We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“New Years Eve Nightmare” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DeVere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DeVere Hotel
Ranked #140 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Nightmare”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel for a week over New Years Eve. It was one of the only hotels we could find as we booked 3 months in advance. Staying here was a mistake. It was the most expensive hotel of our trip due to the time of the year, and it was a dump. Firstly, we found a live cockroach in our room that I killed. As I was leaving my room the next morning I informed the night manager that the cockroach was there, and that not only did it need to be removed, but we needed to discuss this issue. When we returned from our day activities, it was still there!!! Then, there was the day that they didn't give us clean bath towels, and when I asked for towels I was told the hotel ran out. What type of hotel runs out of towels? When I asked the manager about towels, he told me if I expected better service I should have stayed a better hotel. So, I'm passing along his advice. Stay at a better hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    177
    158
    61
    58
See reviews for
67
171
105
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Not our favourite hotel on our 5 week Australian trip, but adequate. Although we used tripadvisor to find the best deal on-line it was the most expensive, and not the best hotel we stayed at. We heard cheaper rates being quoted on the phone by reception staff. However, Potts Point is a very attractive area with good restaurants, cafes for breakfast and with a reasonable bus service to the City centre. It took us 45 minutes to walk to the Opera House past Wooloomooroo and through the Botanic Gardens which is very pleasant. Room was basic, small with a tiny window overlooking the adjacent property.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_MrsB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

A little bit expensive might because of the Xmas period but very good location,tidy, and double bedroom

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arashPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I have never been to Sydney, and was shocked at the price of accommodation. The Devere Hotel was the cheapest one I could find. It is not quite centrally located, but is in an interesting area, about a 40 minute walk from town, or a $12 taxi, opposite a Supermarket, a chemist and the bus stops right outside!
The cleanliness was adequate, but there was room for improvement. The linen needs urgently updating! The rooms are very dated, and there is a jug but no toaster, plates or knives in them. However, there are several cheap places to eat nearby, and we just bought bread and cheese from the supermarket. The staff were helpful and courteous, but the internet is slow and awkward to use. They will hold your bags, and organise a shuttle for you if you ask, no charge.
The biggest annoyance was the sporadic hot water- the plumbing is clearly old, and there is not an adequate supply for all the rooms.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, and ask for a quiet room away from the lift. If you need to leave early, have a sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiKid112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Lowest room rate on average among other 3 stars hotels in Sydney; basic kitchen included in the guest room, so one can buy food from supermarket and cook in the room; friendly and helpful staff; however, could not sleep well due to bed bugs; many pubs and discos in walking distance along Macleay Street; just opposite to Woolworths where one can almost fulfill the daily needs.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#123 of 179 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#100 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Y Hotel City South
#113 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#132 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#127 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeVere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeVere Hotel

Property: DeVere Hotel
Address: 44 - 46 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,765 - ₹ 15,217
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DeVere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 5-story Hotel located 500 meters from Kings Cross Station, within walking distance of shops, restaurants & nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your DeVere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing