We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Magic is a bit tired”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Magic is a bit tired”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I've stayed at the Hilton Sydney a few times and it is a nice stable hotel in the heart of the city.

If I wrote this review last year I would have said the Hilton delivers the magic every time however now in 2012 I have to say the magic is not quite as good.

In fairness the hotel is under renovations again but for me this is a 5 star hotel and renovations or not attention to detail should always be there.

My room which is beautiful, wasn't presented to the exacting standards that you would expect from the Hilton. Ripped papers, not a complete set of toiletries and housekeeping ignoring the Do NOT Disturb light all added to a less than present first day.

With the attention to detail aside, the room and facilities are great. The bed is comfortable beyond belief, a huge selection of pillows for you to choose from, even the lead-in room is comfortable and spacious.

The bars, cafes and restaurants are all lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonsbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for providing us the opportunity to improve our service.

I am sorry to learn there were details not seen to during your stay and please rest assured your comments have been communicated to our Housekeeping department, to ensure no such reoccurrence.

However, I am delighted you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and I do hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,125
    1,478
    547
    191
    118
See reviews for
424
1,599
432
1,571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have stayed at the Sydney Hilton on a number of occasions and never been dissatisfied. They have an excellent Executive Lounge with friendly staff, variety of newspapers and extended operating hours. The rooms are very comfortable and being in the center of Sydney and close to the train system, getting to and from meetings is painless.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review.

It is pleasing to read that you were satisfied with our service and facilities, as well as our convenient location within Sydney's CBD.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have stayed several times, and the Hilton is consistent. A high standard of service,clean and comfortable rooms, no fuss. The gym is good, but it is a shame that it does not feel like it is realy part of the hotel. Some of the rowing machines move along the floor, so it is like you are rowing a real boat, albeit very slowly.

The rooms are nice, nothing spectacular, for the standard queen room. Quite businesslike, with a glass desk, office chair and writing materials. Muted brown tones, no real flair. The TV in the shower feels a little pointless to me, and you need the volume quite high to hear it over the sound of the shower.

If you are looking for a hotel that will look after you and let you get on with whatever you do, this is it. Worth a visit for business.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay.

I am so glad you found the hotel suitable for your business needs and that you were pleased with our consistent service.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney the next time your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Staying in a city centre on a weekend you expect some noise but this was ridiculous. Once the neighbours quietened down well after midnight and after reception sent security to complain I eventually got to sleep only to be wakekned at 7am with very noisy drilling and building works. We had been warned about refurbishments but didn't realise we'd be immediately over the top of them - surely they could have left a floor in between. After complaining I was upgraded to a magnificent penthouse suite, as big as my house in London! Needless to say the rest of the stay was fantastc. another small point - the shower room in my original bedroom was tiny and poorly designed and know I know why they're called 'Wet Rooms'.

Room Tip: Go for the AUD$2,800 penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastroBoyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

Whilst we sincerely regret the inconvenience associated with the refurbishment during the time of your stay, I am happy that you were pleased with the upgrade provided.

Thank you again for your comments and I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What I loved: the gym, coffee from Cafe Cino, in-room treats, LOCATION!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TST_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your review and ratings of your stay at Hilton Sydney.

It is wonderful to see you enjoyed your experience of our services and location; and we hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
1,803 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 179 in Sydney
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
1,949 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,953 - ₹ 36,630
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing