We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average Facility with some flaws” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average Facility with some flaws”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I never thought I'd write reviews here but after having been so convincingly encouraged by the check-out staff, I have not much choice. Working my way backwards, then, the check-out was painful since staffing levels at the front desk are wildly fluctuating (sometimes 5, sometimes 1) and when I checked out they were both giving tourists extensive and lasting instructions on how to get to the Zoo etc. The queue had 6 parties waiting!
The studio is what it says, the layout makes you feel as if you sleep in the kitchen. I had to switch off the fridge as it's humming kept me awake.
Cleaning was hit-and miss, the piece of dental floss housekeeping dropped in front of my door in the hallway was still there after 3 days when I left. Inside kitchen surfaces weren't cleaned every day.
The lifts are extremely slow, noticeably different to - say - Meriton Kent Street with which I am comparing this venue.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COSMOPOLlTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Fopper,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell St. We welcome all feedback as it is a valuable tool to maintain and improve our product.

Our front desk does experience times of high and low traffic, but we do always aim to provide our guests with a high level of service regardless. Your comments in regard to our Housekeeping department do seem out of character and I have asked our Housekeeping Manager to investigate further.

Over all I hope you did enjoy your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Rhys Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,586
    1,095
    94
    25
    20
See reviews for
639
2,556
365
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, NZ
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

For space, quality, comfort and cleanliness these would be hard to beat. Extremely well equipped from an iPod docking music system down to little containers of detergent and washing powder - you are left for nothing. The bed was perfect and my apartment (a studio) was very quiet. I barely heard any other noise.

Check-in was reasonably efficient although be warned that the full cost of your stay is charged to your credit card, plus a hold for incidentals that is refunded later. However this is explained in your booking confirmation email so it was no surprise. I also appreciated the welcome and reminder email I received a few days before arrival. Checkout was fast since there was no payment process to go through.

Location is very good for conferences or events held in Darling Harbour and it is a pleasant 15 minute or so walk to the Convention Centre. Restaurants everywhere in this area so you won't go hungry. There is a Coles Supermarket one block away in the World Centre for supplies in case you want to use the microwave, hot plates, pots and pans and dishwasher etc etc in your apartment.

If you ask for a high level room you might get a view and you'll be a long way from street noise. All very modern, clean and comfortable, if a little sterile, but really I've no complaints! Very good value too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RT-Whanganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
RT- Whanganui,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Meriton Campbell St,
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms are very well equiped, this coupled with our central location provide our guests with what we feel is a fantastic product.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhys Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We booked Meriton for our 7 day stay in Sydney & Gold Coast. For Sydney, we choose Campbell street. The apartment was located right at the intersection of Campbell and George street.

Also it was opposite Capital square building and Capital Square Tram Station. So no need to walk from Central station. Just a one stop ride from Central via Tram.

As usual no complaints.We got a 16th floor apartment. Receptionists were very kind. I particularly like to thank "Shen" (I think i got her name correct). She was very helpful in directions and location advise.

Rooms were great for $336 paid for 3 days. We got a 10% off for traveling Jetstar and we did booking through their website staymsa.com (booking code "FLYJET"). Not sure if its available now though.
my entire trip report for sydney and goldcoast with all photos can be found at wringg.com as well.
Room Service was good.Coles was nearby and lot of asian stores next to this place. Food is never a problem. Chinatown and Paddy market is walkable.
Free bus 555 is right across the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

My boss asked for a hotel with a sauna, opeining windows and a lounge area - the day before we were required to travel. Luckily the Meriton ticked all of the boxes.

The reservation process was a pain in the butt, as they do not accept credit card payment and a bank transfer had to be made. The communication from the reservation staff left a little to be desired.

Other than that the hotel and facilities were fantastic and exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkbertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
mkbertone,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I was very happy to read that we exceeded your expectations, and ticked all your boxes!
I understand our policy of not excepting credit card payments over the phone can sometimes be an inconvenience but Meriton Serviced Apartments feel it's an important security measure that we must provide our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Campbell St in the future.

Kind regards,
Rhys Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milkyway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I enjoyed my three nights stay at this hotel. I love the location because I can easily access many Sydney attractions just by walking or hopping on or off the Sydney CBD free shuttle (555). There are your free options that can help you save money on transportation around CBD. Be sure to plan your schedule because the shuttle only runs during certain periods.
I especially loved the fact that it is only 10 mins walk to Central Station. It is great because I had to catch a train early in the morning to get to Katoomba Station for my Blue Mountains experience.
I am satisfied with my hotel room because I like that the interior looks simple and modern but gives off a cozy feeling. The bed is comfortable and it is great that the room has laundry facilities and kitchen. I'm basically saving quite a lot of money since I chose to do my own laundry and cook during my stay there. I felt that the hotel is truly value for money and would definitely be back here again next time I'm here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Black C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Black C,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We're glad you had a great 3 nights stay, and enjoyed the beautiful apartments and our superb location. The Meriton Serviced Apartments are definitely dsesigned for living away from home.

Along with our team, we thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 178 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,575 - ₹ 22,526
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
et the feeling of excitement and wonder take over as you approach our revolving doors and make your grand entrance into our chic and stylish lobby. Be invited into luxury by our professional porter assistance and a team of exceptional Guest Services staff. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, all of which feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings and modern facilities that will promise a comfortable stay in style. For the basic necessities, our Classic Studios offer plush king sized bedding, a kitchenette and internal laundry while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of a suite apartment. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to relax and unwind by watching the city life go peacefully by. Treat yourself to a relaxation session in our first class spa and sauna facilities or maintain your fitness regime with our fully-equipped gymnasium and 20 metre heated indoor lap pool. Soak your muscles in reinvigorating designer bathroom amenities and put your feet up to a daily serviced suite. Make the most of our complimentary Wi-Fi and keep connected from all areas of the hotel, including your suite. Situated amongst the vibrant atmosphere of Chinatown, our guests are able to experience the local Asian culture whilst staying in the heart of the city. Explore the delicious cuisines, markets and stalls found in the masses along the neighbourhood. Venture along the bustling streets to reach World Square Shopping Centre only a block away and find all the specialty retailers you can imagine at Pitt Street Mall only moments further. Our prime location in the heart of Sydney's entertainment precinct means our guests are spoilt with boundless entertainment options. Guests are able to cross the road and catch the latest live show in town at Sydney's Capitol Theatre or visit the IMAX theatre, home to the world's largest cinema screen. Discover something unique at Paddy's Market, located only moments away in Haymarket. At the markets, you'll find an array of fashion, accessories, homewares, souvenirs, fresh flowers and fresh produce from hundreds of stall holders all under the one roof. The market's fresh produce is the best place to purchase delicious fruit and vegetables, perfect to snack on whilst sightseeing in Sydney, or even take back some ingredients and cook up a storm in the luxury of your suite. See all the sights around Sydney, including Circular Quay, the historical Rocks area and Darling Harbour with our convenient location only minutes away from public transport. Central Railway station is also the main terminus for intercity lines, transporting our guests to Sydney's surrounds such as the magical Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Newcastle as well as Bondi and the scenic South Coast. With top quality and better value, travellers will find ultimate luxury when they choose to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments on Campbell Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Meriton, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing