We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #28 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The InterContinental Hotel is ideally located for access to the Opera House and Circular Quay area. Easy to get to other parts of town either by walking or using the monorail. Try to get a room on as high a floor as possible as this makes a big difference to the view. We had a harbour view room which was lovely. Wonderful view of the Botanical Gardens and possible to see the Opera House. Note that the Club Lounge is only accessible to customers who book a Club Room. The other bar area is on the ground floor and is internal. We went to the Shangri-La to get a cocktail in a bar with a fantastic view of the Harbour Bridge. The room in the InterContinental was very good. Nice and spacious with a comfortable bed and a lovely windowseat for maximising opportunities to admire the view. It is worth using the black-out blinds provided as this makes a big difference to sleep quality. The only slightly strange thing is the window between the bathroom and bedroom. Great if you want to look at the view while cleaning your teeth - but it makes the bathroom less private than it might be.
The food in Cafe Opera was excellent and service attentive. There is a choice of a large buffet or a la carte menu. The "special" meal in Etch was disappointing - all a bit pretentious.
Overall we had a great stay at the InterContinental Sydney and would recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Get a room on as high a floor as possible to maximise the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear 1C2,

Thank you very much for your review.

InterContinental Sydney certainly is extremely lucky to be situated with everything a visitor needs close by! Our beautiful city has so much to offer and we are in the best position for it.

You are right, we do have very comfortable beds and the window seat to admire the lovely view is an enjoyable feature. Be sure to purchase a Club room next time as it does have one of the best views in Sydney! All of our guests believe it is definitely worth the extra money to stay in a Club room, in order to make the most of such a great view and facility.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Sydney again in the future.

Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,470 - 3,474 of 4,556 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Almost impossible to be closer to the Opera House, the Circular Quay and the gardens. Clean, of age but contemporary, deluxe rooms of a fair size and ours had a view on the harbour which was really nice to look at. Our flight got in really early, nothing was offer to relax and unwind a bit before hitting the town, in our traveling clothes, while waiting for our room. The front desk staff was professional but not welcoming that much. It was to be our first encounter with the rather cold and distant Austalians ( to our great surprise!). Room service was prompt, and prices are actually not so bad given that Australia in general is outragously expensive. Breakfast buffet is exceptional and good. The bar however is a pity...getting a drink there seemed to bother the staff. Each time, we had to ask to be served, and still, it took quite a while to be served with a place almost empty. Guess why? One big problem: air conditioning is hard to control. It is on or off, at different speed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pourvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Biggest complaint is they hardly take care of their frequent guests unless you pay for their Ambassador program. Over the years i've stayed at this hotel for months and I am a gold member. They hardly ever upgrade me with out a big hassle. I don't feel at all like they take care of repeat guests regardless of status unless they pay for ambassador. I find it outrageous that someone who buys ambassador and may have stayed 1 night gets a better room over someone who's paid for 30, 40, 50 nights or more.

In addition in my opinion InterContinental's loyalty program totally SUCKS. You get the same amount of points per stay whether you stay 1 night or 1 months. Ridiculous... I feel that SPG, Marriott, Hyatt or Hilton does a way better job taking care of frequent guests.

Room Tip: Pay for Ambassador program and they'll treat you better than all their frequent guests. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Craig P,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear you are not happy with our rewards program. There are alot of ways you can earn points to go up in status. Please visit the Priority Club website to find out about promotions and partnerships to get the most out of the program.

Thanks again,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here for 1 night when we saw Burt Bacharac @ the Opera House last Saturday.

It's probably the best hotel to stay in due to it's close proximity to the opera house (500 metres). We upgraded our room to a club access room which offers complimentary canapé's & wine between 5 & 7pm. Again, perfect when you're seeing a show starting at 8pm.

The Club: Oh my god. The view over the harbour is amazing. I've been in many hotel "clubs", but this beats most of them on view/service & quality of wine. The food was above average, but nothing to get crazy about. We sat outside looking east over the harbour & eastern suburbs. Our wine was continually topped up as we sat there. In fact staff service both for evening canapé's & breakfast was impeccable.

The Room: OK, it's 5 star, yes. But the rooms are a little tired. Older air conditioning units, slightly spooky wallpaper and small bathrooms. They are doing their best without doing a full re-model, and if my wife reads this she'll say I'm being picky, and the rooms are just fine.

The Lobby: This is why my wife loves the hotel. Sandstone, old style elevators, massive atrium, it's got a lot of character, and if you're an overseas traveller, you'll certainly feel you're having a uniquely Sydney/Australia experience.

Room Tip: Go for a harbour view room up as high as possible. Or if they only have city view rooms, ask for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Semisential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife and i stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon in 2008. Princess Cruises put us up in this hotel for the first three days before our cruise left port. Hotel was huge and well laid out with all the room on the outside of the bldg and service rooms and elevators on the inside core, so all the rooms have great views of either the city or the harbor. Unfortunately, at the time we stayed there, the pool on the top floor was closed for renovations, but it did not impact our trip at all. Overall, the hotel is a great place to stay and was conveniently located to everything. The Opera House was just down the hill and the botanical gardens across the street. The Quay was also just down the block with an easy staircase taking you right to the Quay.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view if at all possible, city view is nice, but the harbor view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disneyguy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#36 of 181 in Sydney
6,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 181 in Sydney
4,637 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 181 in Sydney
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 9,641 - ₹ 26,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing