We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stay in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Establishment Hotel
Ranked #72 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A perfect stay in Sydney”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed here as a bit of a treat for our first few days in Sydney and certainly weren't disappointed. The location, service and room all exceeded our expectations - the hotel is situated a short walk away from both Darling Harbour & Circular Quay as well as the main shopping areas in the city so we were never far from anything to do, see or places to eat and drink. The hotel staff were excellent also, from front desk to service staff. However where the hotel scores highest for us is with its style and it's massive suite-style rooms. The hotel lobby is very cool and links in to one of the bars and everything looks spot-on! The room that we stayed in was immaculate - probably the biggest room we've ever stayed in with a huge, very comfortable bed. We'd read reviews on here that the rooms suffered from being really noisy due to the proximity of the hotel's asscoiated bars and club but, considering we were staying on a Friday and Saturday night and the fact that I'm a very light sleeper, we found it not to be a problem (they do also provide ear plugs if necessary).
The daily supply of fresh cookies to the room is also a nice touch and we left the hotel feeling well rested having had a whirlwind few weeks travelling across Australia. We would thoroughly recommend staying @ Establishment - an exceptional hotel in a fantastic city!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markinsuffolk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    121
    39
    21
    12
See reviews for
16
199
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braidwood
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

A luxury place to stay right in the centre of Sydney. Exceptional service, modern spacious rooms with iPads, movies and lots of comfort.
This small hotel has a nightclub which is good to dance the night away and if you don't like that there is an exceptional restaurant or a cost bar to share a drink.
As well this holyel is housed in an historic building. Great for a luxury getaway.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not next to the nightclub atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braidcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The Establishment is a place where the young people of the city rub shoulders and drink martinis. The rooms are good size and reasonably priced. A selection of good restaurants within the hotel as well. Some decent sushi.

I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: The bigger the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared_C_OBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Everything about this hotel exudes coolness. The suites are the epitome of modern design in Sydney. The bars and restaurants in the complex are terrific. Even the hotel service is a little cool, not much warmth but it seems to suit the somewhat detached feeling of the place. I had originally titled this review "Style over Substance" but subsequently saw it has recently been used by another reviewer. If you do it well enough, style may well suffice and it does here. Those looking for a more pampered style of service may need to look elsewhere. The only uncool aspect for me was the dingy lane the main entrance to the hotel is situated in.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahkityoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The establishment markets itself as a boutique alternative hotel and that's exactly what we found. It's not a standard generic 5 star hotel, the setting is unique and the rooms certainly different. The staff fit the image with a very competent and interested approach, there is a confident attitude, but I will take that any day over the gushing blandness of the major chains. We had a great stay, loved the uniqueness of the room. My wife enjoyed the room service and the help with the IPad and apple tv. We found the restaurants great and will eat at EST any time we can. As hotel guests we had access to the nightclubs and bars, on the Saturday night the ability to jump the queues for our party of 6 was almost worth the hotel cost itself.
Perhaps it's not the quietest room in town, but we didn't notice it to be that bad.
Will we stay again - yes. Is it my favorite hotel in Sydney -? Not sure. It's very different to the quay grand which is my usual favorite, but the establishment is unique unusual and exactly what it markets itself as.

Room Tip: Personally loved the black decor rooms. Stayed in the establishment room. A little more but worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#70 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Establishment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Establishment Hotel

Property: Establishment Hotel
Address: 5 Bridge Lane, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,841 - ₹ 23,156
Hotel Class:5 star — Establishment Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel, with a uniquely intimate feel.31 elegantly appointed guest rooms, including two stylish Penthouse suites, access to a private gym and Establishment’s numerous bars and restaurants. Establishment hotel offers world class accommodation for discerning travellers. Located in the middle of Sydney’s CBD, it’s a very short walk to Sydney Harbour, the Opera House and botanical gardens.Voted Best Boutique Hotel Accommodation in Australia by the National Australia Hotel Association in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Establishment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Establishment Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing