We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Sydney Central”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #63 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
A TripAdvisor Member
“Mercure Sydney Central”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel is located in China town close to the universities and right beside central station which makes travel by public transit very easy within the city and to suburbs of Sydney.
The food in the area was excellent with many different ethnic restaurants to chose from. The hotel front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating. The concierge service was hit or miss depening who was on staff.
The rooms, lobby and restaurant were clean and had everything you would expect. The internet fees were $5/half hour or $10/hour. They also have a 24 hour option.
The tv bill viewing option was not always correct, but when questioned at the front desk corrections were made as needed....so check your bill when you check out. We were there for 9 nights so when the charges add up you need to be diligent when reviewing your bill.
We had some issue with the TV not working properly, this was promptly attended to. We also had to request our luggage to brought to our room after we were told it would be waiting for us. Minor things overall.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear guest from Hamilton

Thanks for your feedback. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our location convenient. While I am disappointed that you had an issue with your TV, TV bill and luggage, I am very pleased that our excellent staff were able to quickly resolve the problem.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,393
    2,275
    863
    189
    115
See reviews for
1,293
1,502
548
992
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Close to Central Station - so suited us going to the Australia Technology Centre in Redfern - was walking distance.
Reception was nice - polite staff and easy check in.
Room was small but adequate - but then the problems started:
1. Dirty flannel in the bathroom
2. Shower curtain (my pet hate) - with no fan to equalise the pressure. This meant constant battle with the curtain while trying to wash myself in a shower that was not adjustable.
3. Sheets too small (this one seems to haunt me wherever I go - why on earth don't they get sheets big enough for the beds?).
4. Internet was A$22 p/day - too expensive with free wi-fi across the road at McDonalds
5. Advertised pillow selection didn't pan out - there were none of the ones we wanted left.

Also, the decor was dated and the cupboards were cheap and didn't quite fit together.

Not a generous place. Barely adequate for a short business trip. The good thing was that it was sound proof is such a busy location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedGoodCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear guest from Auckland,

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location and received a good service from our friendly staff. I am, however disappointed to hear that you faced some issues during our stay. It is certainly not the standard of service that we aim to provide to our guest.

If convenient, I would like to speak with you further about your stay. Please contact the hotel directly (our phone number is on our website) and ask to speak with myself.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We regulary use this hotel both for work and pleasure. The location is great - just a short walk ot China Town and not much furhter into the CBD. The parking cost is very reasonable, although it does tend to fill up very quickly. On a whole this is a clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpkin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear guest from Bathurst,

Thanks for your positive feedback at TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you have stayed with us on multiple occasions for both work and leisure. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location and parking facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 179 in Sydney
1,282 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#99 of 179 in Sydney
4,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,142 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#18 of 179 in Sydney
5,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Property: Mercure Sydney
Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,902 - ₹ 17,130
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing