We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for work, but not sure i would stay if i was on holiday”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #41 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great location, good service, seems to be set up for business travellers

The rooms are not big but well presented out and to a high quality, breakfast and internet were expensive

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crosscountrykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and whilst our breakfast and internet charges are in line with other five star hotels in the area, we have taken on board your comments and truly appreciate your feedback.

Thank you once again and I do hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,441 - 3,445 of 4,606 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

At the time of writing, it has been three stays at the Sydney Hilton. There is no denying that the room is small. The hotel's location is exceptionally good, just near Pitt St Mall, across the road from Queen Vic Building and a brief underground stroll to Town Hall Station. The room, while small are well very planned so that it still feels large enough as not be cramped. It is comfortable and inviting, with an excellent work desk. The bathroom is also well mapped out with a separate shower and bath (something I wouldn't expect in hotel room where space was at a premium). The staff have always been friendly and helpful. The gym/ pool/ sauna/ spa is run as a separate business but is an impressive set-up. I have no hesitation in staying at this property and, similarly, no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: It never matters what the hotel is, an upgraded room is always better than the basic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaxwellSmart86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback following your visits to Hilton Sydney and it is wonderful to read you were pleased with your experiences at our hotel.

We appreciate your time taken to share this review and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This hotel is not obvious ... especially when driving. Helpful and usual Hilton standards ... except the desk staff weren't really able to help me on the food front. I was checked in early, as usual for the Hilton and all services were excellent as usual.

Room Tip: go high - views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for visiting Hilton Sydney and for your review.

I was sorry to read that you had difficulty locating the hotel and have taken these comments on board.

However, it is always wonderful to see that our warm Hilton hospitality and service was well received and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Another great stay at the Hilton Sydney – still one of my favourites in Sydney. Great location on George/Pitt Street in the heart of the shopping and right opposite QVB and short walk to Darling Harbour. Normal rooms are pretty small, even by Sydney standards but high quality but on this stay I received a upgrade as part of my Hilton Honors Diamond membership to a massive King suite with amazing views, and just the best room. Breakfast is awesome here and even if you get it complimentary in the exec club I’d still suggest heading down to the main restaurant on at least one of your mornings here – it’s a fantastic buffet. All in all a great stay – as ever.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for a 'deluxe' or 'exec' room as they are almost ident...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

We are so fortunate to be situated in such a prime location and it is wonderful that you enjoyed your experience with us. Glass Breakfast is indeed a remarkable choice for breakfast!

Thank you again and I do hope we will see you return to Hilton Sydney soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Sydney Hilton from June 12-19. We had two rooms booked. We arrived at 8:30AM and were given two rooms right away. Matthew was working the front desk that day and he was very pleasant and very efficient.At the time of booking there were only king rooms available but we requested two twin rooms instead. We are HH gold members so they put us on the executive floor, with the executive lounge being only one floor down. The rooms were great, clean comfortable, the black out window shades remote from the bed were great! The cleaning staff was efficient everyday even coming by before 8:30 one morning while we were at breakfast. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was well equipped.
The executive lounge was excellent. We ate a hearty breakfast every morning before we set out on our sightseeing adventures of the day. We returned every night to the executive lounge for drinks and munchies. We usually had a late lunch while out, so a few drinks and the snacks provided were enough for dinner. We usually crashed very early every night anyway because our body clocks were on about an 8Pm -5AM sleep cycle, which actually worked out quite well since it is winter and it gets dark early anyway. I used the concierge service several times to ask questions or get directions and each time they were very friendly and knowledgeable. We did not use the gym, restaurant or bars in the hotel so I can not comment on that.
The location of the hotel is excellent. It is steps away from the train station, and there are also several bus stops right in front of the hotel. It is also an easy walk to Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, Hyde park and many other sights. We used public transportation to the hotel from the international terminal, getting the 400 bus at the airport to the Mascot station. At the Mascot station we took the train to town hall station. You can buy train tickets at the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keeptravlelingnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am delighted to read that you were pleased with Matthew’s service at Reception and he will be pleased to read your comments.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#18 of 179 in Sydney
2,016 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#74 of 179 in Sydney
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 179 in Sydney
3,300 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 11,827 - ₹ 38,277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing