We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay ... all I needed”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #63 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I needed one night in Sydney before an airport transfer and so decided on Mercure Sydney. The decision was partly price related (great deal with the Accor group) but I had been there before and was sure I would be happy. Its an easy walk from Central Station and you can walk across to Darling Harbour or bus or train downtown to Circular Quay etc. I went shopping at Broadway Westfields (a 15 min walk), used MacDonalds WiFi over the road and had good service and meals with the Room Service meals. The only downside is no free access to Wifi not even in the hotel lobby! Get with the times Mercure - you can have free wifi all over the world. Sydney needs to catch up and you could lead the way. Travellers do take this into account when they are looking to book. I would definitely return to Mercure Sydney.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainsHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear guest,

Thanks for your feedback. I was very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and received a great deal on your accommodation rate.

I also appreciate the time you have taken to provide feedback regarding our internet prices. We always review our services so we take all guest feedback in this area very seriously.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,116 - 3,120 of 5,032 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

This was my second stay at the Mercure Sydney in three months.I find it a great location for both Business and also its proximity to Chinatown (I Love Asian Food).
Good value for money accomodation, a great shower and very comfy bed.
After a slight mix up where I was gven a smoking room after being asked at check in , and requesting a non, the Hotel responded briliantly and moved me to a Privelige Room.
Breakfast is good ,with a reasonable choice , there were some delays in getting a table but it was school holidays, so no real issue.
I will definitely be staying at the Mercure Sydney on my next Business trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooky999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear guest from Adelaide,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and I was delighted to read that you had another enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Dear Sir/madam,
Many thanks to accor as they provided great service and value for our one night stay, we were stranded on the highway into sydney,as our car broke down, and it took 7 hours to get to the hotel, and natalie the team leader at the desk of the mercure softened the blow of the journey by providing us with a complimentary breakfast the next morning. Hence the Mercure is professionally run in the sense that they put the client first. regards bcooke .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bc00ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear guest from Katoomba,

Thanks for your feedback. After having the misfortune of your car breaking down before staying with us I am delighted that our friendly team were able to make you night more enjoyable.
We take pride in providing exceptional service to our guests and I will certainly share your kind feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robocon2909
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Mecure is abuzz ! The coming and going of folks at Reception at first seemed chaotic but the Staff quietly made us feel that we were the "special" ones . Our room, overlooking the George St entrance to downtown Sydney could not be faulted and the access to buses, trains, China Town and Darling Harbour gives a great connect to the real Sydney-siders (we're locals) and their visitors. Parking is a breeze. Dont likes? Well we all have a few don't we? but the big picture is that they really are'nt are worth mentioning during this stay. Will we return? Value for money? Absolutely. Is it the Ritz? No. It's just a busy warm and friendly place to stay . IMHO ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kernamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear guest from Sydney,

Thanks for your feedback. I was delighted that you had another enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 181 in Sydney
1,385 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#21 of 181 in Sydney
6,332 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Meriton Suites Zetland
#13 of 181 in Sydney
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 8,177 - ₹ 18,488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Prestigia, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing