We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Class Accor Advantage Plus Holder”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #65 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Being a member do not give me any perks at all - yet I get some ridiculous treatment : a super small room, key card never able to open the door in the 2nd day and a roller bed come in to the super small room when I did not ask for it. When I try to ask for compensation or upgrade or Free Breakfast etc. to comfort my mind .. Nothing is done !! IT MAKE me really want to complaint to AAP+
When I ask the receptionist whether there is slightly bigger room, she said NO and ALL ROOM the same. I am sure the layout is difference in the better room as it is more square as I see the other room when I go past. 611 is in the corner and very odd shape.. This Hotel make me think to discontinue my Accor Advantage Plus membership.
Furthermore, there is no tooth brush, slipper etc.... As I am seldom to Sydney but this is one of the worst 4 star Hotel I have even stayed !!!

Room Tip: Corner room is very small. Avoid it all.. If you are AAP .. do not show it or you will be hurt !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Optimus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear guest from Kuala Lumpur,

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. I am very disappointed to read that you did not have an ideal stay at Mercure Sydney. I am also concerned that as an Advantage Plus member you feel you did not receive quality service.

I’d certainly be interesting in discussing this stay with you further. If convenient please contact the hotel (our number is on our website) and ask to speak to myself.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,048 - 3,052 of 4,931 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

basic hotel.... only grace it has a central location right next to the central station and a quick taxi ride to darling harbour. ....bathrooms are old and dated....concierge was very helpful..... the hotel shop is cheaper than the seven eleven and the grocery store next door ...so get your supplies of coke and crisps from here...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richagupta_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear guest from Noida,

Thanks for your feedback. I was pleased to read you had a pleasant overall stay, enjoyed our location and recived good service from the concierge.

Regarding your comments about the bathrooms, I can confirm that all guest rooms and bathrooms are being updated and we are excited about showing our guests the new faciltities. I do appreciate the time you have taken to provide feedback in this area.

We hope to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Hotel was used as an overnight before a morning flight. Staff great, good shuttle, room above my usual standard but the price was low (I think there was a sale on), Wifi in lobby but you have to pay in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear guest from Canada,

Thanks for your positive feedback. I was delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel was very clean and comfortable but the standard rooms are rather small and glad I only was there one night. I shared with a girlfriend and the bed was very comfortable and the location was great - close to China Town, the Markets and not far to Oxford street.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natsfats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Basically a cheap businessmans hotel. I was surprised to find an Accor hotel with such poor cleanliness standards given my experience with this group in the past. Rooms are small and outdated, hallways looked like they had not been vacumed for quite a while. The only bright spots were the buffet breakfast and the service received from the concierge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear guest from Noosa,

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. I was disappointed to read that you did not have an ideal experience at Mercure Sydney.

I can confirm that we are updating all guest rooms and bathrooms which will make our guest experience even more comfortable.

I’d be interesting in discussing this stay with you further. If convenient please contact the hotel (our number is on our website) and ask to speak to myself.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 179 in Sydney
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 179 in Sydney
5,167 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 9,182 - ₹ 20,506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing