We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With a view to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“With a view to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We booked a night at one of the executive grand harbour view rooms to celebrate the end of my post-grad exam and walking into the room was a sensational experience. We simply loved the view we stayed late at night and got up early in the morning to soak it all in. The king-bed was directly in front of the Opera House and the small sitting area from where the hallway inside the room leads to gave you a superb view of the Harbour Bridge. The window was however huge enough that you got great view of both iconic sights wherever you stood.

The bathroom has virtually anything you really need. And ambient lighting was amazing, adding on to the already fantastic atmosphere in the room.

We had great service with valet parking, the charges of which was reasonable.

We really have nothing to complain about this room. Everything was superb as it was meant to be for any 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkl615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,600
    1,529
    550
    256
    153
See reviews for
890
3,110
287
976
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,736)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Outstanding. Great service on check-in , after an early morning long flight from Perth. I was upgraded to an Opera House view room. The hotel was beautiful, and in the heart of the Circular Quay area. An easy walk to The Rocks, and just off George Street. Very comfortable bed, and lovely room. Pleasant toiletries, and a great relaxing bath. The speakers in the bathroom were a nice touch, so you could still listen to the tv. I appreciated the separate desk area, from which I actually didn't mind working. I checked out the view from the level 36 bar which looked stunning. The bar was busy with quite a buzz on a Thursday night. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, Delicious coffee, and such a selection of food! I was very happy with the chorizo scrambled eggs, with sides of mushrooms, hash browns, and pastries.This was a delightful stay all round.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triptravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

What a wonderful experience.

I had one night in Sydney so I thought I would treat myself to a nice hotel up at The Rocks. Check-in was effortless and I was very pleased with the room when I arrived. I chose this partly because of the room size, the bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms I have stayed in.

The bed was huge, very comfy with lots of pillows to chose from, ideal to let you sit up in bed and watch TV or read. The bathroom was enormous, my wife would probably have stayed in there for a whole weekend, there was a separate bath and shower on opposite sides on the room with a large sink and mirror unit in the middle, I did like the speakers in the bathroom to continue listening to the radio whilst I had a shower and got ready. Everything looked fairly new and worked perfectly, loads of hot water immediately.

I didn't quite work out the air-con / heating and was a bit chilly but there were big fluffy bathrobes and slippers so it really didn't matter plus maybe saved a couple of ozones along the way. There was a desk squeezed in the corner but it was perfectly adequate with good lighting plus several power points and internet.

Coffee and tea in abundance, I didn't go for the minibar but it was well stocked.

Loads of storage wherever you looked, I would have needed a couple more suitcases to fill all of them. Safe was easy to use and handily located.

Great padded window ledge with cushions, so basically you could sit on the very wide window ledge and stare at the view in comfort, the only drawback being the Four Seasons hotel next door and looking straight into their rooms.

A very nice touch, I popped out for an hour and when I returned the curtains were drawn, the bed had been folded back plus the bath mats laid out etc, I felt very welcome even though a long way from home.

Five minutes walk to The Rocks, ferries, views, restaurants, museums, sunday markets and whatever else you wanted to find.

Room Tip: Opera House City View Room. The hotel is square in shape with the flat front facing the bridge and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinandJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

I had a room on the 29th floor with amazing north facing views. My room was immaculate. Spacious. The buffet was excellent for lunch on level 1. The bathroom had both shower and bath. The meeting rooms we're great. There is nothing but good things to say about this hotel. The bed was comfortable as well.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummydolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I've just celebrated my wedding anniversary with a stay at the Shangri la and an evening at the Altitude restaurant.

We were really tempted to stay at the Park Hyatt in Sydney to see what the renovations were like. I'd read some disappointing reviews on here regarding the views at the Shangri la and quality of room. But, the Horizon club and the Altitude restaurant tipped the balance in favour of the Shangri la. I'm really pleased with the result.

We arrived at floor 30 of the Horizon club to a warm and professional greeting, our bags were moved to our room while we enjoyed afternoon tea in the Horizon club. By paying extra for this meant that we didn't have to worry about the queues for breakfast and we also enjoyed the 'cocktail hour too'. Admittedly, some people needed to wait for a table during the cocktail hour but I don't think it was for too long.

Our room was great. It was large and had a wonderful view of the harbour.

Our evening at the Altitude restaurant was also wonderful with great attentive staff and really enjoyable food.

Room Tip: I'm not sure how much upgrading to the Horizon club changed our experience. But, if your there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,354 - ₹ 30,403
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing