We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
QT Sydney(Sydney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney(Sydney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (4,817)
Filter reviews
4,817 results
Traveller rating
2,333
1,567
586
203
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,333
1,567
586
203
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeglass brasserierelaxation suitediamond memberqueen victoria buildinghealth clubpillow menutown hall stationgeorge streetstandard roommini barbusiness tripdarling harbourbuffet breakfastcentral locationrooms are smallcorner room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,687 - 3,692 of 4,817 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, on business.
Good points:
1. Very good location
2. Easy access to public transport
3. Many restaurents nearby
4. Main attractions are a short train ride away

Not so good points:
1.Renovation work is going on, no information/warning about it given during reservation, work start at 6am and stops at 5pm. if anyone plan to take a nap at daytime, avoid this place.
2. Walls are very thin, you can hear what is going on in neighbouring rooms, not expected in a Hilton
3.If you need an electric adaptor, better buy it from woolworth, hotel will provide you one but they charged me A$30. was never charged for using an adaptor before
4. Lifts sometimes don't stop at your level, despite inserting cards in the lift slots. So, we had to change lift several times.

Overall, not worth of the money..

Room Tip: Stay here only after the renovation is completed, bring your own electric adaptor
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zux123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your comments following your visit to Hilton Sydney.

I am very sorry to read about your disappointing experience. Whilst we have endeavoured to notify guests through our website, I am sorry to advise that unfortunately we do not have any control over information displayed by third party websites.

With regards to the adaptor device, there is a charge involved however this is a deposit only and is released once the adaptor is returned upon check out. We sincerely apologise if this was not communicated to you at the time, and if the $30 charge was not removed from your bill, please contact us directly so that we can rectify the situation.

We are also currently looking into a new key card system for our elevators and we appreciate your feedback.

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed our location and I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in future, to experience one of our newly renovated guest rooms.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed at the Hilton over the Easter weekend and was happy with the stay. As per the other reviews, the standard room is a little on the small side, but everything was quite high quality. As per the other reviews also, there is some renovations going on, which on one of the morning was a little loud through the building, so definately whilst the renovations are ongoing, avoid the hotel if you are looking for dayrest. Once it is completed though, the blackout curtains etc were amazing.

Location is excellent, very central, easy walk to cockle bay and darling harbour areas etc. Seperate shower and bath, and nice large shower also. All in all what you would expect from a Hilton

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bristraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am glad you were satisfied with your visit to Hilton Sydney and that you were pleased with the quality of the hotel. Thank you for your understanding in relation to the refurbishment and I hope you will return again soon to experience our newly renovated guestrooms.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I have stayed at Hilton Sydney a number of times on business and have always enjoyed my stay.

You will not find a better location in the CBD. There is shopping and restaurants within stones throw and some funky bars within the complex. Zeta Bar has a great terrace looking out over the QV complex and I highly recommend the sangria there. It's a little pricey as any 5 star hotel is but worth it if you are holidaying.

All of the rooms I have stayed in here have been great, ranging from a standard room to the 1 bedroom king suites with separate living.

The staff at the hotel are always exceptional here and went to great lengths on one stay to return an item I had left behind. Great service is what makes 5 star hotels and this has it.

Anytime I go back to Sydney I want to stay at the Hilton becaus ei know it will be good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

We are indeed fortunate to be so centrally located and it is great to see that you enjoyed your overall experience with us.

We all look forward to your return should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Last time we were here, we were happy with everything and that is why we selected this hotel again in April 2012. However we realised that was a huge mistake.

1. Hotel is undertaking its renovation project. They started a construction at 7:30 am on Saturday (mind you, it was Easter weekend) Since then, constant disturbing drilling sound was continuing.

2. Soon, we called the lobby and the very kind staff member said "sorry the construction was supposed to start from 9:00am." We complained that it already commenced and woke us up on the weekend morning. She advised us noise will stop soon (and commence again at 9:00am...). She was nice but one thing she forgot to mention was this construction will continue till 5:00 pm...

3. Drilling sound stopped. However, hammering sound did not. Since we were extremely tired, we gave up and just went to sleep.

4. Around 9:20 am, (as promised) the work started again. In particular, this dental drilling sound was truly awful. We were quite frustrated and wanted to demand the room change as we did not know this sound was related to the renovation of the entire hotel.

Called the service again and ask when this would be finished. This time, the impolite staff member responded that this would be a whole day's work for the entire hotel. We were annoyed by this, since nobody advised us this was the case.

She was even ruder and said "the reception should have told you". We said this was our first time to hear it and she responded that "then you should have the note in the room". Of course, there was no such a thing. We were lost for words... we were not happy with the fact that no one actually informed us, but now we were blamed that we did not obtain any information from them........

We had planned to relax and enjoy the hotel (since we often visit Sydney).
We ended up with constant noise resulting in a stressful holiday.
Worst Easter that we have ever had.

Location, facilities in the room (including spa) and breakfast were fantastic.
Worst service from the staff, value and sleep quality you could expect from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback about your Easter stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am sorry to read of your disappointing experience and whilst it is not our intention to inconvenience our guests during this refurbishment process, it appears this was unfortunately the case during your weekend stay and we truly regret the disturbance caused.

With regards to the manner in which the situation was handled, I have shared your feedback with the department managers concerned who will certainly address the matter with their respective teams. We would also like to thank you for bringing this to our attention as it gives us indication of the areas which require improvement.

We would greatly appreciate if you could contact us directly so that we can address this issue in further detail.

Once again, thank you for your time and I do hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Nice Hotel in the centre of Sydney.The rooms were a bit small , before the renovation i styed ther and the rooms were bigger.

All the mod cons in the room, no complaints, just the size.

Club level ok, did have everything but no wow factor for me.

I was glad i stayed here just to try it out and compare it to the old one.

I have no complaints really good hotel in the centre of Sydney, but for me lacking something.

Staff were fine, and it is hard to find bad staff in the Chain Hotels i have stayed in, they do their best and try their best as far as i am concerned.

Go for a higher room and if you want space book a suite.

Room Tip: To be in the higher floors
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay.

We appreciate your comments and I am pleased you were satisfied with our overall service and location.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews