We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy intersection outside our window, hot rooms in January”
Review of Dunkirk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunkirk Hotel
Ranked #28 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Outdated menu prices online
Broken big light in our bedroom
Noisy traffic constantly on intersection beeping and pedestrian crossing
Extremely hot rooms (in January) even with fans
The hotel booking said our accommodation included a “continental breakfast” but it came in a tuppaware box in the fridge in our room
The top of the windows were filthy so my fingers needed a wash every time I closed the windows
The entire hotel smells
The phone in the room doesn’t work
A neighboring guest was slamming doors for at least half an hour after 1am until I told him off

Room Tip: Eat at the Harlequin up the road instead!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2016

Well they say you get what you pay for. I could live with the road noise, my friend found that terrible. I loved the location, close to Darling Harbour and the Ferry and CBD. I didn't like on check in going to our room to find a leak in the bathroom ceiling to be told just fixing and painting it. But we can't find the leak so there is a bucket in the bathroom to catch the water. The cockroaches on the second day sighted in the bathroom was eek, but ok water damage, kill em and get over it. We also noted no cover over the kitchen window meant light came straight into the face of the person In the single bed. Then night two cockroaches x 2 seen in the kitchenette. Yuk. The final morning cockroach in the living area also.
The owner? Manager, did provide a drink on arrival and also a cappuccino each morning. Did state that he was working on upgrades.

Room Tip: The family room Is an all in one share but has its own bathroom and kitchenette. Street noise may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

My only criticism would be that the rooms could benefit with a small makeover, modern but inexpensive bed covers, furniture and lamps would improve overall experience.
The bedside lamp in our room was broken and the remote control had gone missing.
Staff very friendly and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

Completely fine for the money paid. It is an old pub, the rooms are old, we stayed in a room with two single beds and they were a bit ordinary, but we couldn't have faulted the cleanliness. There is a shared bathroom that definitely is in need of some work. Wouldn't be a great place to stay mid-summer because there is no air-conditioning. The staff member who welcomed us was very friendly and even carried our bags up stairs for us. The included breakfast was really good, and unexpected. Great location, pub looks like it is newly refurbished and probably a nice place to have a drink, although we didn't get an opportunity to try it.

Room Tip: there is a lot of traffic noise from street side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2967Natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

Old school pub accommodation with shared bathrooms. Fridge in room a bonus and breakfast included (two small boxes of cereal, juice, milk, tub of fruit). Could do with a makeover but for $70 in the city you can't complain. Nice staff. Anytime Fitness across the road and very close to casino. Easy walk to city and fish markets.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#125 of 180 in Sydney
144 reviews
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#124 of 180 in Sydney
103 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#81 of 180 in Sydney
1,066 reviews
Surry Hills
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#21 of 57 in Sydney
45 reviews
Glebe
Verona Guest House
Verona Guest House
#10 of 57 in Sydney
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkirk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkirk Hotel

Address: 205 Harris St | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 4,298 - ₹ 7,359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunkirk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunkirk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing