the road closures due to the running festival. That impressed me! What a job......great customer service.
When we arrived at the Stamford I was really hoping I was going to meet this guy Con but it was not to be. Instead we were greeted by this lovely lady by the name of Kylie and straight away I felt relaxed and Con was out of my head! I told her how I appreciated the phone call and Marty introduced himself - he too was behind the desk. Well from there on, I realised that even though one person (Con) had already tarnished my impression of the Stamford....I was completely wrong THANK GOODNESS (...but ...mind you first impressions Con, maybe something to think about?!)
I would like to thank all the staff at the Stamford during our stay....Marty (going the extra mile with the phone call) and Kylie for the lovely warm welcome. Dean (concierge), your recommendation for the night life was spot on and we had an absolute ball (and eateries)!
Also, Kieran and Stu - thank you for your assistance.
To think, if I had of had my way, we would of missed meeting these wonderful people and staying at a wonderful establishment....lucky my husband put his foot down!
All the staff were friendly. The room was fantastic. Very clean and the bathroom was AWESOME!
Thank you, we had a great weekend and will we be back again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 315 - it was just lovely and very roomy! The balcony is great allowing fresh air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackaboy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Marathon Guests

Congratulations on competing in the Sydney Marathon and dealing with difficulties in pesky credit card deposits. Your tenacity was our gain and we apologise for the false start to your weekend. Sir Stamford is an ideal competitor hotel for such a wonderful event. The city becomes eerily quiet as even the Harbour Bridge and Cahill Freeway closes for the Blackmores Running Festival. Ringing our guests who may be inconvenienced by road closures is quite practical for a boutique hotel - despite the internet it's good to just pick up the phone... old fashioned service goes a long way.

Five Stars is a great accolade thank you, and also for your positive mentions of our staff - Dean, Kylie and Marty thank you on behalf of the team. It's very reassuring for me to know that you received appropriate advice on venues and restaurants that suited you as that is the key to good concierge - aligning the guests requirements and using our local knowledge of eateries and clubs in our vicinty to ensure visitors have the best Sydney experiences.

We look forward to your return and thank you again

Kind regards Heather Idoine
General Manager

PS Con is feeling very sheepish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Sir Stamford for a weekend. It's in a brilliant location with easy access from the eastern distributor and once there a short stroll down to circular quay. The views aren't quite what you get from some of the other major hotels near circular quay and the service could do with a polish up but over all the experience was positive and the fire in the lobby was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benifers travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dera Valued Guests

Thank you for your review. Easy access from the major access roads into the city, is certainly an advantage whether you are coming in by private car or taxi - Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has links to both the Cahill and Eastern Distributor 200 and 500 metres from the front door.

Having the ferry terminal just around the corner plus being easy walking to 2 major rail lines - one at Circular Quay and the other at Martin Place ensures you can go almost anyway by public transport and not have to worry about having a car. The Harbour Bridge walk from the hotel to the little village of Kirribilli takes about 20 minutes and there are several excellent local restaurants on that side of the harbour that will give you a real Sydney Sider experience.

From Gourmet Walking Tours of the city to Kayak tours of the waterways - you can have some very different experiences. The coming weeks feature Art and About - we are looking forward to seeing the "Golden Lane", so return again soon.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

What a delightful hotel, service with a smile and sense of humour to boot.
We were amazed at the consistent level of service from check in to housekeeping all staff make you feel at home.
The old world charm of this hotel reminds you that slick and modern is not always better.
On arrival we were upgraded to a Suite that was a small apartment in size and whilst in need of some updating everything was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony away from the Cahill expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for you your comments about our delightful 105 room vintage hotel and our consistent service. Spring is such a lovely time to visit Sydney with the Botanical Gardend opposite bursting into life.

93 Macquarie Street is certainly an olde world location, one of Australia's historic streets, that begins with Hyde Park and finishes just beyond our hotel at the Opera House. From NSW Parliament buildings, the Barracks, the Mint, Museums, Libraries, Galleries and Music Conservatories - it's a very attractive city walk.

Thank you again for your review
Kind regards
Heather idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,466 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 13,977 - ₹ 35,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing