We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Comfy Room”
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Ranked #64 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My Wife and I read good things about this hotel when we searched for a hotel in Sydney, After our stay, we agree with the reviews. This boutique hotel is very good. The hotel location is excellent. It is close to the train stations. The city tourist attractions are all within walking distance. Also there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, pubs, grocery stores and fast food chains close by. And the Westfield shopping mall is nearby if you fancy a bit of shopping.

The Room is very comfortable. The hotel upgraded our room as we stayed for 5 days. The room is clean, spacious and has all the amenities. And there is free WiFi in our room.

The Staff is very friendly and helpful. It is our 1st time in Sydney, and the staff is more than happy to help us with finding our way in the city. During checkout the lift was broken, the staff without a complain carried our 30kg luggage down the stairs. Truly impressed with the service.

We really enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CnD0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear CnD0523,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you agree with all of the lovely reviews our previous guests have taken the time to leave on TripAdvisor!

Oh dear; we remember the morning that the lift was out of order very well! It is certainly not a common occurrence, but we are very lucky to have great guests who understand that these things can happen from time-to-time and remain very patient. For our part, we always work quickly to get any issues rectified as soon as possible and do whatever we can to make life easy for our guests in the interim, such as carrying luggage!

We hope that the rest of your travels were safe and enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park8 Hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 674 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

We had one of the deluxe rooms, and were lucky enough to get one of the corner rooms, so this review is about that type of room. Because it's on the corner, you can see some of Hyde Park, as well as having windows on two sides overlooking Castlereagh and Park streets. The bathroom also had its own window, which I would imagine probably doesn't happen with the regular deluxe rooms. The rooms are large, light and bright and I love a bathroom with natural light in a hotel (there's a venetian blind there, so privacy isn't a problem). I liked the sofa and the space, and the bed was very comfortable. The decor is pleasant and modern; a little wear and tear, but nothing out of the ordinary. The shower is excellent although do be careful not to leave your clothes on the floor as the water pressure is high, the drainage small, and it's easy to accidently flood the floor! There's a drainage hole in the floor and the floor dries quickly, but your clothes might take longer. There was also a lovely bath in the bathroom - we didn't try it on this trip.

The location is brilliant - walking distance to everything. Sydney is a good walking city and this is an excellent location. We walked to Oxford St and the Paddington Markets (admittedly, this is a reasonable walk), to the Botanic Gardens, to Chinatown (and that was just the first day). Easy walk to Circular Quay - we did use the free Sydney shuttle on the way back which cut out the hill. Also handy to Darling Harbour, VERY handy to the shops etc, and a short amble to the Italian restaurants across the park in Stanley Street. Also close to the Museum, St James and Town Hall train stations - Museum is great for coming in from the airport. About 30 seconds walk to the lovely Hyde Park.

Finally, the staff were great - friendly, helpful, they made it a really good experience - and a good coffee and breakfast as well. We can recommend the banana bread and the raisin toast!

It isn't the quietest location and you may notice some street noise. I got woken up once by sirens but otherwise it was a good night's sleep - very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngeNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear AngeNz,

It was our pleasure to have you and it makes our day to read such a great review. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback; you have provided some really valuable information for future guests.

It seems you really used our convenient location to the fullest and we love that! We also love the little mention about our yummy coffee and light breakfast options; our Cafe8 coffee and food really is excellent and we fear that people just think we are being biased when we tell them that, so your comments are much appreciated!

We look forward to having you back one day! Take care until that time.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Situated on Castlereigh st, Park8 hotel is close to nearly everything you're going to want to check out as a visitor to Sydney. Not only were we within walking distance to QVB (Queen victoria building), but the botanical gardens, China town and Circular Quay were all within reach and hyde park was just on our door step.

Free wifi, free newspapaers, great breakfasts and friendly staff really make park8 a standout choice for us. Our room was a corner room which was both roomy and comfy. All this at a room rate which is far better value than most other big name hotesl, We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: heading down to Circular Quay? Keep an eye out for the free Circular quay bus, they're green, qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear PatrickP,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy that we will see you back at Park8 Hotel again.

We look forward to your return and wish you well until then!

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Park8 Hotel in February 2011 as a bit of a break before returning home after a cruise. We booked online at a special discount since they had recently opened and were trying to get their name out. This really is a fabulous basic hotel.

We were in no way disappointed! Our room was big and airy, plus we were fortunate enough to have a view of the Chinese New Year parade from our window which was a brilliant surprise.

The beds were cozy and even though the streets are busy we barely heard a sound at night.
The amenities are basic, TV and Foxel are great.

The location is perfect for walking distance to all trains, the monorail and trams. Walking to Pitt St was very easy. The big Woolworths on the corner of Park St and George St really had everything we needed, including an internet kiosk on the upper level.

I would reccomend this hotel to couples or groups of friends, perfect for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelliebean27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Kelliebean27,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us at Park8 Hotel!

There is one thing that has changed since you stayed last March; we now offer complimentary wireless internet access throughout the hotel for all of our guests. Next time you stay, you won't need to use the internet kiosk down the road at all!

Your recommendation to fellow travellers means so much to us and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Park8- I just booked in for a couple of nights in late feb for myself, my husband and my in-laws, before my husband and I head back to the states. I booked here specifically b/c you actually respond to user reviews and support TripAdvisor. Can already tell we'll have a great experience! See you in a few weeks!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear stephr007,

How fun; this is the first time we have received a TripAdvisor review prior to the actual stay!

We always reply to guest feedback because we do genuinely care and it is wonderful that this shines through to other travellers such as yourself! Feedback is so important for our continued growth and development and acting on it is the only way we can ensure that our future guests have a great experience.
Plus, our guests spend their valuable time writing the reviews, the least we can do is spend time replying!

We are really looking forward to having you with us and hope to be responding to another 5/5 review after your stay! Safe travels and we will see you soon!

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
#100 of 179 in Sydney
693 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#128 of 179 in Sydney
2,205 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#77 of 179 in Sydney
1,399 reviews
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#55 of 179 in Sydney
1,050 reviews
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 179 in Sydney
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney

Address: 185 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 19,739 - ₹ 26,210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing