We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, affordable, not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, affordable, not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

I had two nights here. Reception staff were polite and helpful. Stayed in a premium room, which was quite spacious and had everything I needed. Could have been cleaner, but not worth worrying about. Easy to get to trains, shops, restaurants etc. got a good deal on the room too. Would happily go back

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrboxAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Kerrbox AU,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about the hotel.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that the room, location and staff met your expectations.
I am disappointed that you felt the room could be cleaner. We pride our housekeeping, please contact me directly to discuss the issues with housekeeping as I would like to retrain the house maid who serviced your room.
steven@cambridgehotel.com.au
We are pleased to hear that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Warm Regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,496
    1,656
    563
    134
    68
See reviews for
818
1,307
464
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

From the beginning everything was perfect - staff were pleasant and very helpful - room was spacious and beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Position was perfect - so close to everything and buses were close nearby - looking forward to a return stay.

Room Tip: enjoyed the view from a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Angela P,
Thank you for choosing the Cambridge Hotel for your recent stay, and also for your wonderful comments regarding the hotel.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Warm Regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I booked my room on http://www.lastminute.com.au. It was a great little hotel and one of my best stays in Australia. It is located on Riley Street - close to Oxford and Crown Street in Surry Hills. It was a great value!

My room was super nice, trendy, fancy, and had a comfy bed and couch and desk area. The room was very clean. As someone mentioned I did have some temp changes when taking a shower with I had to regulate, it was not a major deal and the value made up for any little quirks in my opinion.

This was the best hotel at the $100 or so price point. Sydney hotels are not cheap and don't have very many nice hotels and had to look hard to find this value.

It is close to many trendy restaurants on Crown Street such as "The Winery" and "Billy Kwong" and an awesome pizza place the hotel recommended - Mad Pizza E Bar. A pie face is close by so is coffee shops - convenience stores and grocery stores.

With a quick cab ride you can get to anywhere in the city. Bus stops a short walk take the 333 or 339 bus to Bondi Beach is about a 20 min bus ride.
The front desk people were so helpful checking in and helped me with dining places, what tours to see and do - happening night spots and many other things.


They do charge to wireless internet - buy why would you use that?? You can buy Telsa or Optus sim (best two cell carriers in AUS) card get a month of internet and call for $30 and if you have a iphone or android teather to your laptop.

I did not use room service, the pool or anything else - I was in Sydney to see Sydney and did not hang out in the hotel too much.

There is construction next door a building being put up - but I was out exploring all day and only had a bit of noise in the morning. So if you party all night / sleep all day bad place for you.

If you don't want to be with the tourists in the Circular Quay and Darling Harbor and want to get mixed in with the locals I highly recommend.

Room Tip: I booked my room here on http://www.lastminute.com.au.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Surfcali,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Cambridge Hotel.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am also very glad to hear that you found the room, the location, and our front desk staff great value.
I am very sorry you experienced shower regulation issues. Our maintenance team has investigated the matter and have now rectified the problem.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the hotel and staff. I appreciate all feedback, which helps us to continually improve ourselves.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

So my decision to stay in this hotel was purely based on location and comparable price for the area having a birthday to Attend at cafe lounge and only being in Sydney for less than 24 hours.

We booked a queen premium through agoda, and when we arrived I was informed we had been 'upgraded ' to a twin double.... Hmmmm so an upgrade means a smaller sized bed? Great :(

Rooms were clean, although a funny shape. decor is modern - bathroom was lovely. The shower was a typical temperamental hotel shower when trying to regulate the temperature but nice otherwise. Beds were comfy but a little on the small side!

On the plus side, mini bar prices are cheap! Breakfast was cheap but we didn't have a chance to check it out. I'd stay again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank someonemaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Someonemaybe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay.
We are happy that the décor and cleanness of your room met your expectations. I am also pleased you found the prices of the mini bar and the breakfast affordable.
I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems regulating the shower temperature, we have taken measures to rectify the problem you encountered.
I apologize for this inconvenience, with the mix up of upgrade and would appreciate it if you would contact me directly at steven@cambridgehotel.com.au, to further discuss this.
I look forward speaking with you.

Best Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed three nights at Premium Queen Room. Staffs are very helpful and friendly, which makes it a very comfortable stay. Closed to Oxford street, but very quiet at night. I enjoyed my stay.

The only little thing is there is next building construction work during the day, it might be a bit noisy early in the morning, however, if you don't stay in room all the time, it is still okay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hondas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Michgu,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel.
I am glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, and I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay.
I am sorry to hear that you experienced some noise disruption from the construction site next door. As of today, all rooms boarding to construction site will be no longer in use.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel soon.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#78 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,498 - ₹ 14,413
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing