We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy Dunkirk”
Review of Dunkirk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunkirk Hotel
Ranked #29 of 58 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2016

While the staff are friendly I have to say the rooms are past their use by date.
Stifling hot, noisy, beds are rock hard and the pillows are like a bag of oysters.
Carpets need replacing and some general maintenance is well overdue.
For example the bathroom door in our ensuite room had no lock so you couldn't shut it properly meaning you had to prop your foot on the door if you were using the toilet.
The price is cheap though so if you are looking for just a roof over your head for the night in a good location that is close to the Casino area then maybe give this one a go.
Small offering for breakfast in the fridge is included with juice, cereal and milk, a couple of muesli bars and biscuits. I doubt that we will return as I would rather pay a bit extra and get some sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2016

This was a hotel both my daughter and I chose as it was close proximity to Casino wharf where our cruise left from. The rooms were spacious and clean and tidy however could do with some renovation works. The reception area was at the bar but they were very obliging and courteous. Their continental breakfast was very poor - I would have liked bread - jam - butter with a toaster as well (most have this) but otherwise was reasonable for the area where it was. Was a little bit of a walk from Town Hall station (50 mins).

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Our interstate friends wanted a good meal after a day of sight seeing, so 6 of us went to the Kirk.
Every one enjoyed their meals. Two had steaks and the others had the schnitzel with various sauces. The portions are good and it does not break the bank.
Dennis, the manager, always make you welcome and, if you like beers, the Reschs is worth trying.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank aquiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We had an overnight stay after a attending a party in the function room. Clean rooms - I prefer the ones with their own ensuite as there are shared bathrooms available. Very cheap rates. Wonderfully close to Darling Harbour, casino, fish markets (maximum 10 minute walk). The food is not your usual pub food - it's so much better with a good range to choose from. The function room itself was decorated to suit the party we attended and a great location to have any sort of function. we've attended birthday parties, a Holy Communion, a christening and a soccer team luncheon at the Dunkirk - we keep coming back it's so good. The service/staff was happy and lots of it, the food again fresh and tasty whether it was finger foods or sit down style food. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: ask for room with ensuite/own bathroom unless you don't mind sharing a bathroom with one other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We went here in the early evening and enjoyed the laid back ambiance. They have an array of tap beers which is amazing. Food is good too. Best place to be at on a lazy afternoon! The happy hours start from 4 pm onwards

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Umysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#138 of 181 in Sydney
47 reviews
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#104 of 181 in Sydney
1,027 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,438 reviews
Inner West
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#11 of 58 in Sydney
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkirk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkirk Hotel

Address: 205 Harris St | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 4,212 - ₹ 8,679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunkirk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing