We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfiest bed and best view in Oz!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfiest bed and best view in Oz!”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

After 30 hours en route from the UK we arrived at the Shangri La. Woke up the next morning to the sun rising over the Opera House. Wow!!!! After a road trip we returned to the Shangri La some weeks later and can confirm that the beds are the comfiest in the whole of Oz. The location is great, close to Circular Quay and the Rocks, although the short walk back up the hill to the hotel is a bit of a chore. We ate one night at the restaurant on the 36th Floor - it was the best meal we had in Australia. If we can ever afford to go back to Australia we will definitely revisit the Shangri La.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,597
    1,525
    550
    256
    153
See reviews for
890
3,105
285
976
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,736)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We are a family of six and stayed at the Shangrila   hotel Sydney for 10 days between the 27th of April and 6th of May. During our stay we occupied two rooms.
The accommodation was good and the food at the altitude restuarant the hotels flagship restuarant  was absolutely  amazing. The rooms have great views of Sydney harbour and all in all the facilities are  good. 
We  paid for our accomodation in advance and made  use of the hotels parking facilities to park our vehicle.
However during our stay we were humiliated by the hotel. 
 On returning to the hotel one afternoon my daughters were denied access to their room. There key cards had been deactivated.
The reason being that we had exceeded the amount held by the hotel on my credit card ie restuarant and room service charges.  My daughters could only get access once I had produced my credit card. I produced my credit card and the matter was resolved.

Did the hotel think we were going to abscond without paying,  even though we had a vehicle in the basement had paid in advance and the hotel did have my credit card details! Surely it is illegal to do something like this, how could they lock my daughters out of their room considering that my daughters jewelry, clothing, laptops, video cameras and other valuables in the room they were being locked out of? This is so disgusting.

The staff treated my daughters like criminals. Was this because they were young women. Surely they could have handled the situation better. If my wife and I were not returning until the next day our daughters would have been locked out of their room stuck in a strange city with nowhere to go.

 When I complained to the staff I was told that messages were sent to me explaining the position. I challenged the staff as I check hotel messages every morning and evening and there were none and I was unable to access my bill through any of the hotels communication ports ie TV and phone.

I find this treatment unacceptable. 
This was a deprivation of liberty.
We have stayed in hotels throughout the world and have never been treated in such a disgraceful and  humiliating  manner.

This kind of treatment may in fact,  be acceptable to the hotel. I expressed my dissapointment to the hotel management and they  responded with an apology left on the room telephone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank garygarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed at Shangri La in sydney for 2 nights on our wedding night and the night after. Nothing was too hard for the staff and it was a lovely way to end our wedding day! The buffet breakfast is amazing also! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccadicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

What a great hotel! We stayed 2 nights in April and asked for a room with "Grand Harbour View" We certainly got it.The Opera House to the right, the bridge to the left. The room was spacious with two massive double beds. Everything was clean. The breakfast was great-everything you could want. Fair enough, the room with breakfast was not the cheapest-$405 per night, but for a special treat it was excellent. The service was good, from the receptionist to the waiters.Also in excellent posiition for the Rocks and Circular Quay.We could not fault it!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floors to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafflesManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We booked an "Executive Grand Harbour View Suite" (twin share) at Shangri-La for a girlie weekend away. When we arrived, we were treated to sensational valet service and friendly faces. Upon check-in we were upgraded to the "Governor Suite" - It was AMAZING! Pure elegance. Throughout the weekend we were treated to complimentary snacks and drinks including high tea in the afternoon and canapés in the evening. During our stay we decided to treat ourselves to the day spa which was also perfection. The girls working there were thorough, friendly and very professional. The Day Spa itself was also beautifully decorated, with an extremely tranquil, warm ambiance. We were always treated like VIP's, and given the highest level of customer service. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who expects personalised, high level customer service as well as elegance and luxury.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,138 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,282 - ₹ 30,126
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing