We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #30 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
QLD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We will return”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I recently stayed a couple of nights at the Four Seasons Hotel The Rocks Sydney. My memories of our stay are, outstanding customer service, and beds and pillows to die for. The staff don't only provide you with amazing attention, they genuinely look like they are pleased to do this. I can't speak more highly of this place and will be regular customers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ester86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,026
    1,379
    610
    206
    134
See reviews for
771
2,584
317
1,041
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

While my first impressions of the hotel is of a very well run and presented space I am deeply dissatisfied after two episodes that I wish to share.

On my first day at the hotel I had an episode of bleeding while sleeping. This resulted in an approximate 10cm pool of blood staining the comforter in my room. By the morning this had dried so I placed it clearly in the middle of the bed so it could be addressed by the room cleaning staff that day.

As expected my room was cleaned and I was happy to see that there was now no longer dried blood on my comforter.

Before sleep I took the comforter off my bed and was deeply disturbed to see that in fact the stain was still present. The cleaning staff had simply flipped the comforter over to hide the stain.

As a medical practitioner I am aghast. Your cleaning staff have not only failed to address a significant biological risk, they have also deceptively hidden the stain rather then change the linen.

This leaves me with an impression that the staff who cleaned my room were simply “going through the motions” and makes me seriously wonder about the state of the rest of the room, i.e. were the drinking glasses in the bathroom changed? I dread to think what other risks I may have been exposed to by the negligence of staff.

The second episode of concern was while I was in the breakfast room I attempted to ask a male staff member “M..l” a question. In response he was curt, pointed directly at where my table was and told me in a voice loud enough to be heard by patrons seated near me “Go over there and wait. I’ll get to you later.”.

I stood there in shock. The people seated near looked up also confused. His tone was extremely rude and condescending. I felt embarrassed, scalded like a 5 year old boy.

I went back to my seat and about 10 minutes later M.. returned and just stated “so what do you want?”. There was no apology, no “sir I was busy and sorry I could not answer your question, how can I help?”. Just a rude, condescending attempt to get my inquiry dealt with.

Thankfully my request was filled however my impression was greatly marred by feelings of anger and embarrassment from how I felt treated. A waitress asked if everything was ok and I explained no, I was not happy and enquired who the manager was. She said it was M..l to which I said please don’t worry about this I will deal with it later.

This request was not complied with and M.. again returned. I stated that my problem was with him and how he had treated my request so I would prefer not to deal with him. Again he was flat and rude stating that if he was not good enough then I always had the option to take it up with the duty manager.

This was the option I took up.

After breakfast I requested to speak with the manager to deal with both of these issues.
The lady I spoke with was polite and offered an appearance of genuine concerned about both issues.

While she took onboard that there were two important issues that needed to be addressed she failed to acknowledge that there was also a customer who had gone out of his way to express his frustration, sadness and dissatisfaction with his purchase of accommodation at the hotel.

I am not fully convinced that the manager took on board the gravity of the significant biological risk of allowing people to sleep on body fluid stained linen.
I am not fully convinced that the manager took on board the extreme feeling of embarrassment from the treatment of the restaurant staff member.
The manager absolutely did not appreciate how I felt as a customer having been treated disrespectfully by staff of the hotel she represented.

Sadly I never received a genuine apology, I was not reassured that these events were clearly not standard for The Four Seasons and at no point was any form of welcome back or restitution offered.

While having poor customer service and health standards addressed were important to me, having my own disappointment acknowledged and some form of “we are genuinely sorry and would love to have you return for an experience free of these episodes” were never made.

When I checked out of the hotel there was no “we are sorry you had a bad stay”. I had to request feed back was from the manager about our earlier conversation. At this point she took no time to help reinforce the brand or a sincere wish for me to have a repeat stay at any time in the future.

As an American Express fine resort I feel The Four Seasons did not met their end of the customer care I would expect.


Have I expected too much or is there a genuine lack of concern for the overall impression the customers have once their money has been banked?
I hope that this review may help towards having my extreme dissatisfaction addressed and prevent similar situations for others.

Room Tip: May I suggest asking for a room that has actually been cleaned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gefsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your experiences and also the follow up phone calls and correspondence that we have had.
Your next stay is confirmed and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in a couple of weeks when I am sure you will have a wonderful stay and experience the service that Four Seasons is renown for providing.
Sincerely
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Decided to switch here as regular business hotel. First stay, two nights, did not clean room until asked after first night, after 2pm in afternoon. Took 4 requests to get laundry back more than 24 hours after it was submitted. Room service breakfast was $40 for dry scrambled eggs half cooked smoked salmon, not sure why cooked? For $330 per night....poor poor value...had better experiences in regional Australia... Nice view...small room.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank EasygoingAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for passing on your feedback and the extra information we have discussed "offline".
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel this week. when I am certain we will exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
199 George Street
SYDNEY NSW 2000
Australia
Tel: (61 2) 9250 3302
Fax:(61 2) 9251 2851
Email: david.macklin@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Had an absolutely amazing time.
My partner is currently in the army so we have to travel alot to see eachother, at the moment he is based in southern Nsw and myself in Brisbane, so the easiest place for us to meet is Sydney.
The Four Seasons provided the perfect enviroment for us to be reunited after such a long time apart. It was romantic, luxurious and the staff were absolutely wonderful. Not to mention the best part, for such a high class experience you have to expect to pay top dollar, yet it was quite a good price ! In comparison to other five star hotels on George Street it was up to $300 cheaper and just as amazing !

Absolutely loved it, we never wanted to leave!
I was ready to move in!
And the beds, THE BEST BED I'VE EVER SLEPT IT, heaven !
Will be returning for certain !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We've been to Sydney many times but this was the first time at Four Seasons. The main purpose of our stay was shopping and the hotel is a comfortable 15 minute walk to Westfields and the heart of the City. Also close to Darling Harbour, Opera House and the other tourist attractions.

The hotel is grand with a large entrance, reception and bar area and whilst probably about 20 years old it is in good nick although some areas are getting close to needing a refurb.

We had a premier room on the 9th floor with city and harbor views. The room was very large with a great bathroom, walk-in wardrobe and large flat screen TV - we couldn't ask for more. The view was disappointing though as the city view was a office building across the street and whilst we could see the Opera House from the other window (it was a corner room) we weren't high enough to enjoy it. I asked to be moved but the hotel was full and i also complained on checkout. The manager saw us and was extremely good about it and promised a higher room next time.

The breakfast was as good as you can get with a huge choice in pleasant surroundings with a man playing the piano in the background.

The gym was well-equipped and the outdoor pool and spa looked inviting.

The service from the reception to the bar, to the waitresses, to the manager was faultless and their clearly is a great staff culture in the hotel. Certainly one of the best I have experienced ever.

Without hesitation I would stay here again and the only reason I'm not rating it 5 out of 5 is the view we had.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,191 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,205 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,705 - ₹ 42,692
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing