We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big firm comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
320 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Big firm comfortable beds”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Just stayed overnight for a business trip- delighted with a huge king size bed in a very well appointed room.
Not much of a view but all other aspects are excellent.
Looking forward to a 5 night stay in April!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,022
    1,060
    249
    67
    50
See reviews for
664
1,820
283
1,153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here in late January for 3 nights over a weekend. It was located very close to Wynyard train stop which made travel quite easy. There were also plenty of cabs. We were able to walk to the Opera House in about 25 minutes at a quick pace. We also walked to the area known as the Rocks which had some nice dining options. There is plenty of shopping near here including - get ready for this - the most amazing food court we've ever seen in the Westfield shopping Centre. It truly is worth a look. We didn't dine at the restaurant in the hotel - breakfast prices seemed quite high. The room was of average size, but had a nice bathroom with both a lovely tub and shower. The rooms were kept very clean. The mattress and pillows were very comfortable and there were options for other pillow types if so desired. I can't see any reason not to stay at this hotel unless you want something much more upscale. Good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean-GuyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Great location, nice fluffy towels, quality toiletries, helpful staff and luxurious rooms. The free wi fi is fabulous!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetpeaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on New Year's eve and thereafter. Selected it primarily as most of the hotels near the Circular Quay were fully booked out. To give you a background, we are Indian tourists who visited Australia for 20 days (via Singapore) during the course of which we stayed in 9 hotels in 8 locations. Hence this rating is moderated to my experience of hotels around Australia/Other cities in the world and not a one off review on Radisson Sydney.
Pre reservation Process :
Web Reservation process is fairly lengthy. Advance booking ensured I got the worst possible rates for the New Year’s. I had to send a mail before arrival saying that the rooms I had booked for 745AUD odd were currently available at 350 AUD odd. Also whether they could upgrade me or adjust the rentals as I intended on extending my stay by a day. I got a reply saying they could not read the contents of my mail but had extended my trip !. Also indicated that I should be thankful for their not insisting for a prepayment for the additional day (when I had already prepaid 1800 AUD for 3 nights). Later they did adjust the rental for a day on actuals but I was unhappy that this needed to be pointed out first.Pre reservation agents also did not take note of including my Club Carlson number in the reservation.
Accessibility:
Public Transport: Not easily accessible from Airport particularly if you are travelling with luggage or family. Closest convenient stations/stops are not doable by walk particularly with luggage
Private Transport including Taxis : Easily accessible /Taxi Drivers at ease with location/ Good GPS directions in case you are driving yourself
Frontage/Interiors/Reception Area :
Lovely heritage building with elegant exteriors as well as interiors. Elegant and Stylish and a sheer pleasure to walk into the hotel. Reception area is large and well laid. Large lobby with sufficient seating space.
Welcome Quotient ( Concierge / Reception):
Concierge : Did not help with the luggage on disembarking from the Car at the Foyer. One of them even managed a degrading look at one of our ageing suitcases which was pretty disconcerting !
Concierge (inside hotel): Extremely helpful and cheerful. Gave us a warm welcome. During my stay I found them to be the only ambassadors of this hotel. They provide the balance to the lack of warmth in human relationships in this hotel.
Reception : Possibly the most disappointing experience in this hotel. For a guest staying 4 nights in festive season at over twice the hotel’s normal rates (festive rates),there was an extremely cold reception. Complete lack of warmth or welcome which was uncharacteristic of hotels across Australia. During my stay, I found, that in general, staff at the reception looked harried and were generally not smiling / maintaining a pleasant disposition.

The checkin receptionist first said we would have to wait for over an hour owing to non availability of rooms ( which was singularly unpleasant after an 8 hrs flight). Later said that he suddenly saw an availability and allotted us a room with no views and loads of corners (felt hexagonal).Unconvincing and thoroughly unprofessional to say the least,apart from the feeling of being shortchanged.
Checkout was efficient and quick with reasonably good liason between concierge and reception desk.
Rooms/Room Service : Stayed in a business class room which was excellent in all respects. Newspapers were not delivered on any day despite a request. It appears you need to mention your preferences on check in but the reception did not suggest and definitely did not give sufficient time to mark my preferences as they were keen to take a quick signature instead. Room Service Time is good compared to the average in hotels in Australia but poor on a worldwide scale. One excellent feature present which is absent in other Australian hotels is the presence of free WiFi which I found laudable. Room size is large coupled with a generously sized bathroom. King Bed was very comfortable and we got some good nights of sleep !
In Room/ Out Room Dining / Breakfast Buffet :
The dining menus are fairly good for European/American/Australian palates but could be priced more reasonably. It is not friendly for Asians/Middle Easterns and can be a nightmare for vegans. What is sad is the absence of ingenuity in the kitchen and the lack of will to tailormake a dish for guests outside the strict regimen of their dining menu. I did try requesting once but it was a stressful experience. As a result, we had a longish trudge to restaurants everyday where we met most of our requirements with no fuss and at a tenth of the costs of in room dining. That when I was willing to pay a price for dining in the comforts of my own hotel. The breakfast buffet is large but with hardly or no main dishes for vegans. The standard response was to direct you to the fruits/bread & croissants sections. As a five star hotel, they should have a process of determining the special requirements of guests and make suitable arrangements. The fare was only moderately better for lacto ovo vegans. Vegans should not opt for the bed and breakfast deals in this hotels as it would be a very poor deal. Another irritating factor during breakfast was questions during pre seating on whether you were having a continental or full breakfast (full breakfast is apparently chargeable). I think they should drop this very petty issue and concentrate instead on starting the day of their guests with a hearty breakfast. This is also not a practice worldwide but was present in at least 4 of the Aussie hotels we visited. The difference between the full and continental breakfast is also not made amply clear in the web reservations. In case you wonder why I am making this fuss over breakfast, you will be surprised how you feel when you are groggy in the morning ,waiting for some steamy coffee to warm your insides, and first up need to answer inane questions on which category of breakfasters you belong to !

Room Tip: Insist on seeing the room allocated,even on upgrade.Ask if the rooms are street facing,request for h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank praky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Had a great experience at this hotel. Arrived very early so assumed we would just drop our bags off and go out for the day but the guy on reception made a few enquiries and sorted a room within minutes. The room itself was lovely, comfy beds (which a pillow menu), nice furnishing and one of the best bathrooms I've come across in a hotel. There was a huge tub and seperate shower cubicle - the shower was so powerful it felt like you were having a massage. The mini bar was also extremely reasonable therefore I was able to enjoy a few bubbles in the bath!

We were on a room only basis so didn't try the restaurant or bar as they are lots of good quality cafes and restaurants nearby. Circular Quay, the Rocks the main shopping area and Darling Harbour are all in walking distance of the hotel.

Concerige were great recommending bars and restautants outside of the hotel .... all of which were outstanding. The Shangri La hotel has an amazing cocktail bar over looking the Harbour Bridge and Opera house which is a must if in the vacinity.

The hotel also offers free wifi to all its guests which is extremely handy. Will definately stay at this hotel again when in Sydney next.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trave1_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,177 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,084 - ₹ 21,784
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing