We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Regis City Centre
Ranked #125 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Perth, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I had read the reviews regarding noise and was slightly apprehensive, but we had decided that location was very important to two ladies who are getting on a bit!
Yes the noise from the traffic was there but it was more background noise than intrusive and I must agree with Penelope's comments that if you want to stay in a city within a certain budget you have to put up with the drawbacks. The helpfulness of the staff and cleanliness of the room more than made up for the noise.
Only negative comment was a slight stale smeel emanating from the bathroom (we suspect the shower curtain/drain) but it was not serious enough for us to complain about.

Room Tip: Try for a higher level room as this may make the noise level diminish a little, either that or take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AilsaPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    699
    603
    309
    213
See reviews for
309
691
269
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel during a spur of the moment trip to Sydney. Having learned that most reasonably priced accommodation was booked out in Sydney that weekend, we felt lucky to find the Park Regis, especially because it is so central and they offered a "park view". On arrival we quickly realised why everyone was staying elsewhere.

This hotel is what I would call budget accommodation, even if the price doesn't always reflect that. Our room was comfortable but the building is quite dated. And the street noise was unacceptably loud in the room. The on-site parking is very cramped and we were very glad we had brought our small car - I would not have even attempted to drive our 4WD in there... way too scary and difficult to manouevre without hitting anyone.

This hotel may suit those on a tight budget who aren't looking for anything flash but want to be centrally located near Town Hall, Hyde Park and Oxford Street. It definitely wasn't to our taste and I certainly hope that international visitors don't judge Sydney by this place. Hotel management should seriously consider double glazing the windows.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellebana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Similar experience as per review by "hydehill". This is my first stay at this hotel and would only stay here again if out of options, which was how I ended up booking into this hotel in the first place (late in organising accoomodation in Sydney for a large international conference).

In defence of the hotel, there is a price difference of $300+ dollars per night difference comparied to where I would normally stay, for the period I stayed (price hike due to shortage during the conference). Given the same scenario of late booking and significant (200-300%) price hike at the other hotels I would not hesitate to book this hotel again if there wre no other options.

Pros
- location. Center of the CBD and close to the monorail. This was for a conference at Darling Harbour. Using the monorail, over a week it never took more than 15min from leaving my room to arriving into the exhibition hall at the Convention Centre; many restaurants nearby; near the Town Hall train station
- Comfortable bed.
- Internet. Reasonably priced internet with reasonable speed (tested via Speedtest.net: 1.45Mbps upload; .13Mbps upload); Starting at $7:50/hr. Also offers a range of access options to total time (I bought 8 hrs for $30, which was sufficient as I only needed a couple of hours per night) which only counts the time one is online, to blanket full day to multiday access.

Cons
- Rooms are small (see photo .... the photo of the room was taken right at the corner of the room with an iphone and could not capture much of the bed)
- Noisy. Very poor sound insulations from the street (at least when on the 11th floor) Sounds from every car, street sweeper, bus, mono-rail, fire trucks, police cars, etc is heard all through the night - Sydney streets are not quiet in the middle of the night.
- Very poor temperature control - see photo. No temperature adjustements, just a fan speed adjustment for the air-con. I found the room to range from cool to too cold. Openning the window helps with controlling the temperature but allows even more noise to come through.
- Bathroom needs to be updated. See photo. Soap/shampoo dispenser looks cheap and the products within are below par with other similarly priced hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lokky_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed here for three nights because it was close to the city centre and we didn't see the point of spend a fortune on a room we would spend very little time in. We wanted something convenient, clean and comfortable and the Park Regis was all of these. The Sydney Festival was on so accommodation was certainly at a premium. I have read several of the reviews on here criticising the Park Regis. People have to remember that accommodation prices fluctuate during peak seasons and you have to be decisive and realistic in what you expect for your money. If you are going to complain about the noise, don't stay in the city or be prepared to pay to stay somewhere else. Cities are busy places which mean people and traffic.
The price for our accommodation was awesome considering its location. There aren't all the trimmings that other hotels may provide like room service but the front desk operates 24 hours and the staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful, to the point that an item I forgot to pack was mailed out COD after our stay (and seriously, who stays in a city like Sydney to eat in their hotel room anyway?) The bed was very comfortable and the room a fair size. I have spent more and stayed in 4+ star places with smaller rooms. There was a notice in the bathroom alerting us to issues with low water pressure but I noticed none. In fact, I would think that if you complained about the water pressure, you must be hard to please, it almost knocked me over!
We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peneloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This hotel is in a very good location - I have stayed here several times over the years. But there are many negatives about this hotel that mean its not top of my list when visiting Sydney - its very much a place I stay only when my favourites aren't available.
The negatives start with check-in. Once I finally had the clerk's attention he checked me in and advised that they took payment for the room up front. OK. And they charge a fee for using a credit card - so either go out and find some cash or pay more. Credit cards are the way the world pays when travelling and this practice of charging extra to use credit cards stinks, and it is becoming more widespread.
While waiting for the clerk's undivided attention I also noticed the hotel now charges $2 per bag to hold your luggage after checkout. This is something I haven't encountered before, I have always found hotels happy to store your bags if you are not planning to travel until some time after checkout.
The vibe I was picking up continued when I got to my room. The room itself was comfortable if somewhat dated - the hotel was one of the earlier additions to Sydney back in the 60s and 70s when more modern hotels started to open.
Standard room furniture included queen bed, wardrobe, easy chair, fridge, and a desk/bench with chair. The desk was covered in promotional material trying to get me to spend more - internet, city attractions and the like - lots of those three sided free standing thingys, there were even a couple on my bedside table. I had to put them all in the drawer to make room to actually use the desk.
As I said it continued what I felt was a pattern of trying to get whatever they could out of me.
The room, being dated, was actually quite noisy despite being on the twelfth floor. But the noise was not just from traffic down below. Being an early riser and early to bed I reckon I clearly heard every other guest on my floor return to their rooms throughout each night I was there. Some of them were probably a bit louder than they should have been but it wasn't like the guests were partying or anything.
Lighting in the room was poor, not really enough to be able to read in bed, or not for me anyway.
The bathroom was really only just adequate, small with inadequate shelves or towel rail/hooks and with a small shower recess behind a corner curtain.
Cleaning was not as good as it could be. I think the bathroom only received one reasonably thorough clean in the three nights I was there. Likewise while the hotel has adopted the idea of soap dispensers rather then providing cakes of soap the dispenser in the shower recess was empty and remained so for my three night stay,
So, if you want location and can handle all the negatives this is a good option but for me only at the last minute and if I can get it a very good rate.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Park8 Hotel Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
777 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#55 of 179 in Sydney
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#69 of 179 in Sydney
271 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Coronation
Hotel Coronation
#122 of 179 in Sydney
212 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 179 in Sydney
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Regis City Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis City Centre

Property: Park Regis City Centre
Address: 27 Park St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,285 - ₹ 17,117
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Regis City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Regis City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis City Centre Hotel Sydney
Park Regis City Centre Sydney
Park Regis Sydney
Park Regis Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing