We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Handy location but that was the only good thing about it.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #151 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Handy location but that was the only good thing about it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights to attend 3 day event at Sydney Entertainment Centre.All the hotels increase their prices as it is an annual event. Booked a Family Room. Room was smaller than most regular hotel rooms it contained double and single bed. Room looked as though it needed refirbishment. Advertised as having bath but was not full size. Toilet roll holder not fitted to wall properly. Staff were not overly friendly or helpful and buffet breakfast only had minimal amount of choice and very slow to replenish. $2 per item if you need to store luggage

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMW31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    119
    172
    89
    81
See reviews for
84
144
55
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

tiny room, dirty carpet, old furniture, not cozy at all. I asked for a quiet room as i have read some review saying it can get quite noisy at night, and don't expect to sleep until 2am. turned out the quieter side is quiet, but because it's facing the exhaust vent of the kitchen, you don't get fresh smell air. the staff are not very warm. they don't greet you when you come back or go out. they didn't inform me the extra charge when I gave them my credit card. when i read it on the form he asked me to sign, my card was already charged. :( the only thing good about this hotel is it's location. it's close to Chinatown, close to food court, restaurants, Darling harbor, supermarket, bus stops, light rail, mono rail, and central station. the internet is not free, 50C per minute, or $20 a day. i brought my own pocket wifi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyciliayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights in early February. The only positive thing I have to say about the Capital Square Hotel is that its location is good. Other than that there really isn't much to recommend it.

The hotel is shabby and run-down. There seems no obvious attempt by the owners/management to undertake regular maintenance that would make it a pleasant budget-priced hotel to stay in. We stayed here four to five years ago and the overall condition of the hotel has deteriorated.

Housekeeping is sub-standard. We were supplied with dirty towels, and our rooms weren't cleaned properly - we found items from the previous occupants on the floor of our room. One day we came back to our room late in the afternoon & it wasn't made up. When I complained about this I was told that the rooms of guests already checked into the hotel weren't cleaned until after 2pm. While I understand there is a focus on readying rooms for incoming guests, I've never come back to a room after 4pm, while staying at other hotels, to find it unmade.

The reception staff are either not trained or under-trained and treat hotel guests with disdain & disrespect. I was lied to on several occasions by the reception staff in relation to room-related issues requiring attention - including what was being done to address the issues & the whereabouts of the manager.

We had to move rooms twice due in response to problems with them. The first room we were checked into was full of mosquitoes, the second room we were placed in was on George Street and extremely noisy.

While we were offered a discount on one nights stay, even this was problematic as the staff member didn't apply it correctly the first time, another refund had to be issued and the discount applied again.

Even on leaving, the lack of care about customer service and experience was apparent. We asked to check our bags at reception while we collected our rental car, a short 15 min walk away. We were told it would cost $2.00 per bag.

Overall, it was not a pleasant stay and we were glad to leave. As I said earlier, staying in budget accommodation doesn't have to be a disappointing experience. However, staying at Capital Square Hotel was. We won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the George Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank queenotisblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed here for one night in December and whilst I wouldn't recommend it for more than a night or two, it is very good value if all you want is a bed to sleep in. No room service or in-room food preparation facilities, and the restaurant only being open for breakfast means that you are fending for yourself for most meals but there are some very good choices to dine out in easy walking distance, and the monorail is only one street away if you want to venture out but don't want sore feet when you get back. Had an issue with my key when I first arrived (it wouldn't unlock the door) but the staff were more than happy to help. All in all, a reasonable quality stay at a reasonable budget.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladia2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

When I check in my room in February this year, it looked as if a thunderstorm had passed through it. The carpet was filled with stains and resembled a drug den. Totally awful and the staff do not seem to care a bit that their hotel's reputation is bad. They take no initiative and the room had a bad smell as if the last person had actually smoked there! Bloody disgraceful, I know I will never return and advise others to stay the hell away!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vermilion777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
BreakFree on George
BreakFree on George
#83 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#88 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#75 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Square Hotel

Property: Capitol Square Hotel
Address: 3 Campbell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,003 - ₹ 14,572
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney's best value economy hotel is ideally located within Sydney’s CBD with a range of attractions at our doorstep. We are a 3 star rated property, conveniently located adjacent to The Capitol Theatre complex.We are also just a short walk from Darling Harbour, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central Station and China Town. Our comfortably appointed rooms will ensure you enjoy your accommodation whilst in the Harbour City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Square Sydney
Hotel Capitol Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing